Brighton: Harvester Microform Publications, 1986
Each title fully cataloged in MERLIN and shelved with the microfilmed periodical collection, FILM PER. Consult MERLIN for call number for each title. A list of the titles in the collection is available in the Special Collections office or search the series title in MERLIN.
Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilm International, 1953
An uncataloged guide, British and Continental Rhetoric and Elocution, is available in the Special Collections office. The titles included in the collection are also listed in SPEC-R Z1033 .M5 I53 Niles, Ann. An Index to Microform Collections, pp 84-89.
Brighton: Harvester Microform Publication, 1984
Brighton Library Heritage
191 titles. A short uncatalogued guide is available in the Special Collections Reading Room.
Brighton: Harvester Microform Publications,
Britain’s Literary Heritage
British literary manuscripts from the British Library, London. Series one, The English Renaissance, c. 1500-1700 : an inventory to parts one, two and three of the Harvester Microform Collection, based on the Sloane and Additional Manuscript series.
Catalogue of Additional Manuscripts 1854-1887 contains Additional Mss. 23156-23167, 25915, 29631-29643, 29709-29711, 29945-29958, 31972-31977, 33488. 61997. Each play is individually cataloged but the records do not appear in MERLIN with a description of the contents.
British Museum. Dept. of Manuscripts. Catalogue of additions to the manuscripts in the British Museum
Johnson (1709-1784) was an English author, scholar, and literary critic who helped shape and define the Augustan Age. At the beginning of his career, he wrote prose and poetry for Gentleman’s Magazine on political and literary subjects. In 1755, he published the first comprehensive lexicographical tome on English, A Dictionary of the English Language. Courtenay (1741-1816) was an Irish politician and friend to Johnson.
On microfilm reel labeled “Tindal, William.”
FILM MISC - Request access
Keswick, VA: Micrographics II,
Each title in the collection is cataloged. Uncatalogued reel lists are available in the Special Collections Reading Room.
Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1938
Beginning with the first book published in English, Caxton's translation of Recuyell of the History of Troye, and continuing through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains nearly all of the 26,500 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave`s Short-Title Catalogue and its revised edition. Pollard and Redgrave attempted to list every title published in England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland and all works in the English language published elsewhere during this period. The collection also includes additional titles of the period not included in the above work. The series fully documents the magnificent English Renaissance, which witnessed the rebirth of classical humanism, the broadening of the known world, and the spread of printing and education. Included are the earliest editions of such classics as Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, original versions of royal statutes and proclamations, military, religious, legal, parliamentary, and other public documents, numerous early English ballads and carols, and sermons, homilies, saints' lives, liturgies, and the Book of Common Prayer (1549). This collection will fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.
Many filmed titles have records in Ellis Library's main card catalog and in Special Collection's card catalog. Units 49-58 (reels 1699-1907) are individually cataloged in MERLIN. An online tutorial is available at http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/barkera/earlymfilm.mht.
Pollard, Alfred W. (Alfred William), 1859-1944. A short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English books printed abroad, 1475-1640
This guide provides access by author to specific works.
This provides access by the title of the work.
Bishop, William Warner, 1871-1955. A checklist of American copies of “Short-title catalogue” books, compiled by William Warner Bishop.
This guide is arranged by the numbers that are given in Pollard and Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue.
Morrison, Paul G. (Paul Guerrant), 1896- Index of printers, publishers and booksellers in A. W. Pollard and G. R. Redgrave A short-title catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland & Ireland and of English books printed abroad 1475-1640.
This guide is arranged alphabetically by name. Cross indexes, available in the Special Collections Office, direct the user from the catalog number to the reel location.
Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1961
Based on Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, the collection includes books printed in Great Britain and elsewhere in English from 1641 to 1700. Books printed in America are excluded from this collection, which spans the tumultuous years of the English Civil War, the Interregnum, and the Restoration. The material offers an historical perspective on an era that saw the rise of a mercantile class, the first English settlements in North America, and the development of secular philosophy and empirical science. Subject areas, such as the arts, the sciences, popular culture, and women's studies, are well represented.
Many filmed titles have records in Ellis Library's main card catalog and Special Collections' card catalog. Units 1-64 (reels 1-1733) are individually cataloged in MERLIN. An online tutorial is available at http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/barkera/earlymfilm.mht.
This guide provides access by author (or title in the case of anonymous works).
This guide provides access by author (or title in the case of anonymous works). This is an electronic resource located at the Reference Workstation.
This provides access by the title of the work.
University Microfilms International. Accessing Early English books, 1641-1700 : a cumulative index to units 1-32 of the microfilm collection.
This is arranged alphabetically by author. Catalogue numbers given can be traced to the location on the reel, using cross indexes located in the Special Collections Office.
Cambridge: Chadwyck-Healey Limited/Somerset House, 1978
By the end of the eighteenth century, satirical engravings had become a highly popular form of literary entertainment. This collection contains reproductions of over five hundred years of those engravings which are located in the British Museum. The microfilm reproduces, in the same order, the cartoons and drawings described in the Catalogue of Political and Personal Satires. At the beginning of each reel is a list of cartoons in the catalog that were omitted in the microfilm with an explanation for these omissions.
British Museum. Dept. of Prints and Drawings. Catalogue of political and personal satires preserved in the department of prints and drawings in the British Museum.
The guide contains a brief description of each cartoon and an index beginning with volume five. Reel one contains an index to the items listed in volumes one through four. The material, in both the catalog and microfilm, is arranged chronologically.
Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1951
English literary periodicals
Significant early journals, magazines, and reviews in this collection reflect British life and culture from 1681 to 1914. Important writers of the period, such as Defoe, Addison, Steele, Goldsmith, Johnson, Mill, Hunt, Lamb, Tennyson, and Eliot, contributed material or acted as editors. The collection begins with the earliest British periodical, published in 1681, and continues through the nineteenth century. Though predominately literary in nature, the periodicals also include debates, essays, and news summaries concerning politics and government in Great Britain. Topics covered include politics and government in Great Britain.
The periodicals have been cataloged separately and the microfilm reels are interfiled alphabetically by title with other microfilm periodicals. Ellis has units 1-22. An online tutorial is available at http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/barkera/earlymfilm.mht.
The guide describes each periodical and its subject matter. It includes a general subject, editor, and reel number index.
London: World Microfilm Publication, 1974
51 titles. The publisher's brief title listing is available in the Special Collections office. Full description of each manuscript is available in Z6621 .L82J 1932. Descriptive Catalog of Manuscripts in the Library of Lambeth Palace.
New York: Modern Language Association,
The Library has selected titles only. Each title is listed in the card catalog.
FILM 4D21:14:5 - Request access
Modern Language Association of America. Reproductions of manuscripts and rare printed books.
Stratford-on-Avon: Shakespeare Institute,
Plays are listed by author and title in the card catalog. Partial contents are listed in contents note on main entry catalog card for the collection.
FILM 4D21:14:5 - Request access
Contains six plays: “The Tragedy of the Duchess of Malfy” by John Webster; London: Nicholas Okes for John Waterson; 1623. “Devil’s Law Case” by John Webster; London: A.M. for John Grismand; 1623. “Women Beware Women, A Tragedy” by Thomas Middleton; London: [n.p.]; 1657. “The Changeling” by Thomas Midleton [sic] and William Rowley; London: [n.p.]; 1653. “The Late Lancashire Witches” by Thomas Heywood and Richard Broome; London: Thomas Harper for Benjamin Fisher; 1634. “The Tragedy of Albertus Wallenstein, Late Duke of Fridland, and Generall [sic] to the Emperor Ferdinand the Second” by Henry Glapthorne; London: Thomas Paine for George Hutton; 1639. Also contains one published letter entitled “ A Letter Written by a Catholicke [sic] Gentleman, to the Lady Jane Clement, the Haulting Princess of the League” by Capitaine Viques; London: John Wolfe; 1590.
FILM MISC - Request access
Brighton: Harvester Microform Publication, 1985
A guide to the collection is on reel one. Each play is individually cataloged in MERLIN. An uncataloged guide is available in the Special Collections office.
The Popular stage : drama in nineteenth century England : the Frank Pettingell collection of plays in the Library of the University of Kent at Canterbury : an inventory : [guide to the microfilm edition].
New Canaan, CT: Readex Corporation,
This set contains all available first editions and important subsequent editions of the important and minor English plays from 1500 to 1800, and American plays from the beginning of American drama to 1830. The set also includes foreign plays which were adapted into English. The English titles are grouped into Elizabethan plays, 1515-1641; Restoration plays, 1642-1700, early eighteenth century plays, 1701-1750; and late eighteenth century plays, 1751-1800. There is also a group of the Larpent Collection of Manuscripts, 1737-1800 which are located at the Henry E. Huntington Library and Museum. Finally, the American plays are dated 1714-1830.
Each play is individually catalogued. Consult MERLIN by author or title.
Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery. Catalogue of the Larpent plays in the Huntington Library, compiled by Dougald MacMillan.
London: World Microfilm Publications, 1979
This collection of secular manuscripts is divided into Part A, General and Part B, History. It includes numerous post-mediaeval manuscripts in addition to the notable mediaeval manuscripts selected from Trinity College's collection. The James catalog gives a description of the manuscripts, often a table of contents within a particular manuscript, and a list of illustrations when appropriate. Examples of works in the general collection are Jacobus de Cessolis de Ludo Scaccarum, correspondence between Sir Isaac Newton and Dr. Robert Hooke, John Hadley's chemistry lecture, and the annals of William Camden. Historical manuscripts include Memoires Historiques de Neufville, Leicester's Commonwealth Diary of Paris de Grassis, and Edmund Campion's History of Ireland.
An uncataloged guide, Trinity College, Cambridge. The Mediaeval Manuscript Collection. (Including some post-mediaeval manuscripts.) Section VI: Secular MSS, is available in the Special Collections Office. This guide contains a reel list with specific reference to the James catalogue.
Trinity College (University of Cambridge). Library. The western manuscripts in the library of Trinity college, Cambridge. A descriptive catalogue by Montague Rhodes James.
Newark, DE: University of Delaware, 1980
The guide is also filmed on Fiche 1-2.
Healey, Antonette DiPaolo, 1945- A microfiche concordance to Old English : the list of texts and index of editions