Skip to main content

Literature and Language Microforms

American Periodicals, 18th Century.

Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International, 1946
American periodical series I
33 reel(s)

The eighty-eight titles in this collection trace the early evolution of the American periodical. It begins with two short-lived periodicals published in 1741 by Andrew Bradford and Benjamin Franklin, and extends through the increasing magazine activity after the Revolution. Four of the era's most important and longest-lived periodicals are included: the Columbian Magazine and the American Museum, both of Philadelphia, the Massachusetts Magazine of Boston, and the New-York Magazine. Subjects covered include politics and government, slavery, religion, books, and European news. Sentimental fiction, much of which was serialized, and Revolutionary pamphlets are also included. Titles are arranged alphabetically on the film.

FILM BOOK 0005 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Hoornstra, Jean. American periodicals, 1741-1900 : an index to the microfilm collections–American periodicals 18th century, American periodicals, 1800-1850, American periodicals, 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction

This guide contains a title, general subject, editor, and reel index. The title index provides full bibliographic information and notes on character and content. Titles with holdings information are entered in the online catalog, MERLIN. Many of the titles are indexed in Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature. Also, additional author, title, and subject access is provided by the Early American Periodicals Index to 1850 (MICPT 016.05).

Chielens, Edward E. American literary magazines : the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries

 

Index to Early American Periodicals to 1850

 

Nineteenth century readers’ guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899

An author, subject and illustrator index to the material in fifty-one periodicals (1003 volumes), and index to the book reviews and a title index to the short stories, novels, plays and poems

Poole’s index to periodical literature

American Periodicals, 1800-1850.

Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International, 1966
American periodical series II

The spirit of nationalism and of westward expansion runs throughout the periodical publications of this prolific period, which marked the beginning of a distinctly American literature. Religious periodicals and magazines for women and children were numerous during this period. Godey's Lady's Book, the Juvenile Port-Folio, the Saturday Evening Post, and the New-York Mirror are representative of the most significant periodicals of the time. Because the arrangement is not alphabetical, the title index in the guide must be used to locate specific periodicals. Periodicals are one of the main sources that reflect American public opinion of the period.

Reels 1-1966

FILM BOOK 0006 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Hoornstra, Jean. American periodicals, 1741-1900 : an index to the microfilm collections–American periodicals 18th century, American periodicals, 1800-1850, American periodicals, 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction

This guide contains a title, general subject, editor, and reel index. The title index provides full bibliographic information and notes on character and content. Titles with holdings information are entered in the online catalog, MERLIN. Many of the titles are indexed in Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature. Also, additional author, title, and subject access is provided by the Early American Periodicals Index to 1850 (MICPT 016.05).

Chielens, Edward E. American literary magazines : the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries

Index to Early American Periodicals to 1850

Nineteenth century readers’ guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899

An author, subject and illustrator index to the material in fifty-one periodicals (1003 volumes), and index to the book reviews and a title index to the short stories, novels, plays and poems

Poole’s index to periodical literature

American Primers.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1990
844 fiche

From Webster’s Spellers and McGuffey Readers to Dick and Jane, this collection consists of primers, readers, spelling books, alphabet books, teaching manuals, and non-instructional juvenile literature published primarily in America from 1711 to 1943. Only book or book-like items are included, thus hornbooks, broadsides, charts, reading cards, and battledores are excluded. The collection includes some British imprints that were heavily imported to the colonies in the eighteenth century as well as non-English readers, especially German textbooks from Pennsylvania; readers and spellers in Native American languages; Confederate textbooks; and textbooks of simplified orthography, including Edwin Leigh’s pronouncing orthographies published circa 1870. Material in the collection documents reading instruction in the U.S., illustrating pedagogical methods and tools. The collection highlights as well issues in the history of book design and illustration, publishing, and book selling in America.

MICF 3118

Guides:

American primers : guide to the microfiche collection PDF

The guide provides a background essay and secondary bibliography by Richard L. Venezky, bibliography of microfiche, and title, author, and chronological index. Also available under call number PE1119.3 .A44 1989.

Individual titles are catalogued in MERLIN.

Dillard University, New Orleans Amistad Research Center. Countee Cullen Papers 1921-69.

New Orleans: Amistad Research Center, 1975 
7 reel(s)

FILM BOOK 0124 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Borders, Florence E. Guide to the microfilm edition of the Countee Cullen papers, 1921-1969

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800.

New York: Readex Microprint, 1955
31000 card(s)

This collection is a reproduction of the complete texts of approximately 42,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides listed in Charles Evans' American Bibliography. Evans attempted to locate and describe everything printed in America up to 1800. Readex researchers added 12,000 works overlooked by Evans, as well as correcting his faulty entries. This series reflects, through the printed page, events through the American Revolutionary period. Titles are arranged chronologically in the order of entry in Evans' bibliography. They use the numbers assigned to each item by Evans. Although Evans listed magazines and newspapers, these are not included in the microprint edition but are filmed separately and described in this guide under American Periodicals and under Early American Newspapers.

MICPT 810.8

Guides:

Evans, Charles American bibliography; a chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of America from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the year 1820. With bibliographical and biographical notes.

Bristol, Roger P. Supplement to Charles Evans’ American bibliography.

Shipton, Clifford Kenyon National index of American imprints through 1800; the short-title Evans

Bristol, Roger P. Index of printers, publishers, and booksellers indicated by Charles Evans in his American bibliography.

Early American Imprints, Second Series, 1801-1819.

New York: Readex Microprint, 1964
52000 card(s)

This collection is based on Shaw and Shoemaker's American Bibliography, which attempted to list all books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States between 1800 and 1820. The complete text of approximately 50,000 works written in a period of rapid American expansion and intrepid exploration can be found here. Included are the writings of Robert Fulton, Henry Clay, Noah Webster, James Madison, Thomas Paine, Daniel Webster, and many others, as well as reports, letters, messages from the presidents, and resolutions of Congress and of the state and territorial legislative assemblies. Many British and European authors whose works were published in America are also represented. The titles are arranged chronologically as in the Shaw-Shoemaker bibliography, and can be located using the numbers assigned in that source. These numbers appear in eye-legible form on each microprint.

Each title is cataloged in MERLIN.

MICPT 810.8

Guides:

Shaw, Ralph R. American bibliography : a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819

Emerson, Ralph Waldo, 1803-1882. Ralph Waldo Emerson Collection: 1822-1903.

Wakefield, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1999
British Records Relating to America in Microform
2 reel(s)

Filmed from the Alexander Ireland Collection in the Central Library, Manchester, England. This collection contains extracts from Emerson’s work in newspapers and periodicals, reviews of works by Emerson, reviews of and extracts from the correspondence between Emerson and Thomas Carlyle, a Scottish writer also admired by Alexander Ireland, reviews of Ireland’s book on Emerson, articles about Emerson, correspondence, and obituaries on Emerson’s death in the American and British press.

FILM BOOK 0321 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Harding, Brian. The Ralph Waldo Emerson collection, 1822-1903 : a brief introduction to the microfilm edition of the Ralph Waldo Emerson collection. PDF

The guide contains a brief account of the introduction and friendship between Emerson and Alexander Ireland upon Emerson’s visits to England, contents of the two reels, and bibliographical notes. Available under call number PS1631 .R34 1999.

Harper and Brothers Archives 1817-1914.

Teaneck, NJ: Chadwyck-Healy, 1982 
58 reel(s)

A general catalog of the collection is on reel 1 and an index is at the beginning of each major section.

FILM 4D21: 16:5-16:6 - Request access

Guides:

Index to the archives of Harper and Brothers, 1817-1914

Nineteenth Century American Literature: the Ohio Valley and the South.

Lexington, KY: Lost Cause Press, 
450 card(s)

A Union List of Publications in Opaque Microforms by Eva Maude Tilton. pp. 449-472. Each title individually cataloged and classified separately.

MICD

Guides:

Tilton, Eva Maude. A union list of publications in opaque microforms.

Stevens, Wallace. Wallace Stevens-Cummington Press Correspondence, 1941-1951.

Wakefield: Microform Academic Publishers, 1992
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

Reproduced in this collection is the correspondence between American poet Wallace Stevens (1879-1955) and Katharine Frazier and Harry Duncan of the Cummington Press. This correspondence documents Stevens’s compositional methods and the reception of his poems as well as provides a picture of business relations during that time period. Also included in the collection is the original typescript of the first edition of Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction with emendations by Stevens. Stevens, considered one of the major modern American poets, was also a vice-president of the Hartford Accident and Indemnity Corporation of Hartford, CT, two lives that he consciously kept separate. His first book of poems, Harmonium, was published in 1923, but he was not widely recognized until his Collected Poems was published in 1954. Much of his poetry, including his long poem “Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction,” involves his working out the interrelatedness of reality and the imagination and the role of poetry. Located in Cummington, Massachusetts, the Cummington Press was founded in 1939 by Harry Duncan as part of the Cummington School of the Arts. Using a hand printing press, the press became known as one of the finest small presses in the country. Stevens’s Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction was published in 1942 and Esthetique du Mal in 1945.

FILM - Request access

Guides:

The Wallace Stevens-Cummington Press correspondence, 1941-1951 : from the collection in the John Rylands University Library of Manchester, Deansgate Building PDF

Guide includes detailed inventory of letters and introduction by Carolyn Masel. Also available under call number PS3537.T4753 Z483 1992.

Three Centuries of Drama

New Canaan, CT: Readex Corporation,

This set contains all available first editions and important subsequent editions of the important and minor English plays from 1500 to 1800, and American plays from the beginning of American drama to 1830. The set also includes foreign plays which were adapted into English. The English titles are grouped into Elizabethan plays, 1515-1641; Restoration plays, 1642-1700, early eighteenth century plays, 1701-1750; and late eighteenth century plays, 1751-1800. There is also a group of the Larpent Collection of Manuscripts, 1737-1800 which are located at the Henry E. Huntington Library and Museum. Finally, the American plays are dated 1714-1830.

Each play is individually catalogued. Consult MERLIN by author or title.

MICPT 822.08

Guides:

Bergquist, G. William. Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist. England: 1500-1800, United States: 1714-1830.

Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery. Catalogue of the Larpent plays in the Huntington Library, compiled by Dougald MacMillan.

Twain, Mark. Original Manuscript of Tom Sawyer.

1876 
1 reel(s)

Samuel Langhorne Clemens (1835-1910) wrote under the pen name “Mark Twain.” This film is of the 654-page, handwritten manuscript of one of his most famous books. Also included are some of his handwritten letters to writer Moncure D. Conway, who acted as his agent in England, a review of the book by Conway, a letter from The Gentleman’s Quarterly to Conway discussing the Canadian copyright of Tom Sawyer, an article in the Cincinnati Commercial about the book’s release in England, and a publishing agreement for the book dated May 24, 1876.

Microfilmed by the University of Missouri – Columbia

FILM MISC - Request access

 

Two Centuries of Drama: American 1714-1830.

New Canaan, Ct: Readex Corporation, 1963 
327 card(s)

Each play is individually cataloged in MERLIN.

MICPT 812.08

Guides:

Bergquist, G. William. Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist. England: 1500-1800, United States: 1714-1830.

Vandamm, Florence. Vandamm Collection.

Teaneck, NJ: Somerset House, 1980 
827 fiche

26,000 photos

MICF 792.O97471

Guides:

New York theatre, 1919-1961 : [handlist of stage productions in the Vandamm Collection].

Walt Whitman Collection.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 2001
British records relating to America in microform
12 reel(s)

The Walt Whitman Collection (1880-1948) consists primarily of correspondence between members of the Bolton Whitman Fellowship and with other English and North American Whitmanites, correspondence with Whitman himself, addresses and lectures composed by various members of the group, journal and newspapers articles, and photographs. Whitman (1819-1892), noted American journalist, essayist, and poet, garnered a loyal following in Britain, especially in Bolton, Lancashire where James William Wallace (1853-1926) and a group of educated working class and lower middle class admirers met as the “Eagle Street College” (later known as Bolton Whitman Fellowship) to discuss literary works, especially Whitman’s poetry, and social and political issues. The group was drawn to Whitman by the revolutionary, democratic ideas in his essays and poetry. Other figures prominent in the collection include John Johnston, Charles Frederick Sixsmith, and Edward Carpenter. This collection will be of interest to scholars studying Whitman, the reception of Whitman’s poetry, early British socialism, and utopian visionaries in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The original material is held at the John Rylands University Library Manchester, England.

FILM BOOK 0347 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Masel, Carolyn. The Walt Whitman collection : introduction to the microfilm edition PDF

Also available under call number PS3230.5 .M37 2002.