Skip to main content

National Archives Microforms

Confederate States of America. Compiled Service Records of Confederate General and Staff Officers and Nonregimental Enlisted Men.

Washington, D.C: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 331; v. National Archives record group 109
275 reel(s)

These service records pertain to Confederate officers and enlisted men who did not belong to a particular regiment or unit. They include records of general officers and officers and enlisted men in staff departments such as the Adjutant and Inspector General, Quartermaster, Commissary, Medical, and Ordnance. They also include members of army corps, division and brigade staffs, and special appointees such as aides-de-camp, military judges, chaplains, agents, and drillmasters. The records consist of jackets (envelopes) for each soldier, labeled with his name, rank, and capacity. The papers include abstracts of original appointment registers, lists of officers, registers of medical personnel, and other papers relating to a particular soldier.

An uncataloged guide, Compiled Service Records of Confederate General and Staff Officers and Nonregimental Enlisted Men, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 3:10-3:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Confederate Papers Relating to Citizens or Business Firms.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 346; v. National Archives record group 109.
1158 reel(s)

Vouchers, receipts, and correspondence from citizens or business firms relate to payments for materials purchased by, or services performed for, the army and navy. Also, contracts, warrants, and receipts for salary payments are included. The documents concern banks, businesses such as railroads and mining companies, claims for lost property, and claims by survivors of deceased military personnel.

FILM 4:4-4:13 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Engineer Department. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Engineer Bureau of the Confederate War Department, 1861-1864.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 628; v. National Archives record group 109.
5 reel(s)

This is a collection of five bound volumes of letters and telegrams sent by the chief of engineers to army officers, government officials, and civilians in the Confederacy. The Engineer Bureau was involved in activities such as the construction of permanent and field fortifications, fording of rivers, and reconnaissance and survey operations. Copybooks containing telegrams and letters covering the period from 1861 to 1864, are arranged in chronological order. The collection is incomplete since some material was probably destroyed during the Confederate retreat.

FILM 8:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Treasury Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of the Treasury 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 499; v. National Archives record group 365.
57 reel(s)

On February 21, 1861, President Davis appointed Christopher Memminger secretary of the treasury. He served in that post until June 15, 1864, and was succeeded by George Trenholm. Besides the secretary, the Treasury Department included a comptroller, an auditor, a register, a treasurer, and an assistant secretary. The department was composed of the following offices or bureaus: Second and Third Auditors, Commissioner of Taxes, Produce Loan Bureau, Treasury Note Bureau, Lighthouse Bureau, and Office of Deposit. Also under the direction of the secretary were the Offices of the Collectors of Customs, Assistant Treasurers, Depositories, Directors of Mints, and the Trans-Mississippi Department. The general arrangement of the letters is alphabetical by the author (or his office or title) or by the person to whom the letter chiefly pertains.

FILM 6:7-6:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Treasury Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of the Treasury 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 500; v. National Archives record group 56.
1 reel(s)

Addressed to other officials in the Confederate government, the letters were written by Secretary Christopher Memminger, appointed in 1861, and Secretary George Trenholm, appointed in 1864. Among the subjects discussed are the financial difficulties of the Confederacy, removal of the seat of government to Richmond, appointments of custom officials, customs regulations, the establishment of lighthouse districts and the appointments of lighthouse inspectors, and the mints in Charlotte, Dahlonega, and New Orleans. The letters are arranged chronologically, but there are no indexes to the collection.

FILM 6:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers Who Served in Organizations Raised Directly by the Confederate Government.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 193 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 258; v. National Archives record group 109.
123 reel(s)

Soldiers raised directly by the Confederate government were not identified with any one state. Several organizations were raised among native Indians and foreigners recruited from Union prisoners of war. The records consist of a jacket-envelope for each soldier with his name, rank, and unit. It contains entries from the time of enlistment, including all the information on his service career. Most of the records are arranged according to an organizational breakdown by regiment, battalion, or company. Within a unit, the records are arranged alphabetically by the soldier's name.

FILM 3:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. General Orders of the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector Generals Office, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 782; v. National Archives record group 109.
1 reel(s)

General orders were used to disseminate instructions and to publish acts of Congress, presidential proclamations, results of courts-martial and military courts, rolls of honor, price schedules for supplies, lists of officers promoted, administrative changes, and notices of prisoner exchanges. The orders were intended as a guide for officers in the field regarding the established regulations and procedures of the War Department.

FILM 9:6 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General and the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 410; v. National Archives record group 109.
41 reel(s)

This microfilmed alphabetical card index provides access to the microfilm collections, Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 474) and Letters Received by the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 469). The index contains the names not only of signers of letters but also some persons mentioned in the letters. The registers of claims relate to service performed for the Confederate Army and to supplies sold to or seized by it. Each entry shows the claim number, name of claimant, nature of claim, amount, and action taken by the Quartermaster.

FILM 5:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 409; v. National Archives record group 109.
34 reel(s)

The index contains names not only of signers of the letters but also of persons mentioned in the letters. The index card gives the name of the person, sometimes his rank in the army, and the file numbers where the letters may be found. For a variety of reasons, many of the letters indexed are no longer in the series of letters received, some are in other collections, or were lost or destroyed.

FILM 5:11-5:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 627; v. National Archives record group 109.
6 reel(s)

Letters and telegrams sent by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General between March 1861 and April 1865 were copied into books according to the practice of the time. The Adjutant and Inspector Generals Office was responsible to the secretary of war for carrying out the details of army administration. It prepared and issued orders, made appointments, kept records on commissions, and decided questions regarding ranks of officers. It was in charge of inspections, recruitment, and the enforcement of laws and regulation. The letters and telegrams are arranged in chronological order.

FILM 8:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 474; v. National Archives record group 109.
164 reel(s)

Responsible to the secretary of war, the staff of the Adjutant and Inspector Generals Department carried out the details of army administration. They issued orders and regulations for the army, inspected staff departments and armies in the field, enforced regulations, dealt with nominations, appointments, and commissions, and took action on court-martials. In 1865, they took on the responsibility for military conscription. Letters covering the period from April 1861 to April 1865, are arranged first by year, then alphabetically by surname or office. They are then arranged numerically in order of their entry in the register of letters received.

FILM 6:3-6:5 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865

Washington, D.C: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 469; v. National Archives record group 109.
14 reel(s)

Letters from April 1861, to April 1865, document activities of the Quartermaster Generals Department, whose duties included the provision of quarters and transportation for the army. The Quartermaster Department purchased, stored, transported, and distributed army supplies, including army clothing, equipment, horses, food, and fuel.

FILM 6:3 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 437; v. National Archives record group 109.
151 reel(s)

As chief officer of the War Department under the direction and control of the president, the secretary of war had charge of all matters connected with the army and with Indian tribes within the limits of the Confederacy. The collection spans the period from February 1861, to May 1865, and is arranged in chronological order. Letters that were immediately referred to other officers are not included.

FILM 5:14-6:2 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 522; v. National Archives record group 109.
10 reel(s)

This collection includes letters sent by the Office of the Secretary of War from February 21, 1861, to May 22, 1862, and September 13, 1862, to January 23, 1865. Some additional letters were added, dated February 9, to April 22, 1865. The secretary of war was the chief officer in the Confederate War Department. Under the direction and control of the president, the secretary had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. The letterbooks in this collection originally contained correspondence sent from the Office of the Secretary of War to all permanent officials, including the president. For letters to the president, a separate series of letters was started in November 1861, but some letters continued to be copied in this series through April 1862. There are two letters written to the president in 1865. The remainder can be found in the microfilm collection, Letters sent by the Confederate Secretary of War to the President, 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 523). The letters are arranged in chronological order.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War to the President, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 523; v. National Archives record group 109.
2 reel(s)

As chief officer of the War Department under the direction of President Jefferson Davis, the secretary of war had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. The letters, organized in two series, are those sent to the president relating to all subjects (November 20, 1861 – April 24, 1865) and letters concerning nominations for appointments and promotions in the Confederate Army (March 1, 1861 – March 17, 1865). An index to the second series is on the second reel. The intended arrangement of the letters within each letterbook was chronological, but sometimes clerks were not able to copy precisely in that order.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Telegrams Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 618; v. National Archives record group 109.
19 reel(s)

Under the direction of President Jefferson Davis, the Office of the Secretary of War had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. Telegrams received by the secretary of war from February 1861, to April 1865, were recorded in registers with accompanying name indexes. Telegrams originally received by the adjutant and inspector general, by President Jefferson Davis, and by various heads of War Department bureaus in Richmond are also included.

FILM 7:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 524; v. National Archives record group 109.
1 reel(s)

Chief officer of the War Department under the direction and control of the president, the secretary of war was in charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. Telegrams from February 21, 1861, to April 1, 1865, were copied in chronological order into letterbooks. A few of the telegrams were sent by the adjutant and inspector general and by chiefs of War Department bureaus. The first volume contains an index to names of addressees and names of persons mentioned in the telegrams. The second two volumes also have an index to names of addressees.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. War Department Collection of Confederate Records, Chapter V: Quartermaster Department, Letters and Telegrams Sent, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1957
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 131; v. National Archives record group 109.
9 reel(s)

The staff of the Quartermaster Department obtained supplies and arranged for transportation of supplies and personnel. They constructed buildings and army installations, served as paymasters, and kept extensive accounts and records. Letters and telegrams to business firms, government officials, and individuals concern supplies, appointments, and estimates for services needed.

FILM 8:14 - Request access