Skip to main content

Civil War Microforms

Abolition & Emancipation. Part 1: Papers of Thomas Clarkson, William Lloyd Garrison, Zachary Macaulay, Harriet Martineau, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and William Wilberforce from the Huntington Library

Wiltshire, England: Adam Matthew Publications, 1996
10 reel(s)

Correspondence, reports, printed materials, manuscript essays, journals, diaries of leading abolitionists in the United States and Britain, dating from 1773 to 1899. Thomas Clarkson (1760-1846), along with William Wilberforce (1759-1833), founded the British Anti-Slavery Society in 1787 and witnessed the passage of British Anti-Slavery laws in 1807 and the abolition of slavery in British Colonies in 1833. Correspondence from both men are reproduced as well as Clarkson's manuscript essays. Zachary Macaulay (1768-1838) was especially active in the Sierra Leone colony founded by Wilberforce. An extensive collection of letters by Macaulay are included. Political economist Harret Martineau (1802-1876) was a leading abolitionist in Britain; letters and manuscript essays written by Martineau are included. William Lloyd Garrison (1805-1879) founded the influential newspaper The Liberator in 1831 and the American Anti-Slavery Society in 1834. Letters from Garrison, including some to Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Pease, are reproduced here. Harriet Beecher Stowe (1811-1896), best known as the author of Uncle Tom's Cabin, was a prolific writer in the second half of the nineteenth century. Correspondence and manuscripts of a full range of her writings are included.

Guide includes detailed listing of contents with brief extracts and brief biographies. The digital version of the guide is available online at http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/abolition_emancipation_part_1.

FILM BOOK 0320 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Abolition & emancipation : a listing and guide to part … of the microfilm collection.

American Women’s Diaries. Southern Women.

New Cannaan, CT: Readex Film Products, 1988 
34 reel(s)

This collection contains the manuscript diaries of 32 American women who lived in the South during the 19th century. The diaries provide eyewitness accounts of women's experiences and perspectives on subjects such as the Civil War; Reconstruction; journeys to other states and countries; and their everyday lives on plantations and in cities and smaller towns. Some of the manuscripts are accompanied by transcripts. Diarists: Ada W. Bacot, Zillah (Haynie) Brandon, Mary Davis Brown, Dolly Sumner (Lunt) Burge, Louisiana D. Burge, Kate S. Carney, Carolyn Elizabeth (Burgwin) Clitherall, Louisa (Maxwell) Holmes Cocke, Martha E. (Foster) Crawford, Sarah Anne (Gayle) Crawford, Kate Cumming, Sarah Ida Fowler (Morgan) Dawson, Harriet Eaton, Sarah (Haynesworth) Gayle, Sarah (Burge) Gray, Cloe Tyler (Whittle) Greene, Mary Hort, Mary Davis (Hook) Howell, Sarah Huff, Eveline Harden Jackson, Emma Florence LeConte, Jane Amelia (Akehurst) Lines, Millie J. McCreary, Priscilla (Beall) McKaig, Harriet (Tatem) McLellan, Cornelia (Jackson) Moore, Emma Mordecai, Elizabeth Waties (Allston) Pringle, Alice Ready, Frances Jane (Bestor) Robertson, Molly Elliot Seawell, Grace Latimer Whittle.

FILM BOOK 0299 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Begos, Jane DuPree. Southern women’s diaries : a guide

The guide provides a summary of each diary and a preface gives additional background information.

Anti-Abolition Tracts. No. 1-6, 1862-66.

New York: Van Evrie, Horton, 1862
1 reel(s)

The anti-abolition tracts in this collection are Abolition and Secession (1864), Free Negroism (1862), The Abolition Conspiracy to Destroy the Union (1863) The Negro's Place in Nature (1864) The Six Species of Men (1866), and Soliloquies of the Bondholder, the Poor Mechanic, the Poor Farmer, the Freed Negro, the Soldier's Widow, the 'Radical' Congressman, the Political Preacher, the Returned Soldier, the Southerner (1866).

A guide in the Special Collections Office lists the complete titles.

FILM MISC - Request access

Anti-Slavery Propaganda in the Oberlin College Library.

Louisville, Ky.: Lost Cause, 1968
7500 card(s)

Oberlin College Library's collection of American anti-slavery propaganda includes over 2500 pamphlets covering annual reports, proceedings, platforms, and addresses of anti-slavery societies published before the Emancipation Proclamation of January 1, 1863. In 1835 Oberlin College, a center of anti-slavery activity, first admitted blacks as students. The collection is arranged by main entry, generally author. The first microcard for each title includes eye-legible bibliographic data in the form of a catalog card. Each title is fully described in Ellis Library's card catalog.

An uncataloged guide, Anti-Slavery Propaganda in the Oberlin College Library, available in the Special Collections Office, lists the titles included in the collection.

MICD 326

Bragg, Thomas 1810 -1862. Thomas Bragg Diary, 1861-1862, in the Southern Historical Collection of the University of North Carolina Library.

Chapel Hill, N.C.: University of North Carolina Library, 1968 
1 reel(s)

After two terms as governor of North Carolina, Thomas Bragg was elected to the Senate in 1859. The first portion of his diary covers January 3, to March 1, 1861. It deals with political activities and difficulties related to sectional differences and secession. Plans for a provisional government, the problems of federal forts in the South, the Kansas question, and the financial problems of both the northern and southern governments are covered. During the next portion of the diary from November 15, 1861 to April 9, 1862, Bragg was attorney general of the Confederate States. He reports on conversations with Jefferson Davis and cabinet members, discussions at cabinet meetings, war news, relation of the central government with state governments, and financial problems. He also discusses the loyalty of states such as Kentucky, Tennessee, and Missouri to the Confederacy, military topics such as the re-enlistment of volunteers, manufacture of gunpowder, naval warfare, and prisoner exchanges, and battles including the clash between the Monitor and Merrimac and the Battle of Shiloh. In the remainder of the diary he mentions rumors of war, prices of store goods, and political activities in Virginia and North Carolina.

An uncataloged guide, Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Bragg Diary, is available in the Special Collections Office. It contains a partial list of people mentioned in the diary.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Calendar of Virginia State Papers and Other Manuscripts 1652-1869, Preserved in the Capitol at Richmond, Vol. I. Virginia

Dallas, Texas: Southwestern Microfilm, 1976
1 reel(s)

The papers include abstracts of land patents, foreign and colonial official communications, petitions, legislation, incomplete proceedings of councils, and public and private correspondence of prominent individuals. The documents reveal the habits and customs of the people and discuss the important events in Virginia colonial history through the Revolutionary period. Topics include Indian affairs, ships and shipping, William and Mary College, relationships with the mother country, crops, slaves, debtors, privateers, land grants, and army affairs.

This is volume I of a set. Another copy is available in printed form (F221.V5 1968). In this volume, transcribed Virginia state papers, arranged in chronological order, date from 1652 to 1781. An index is at the end of the reel.
FILED UNDER VIRGINIA IN FILM MISC
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Confederate States Almanac, and Repository of Useful Knowledge. Vols 1-4, 1862-1865.

Mobile, Alabama: H.E. Clark;, 1862 
1 reel(s)

Published yearly from 1862 to 1865, the almanac contains much useful information about the Confederate States. Population, manufacturing, production of crops such as cotton and tobacco, descriptions of individual state governments, the history of secession, and accounts of important battles of the war are all included. In the first volume there is a short history of the formation of the Confederate States.

FILM MISC - Request access

AVAILABLE ONLINE

Confederate States of America. Compiled Service Records of Confederate General and Staff Officers and Nonregimental Enlisted Men.

Washington, D.C: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 331; v. National Archives record group 109
275 reel(s)

These service records pertain to Confederate officers and enlisted men who did not belong to a particular regiment or unit. They include records of general officers and officers and enlisted men in staff departments such as the Adjutant and Inspector General, Quartermaster, Commissary, Medical, and Ordnance. They also include members of army corps, division and brigade staffs, and special appointees such as aides-de-camp, military judges, chaplains, agents, and drillmasters. The records consist of jackets (envelopes) for each soldier, labeled with his name, rank, and capacity. The papers include abstracts of original appointment registers, lists of officers, registers of medical personnel, and other papers relating to a particular soldier.

An uncataloged guide, Compiled Service Records of Confederate General and Staff Officers and Nonregimental Enlisted Men, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 3:10-3:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Confederate Papers Relating to Citizens or Business Firms.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1961 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 346; v. National Archives record group 109.
1158 reel(s)

Vouchers, receipts, and correspondence from citizens or business firms relate to payments for materials purchased by, or services performed for, the army and navy. Also, contracts, warrants, and receipts for salary payments are included. The documents concern banks, businesses such as railroads and mining companies, claims for lost property, and claims by survivors of deceased military personnel.

FILM 4:4-4:13 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Engineer Department. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Engineer Bureau of the Confederate War Department, 1861-1864.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 628; v. National Archives record group 109.
5 reel(s)

This is a collection of five bound volumes of letters and telegrams sent by the chief of engineers to army officers, government officials, and civilians in the Confederacy. The Engineer Bureau was involved in activities such as the construction of permanent and field fortifications, fording of rivers, and reconnaissance and survey operations. Copybooks containing telegrams and letters covering the period from 1861 to 1864, are arranged in chronological order. The collection is incomplete since some material was probably destroyed during the Confederate retreat.

FILM 8:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Treasury Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of the Treasury 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1967 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 499; v. National Archives record group 365.
57 reel(s)

On February 21, 1861, President Davis appointed Christopher Memminger secretary of the treasury. He served in that post until June 15, 1864, and was succeeded by George Trenholm. Besides the secretary, the Treasury Department included a comptroller, an auditor, a register, a treasurer, and an assistant secretary. The department was composed of the following offices or bureaus: Second and Third Auditors, Commissioner of Taxes, Produce Loan Bureau, Treasury Note Bureau, Lighthouse Bureau, and Office of Deposit. Also under the direction of the secretary were the Offices of the Collectors of Customs, Assistant Treasurers, Depositories, Directors of Mints, and the Trans-Mississippi Department. The general arrangement of the letters is alphabetical by the author (or his office or title) or by the person to whom the letter chiefly pertains.

FILM 6:7-6:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. Treasury Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of the Treasury 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 500; v. National Archives record group 56.
1 reel(s)

Addressed to other officials in the Confederate government, the letters were written by Secretary Christopher Memminger, appointed in 1861, and Secretary George Trenholm, appointed in 1864. Among the subjects discussed are the financial difficulties of the Confederacy, removal of the seat of government to Richmond, appointments of custom officials, customs regulations, the establishment of lighthouse districts and the appointments of lighthouse inspectors, and the mints in Charlotte, Dahlonega, and New Orleans. The letters are arranged chronologically, but there are no indexes to the collection.

FILM 6:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers Who Served in Organizations Raised Directly by the Confederate Government.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 193 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 258; v. National Archives record group 109.
123 reel(s)

Soldiers raised directly by the Confederate government were not identified with any one state. Several organizations were raised among native Indians and foreigners recruited from Union prisoners of war. The records consist of a jacket-envelope for each soldier with his name, rank, and unit. It contains entries from the time of enlistment, including all the information on his service career. Most of the records are arranged according to an organizational breakdown by regiment, battalion, or company. Within a unit, the records are arranged alphabetically by the soldier's name.

FILM 3:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. General Orders of the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector Generals Office, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 782; v. National Archives record group 109.
1 reel(s)

General orders were used to disseminate instructions and to publish acts of Congress, presidential proclamations, results of courts-martial and military courts, rolls of honor, price schedules for supplies, lists of officers promoted, administrative changes, and notices of prisoner exchanges. The orders were intended as a guide for officers in the field regarding the established regulations and procedures of the War Department.

FILM 9:6 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General and the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 410; v. National Archives record group 109.
41 reel(s)

This microfilmed alphabetical card index provides access to the microfilm collections, Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 474) and Letters Received by the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 469). The index contains the names not only of signers of letters but also some persons mentioned in the letters. The registers of claims relate to service performed for the Confederate Army and to supplies sold to or seized by it. Each entry shows the claim number, name of claimant, nature of claim, amount, and action taken by the Quartermaster.

FILM 5:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Index to Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 409; v. National Archives record group 109.
34 reel(s)

The index contains names not only of signers of the letters but also of persons mentioned in the letters. The index card gives the name of the person, sometimes his rank in the army, and the file numbers where the letters may be found. For a variety of reasons, many of the letters indexed are no longer in the series of letters received, some are in other collections, or were lost or destroyed.

FILM 5:11-5:12 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters and Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 627; v. National Archives record group 109.
6 reel(s)

Letters and telegrams sent by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General between March 1861 and April 1865 were copied into books according to the practice of the time. The Adjutant and Inspector Generals Office was responsible to the secretary of war for carrying out the details of army administration. It prepared and issued orders, made appointments, kept records on commissions, and decided questions regarding ranks of officers. It was in charge of inspections, recruitment, and the enforcement of laws and regulation. The letters and telegrams are arranged in chronological order.

FILM 8:1 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Adjutant and Inspector General 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 474; v. National Archives record group 109.
164 reel(s)

Responsible to the secretary of war, the staff of the Adjutant and Inspector Generals Department carried out the details of army administration. They issued orders and regulations for the army, inspected staff departments and armies in the field, enforced regulations, dealt with nominations, appointments, and commissions, and took action on court-martials. In 1865, they took on the responsibility for military conscription. Letters covering the period from April 1861 to April 1865, are arranged first by year, then alphabetically by surname or office. They are then arranged numerically in order of their entry in the register of letters received.

FILM 6:3-6:5 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Quartermaster General, 1861-1865

Washington, D.C: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 469; v. National Archives record group 109.
14 reel(s)

Letters from April 1861, to April 1865, document activities of the Quartermaster Generals Department, whose duties included the provision of quarters and transportation for the army. The Quartermaster Department purchased, stored, transported, and distributed army supplies, including army clothing, equipment, horses, food, and fuel.

FILM 6:3 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 437; v. National Archives record group 109.
151 reel(s)

As chief officer of the War Department under the direction and control of the president, the secretary of war had charge of all matters connected with the army and with Indian tribes within the limits of the Confederacy. The collection spans the period from February 1861, to May 1865, and is arranged in chronological order. Letters that were immediately referred to other officers are not included.

FILM 5:14-6:2 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 522; v. National Archives record group 109.
10 reel(s)

This collection includes letters sent by the Office of the Secretary of War from February 21, 1861, to May 22, 1862, and September 13, 1862, to January 23, 1865. Some additional letters were added, dated February 9, to April 22, 1865. The secretary of war was the chief officer in the Confederate War Department. Under the direction and control of the president, the secretary had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. The letterbooks in this collection originally contained correspondence sent from the Office of the Secretary of War to all permanent officials, including the president. For letters to the president, a separate series of letters was started in November 1861, but some letters continued to be copied in this series through April 1862. There are two letters written to the president in 1865. The remainder can be found in the microfilm collection, Letters sent by the Confederate Secretary of War to the President, 1861-1865 (Microcopy no. M 523). The letters are arranged in chronological order.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Letters Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War to the President, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 523; v. National Archives record group 109.
2 reel(s)

As chief officer of the War Department under the direction of President Jefferson Davis, the secretary of war had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. The letters, organized in two series, are those sent to the president relating to all subjects (November 20, 1861 – April 24, 1865) and letters concerning nominations for appointments and promotions in the Confederate Army (March 1, 1861 – March 17, 1865). An index to the second series is on the second reel. The intended arrangement of the letters within each letterbook was chronological, but sometimes clerks were not able to copy precisely in that order.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Telegrams Received by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record Service, 1965 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 618; v. National Archives record group 109.
19 reel(s)

Under the direction of President Jefferson Davis, the Office of the Secretary of War had charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. Telegrams received by the secretary of war from February 1861, to April 1865, were recorded in registers with accompanying name indexes. Telegrams originally received by the adjutant and inspector general, by President Jefferson Davis, and by various heads of War Department bureaus in Richmond are also included.

FILM 7:8 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. Telegrams Sent by the Confederate Secretary of War, 1861-1865.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 524; v. National Archives record group 109.
1 reel(s)

Chief officer of the War Department under the direction and control of the president, the secretary of war was in charge of all matters connected with the army and Indian tribes within the Confederacy. Telegrams from February 21, 1861, to April 1, 1865, were copied in chronological order into letterbooks. A few of the telegrams were sent by the adjutant and inspector general and by chiefs of War Department bureaus. The first volume contains an index to names of addressees and names of persons mentioned in the telegrams. The second two volumes also have an index to names of addressees.

FILM 6:9 - Request access

Confederate States of America. War Department. War Department Collection of Confederate Records, Chapter V: Quartermaster Department, Letters and Telegrams Sent, 1861-65.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1957
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 131; v. National Archives record group 109.
9 reel(s)

The staff of the Quartermaster Department obtained supplies and arranged for transportation of supplies and personnel. They constructed buildings and army installations, served as paymasters, and kept extensive accounts and records. Letters and telegrams to business firms, government officials, and individuals concern supplies, appointments, and estimates for services needed.

FILM 8:14 - Request access

Grant, Ulysses Simpson, 1822-1885. Ulysses S. Grant Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1964
Presidential papers microfilm
32 reel(s)

Ulysses S. Grant, General-in-Chief of all the federal armies in the Civil War, won the Republican presidential nomination in 1868. He defeated Horatio Seymour to become the eighteenth president of the United States, serving from 1869 to 1877. These papers contain general correspondence, including Grant's letters to Julia B. Dent (later Mrs. Grant). Also included are copies of Grant documents from other collections, such as letterbooks, speeches, reports, messages, and personal memoirs, like "Memoirs of Shiloh". Headquarters records (1861-69) and other military records comprise a substantial part of the collection. Photographs, clippings, drawings, and scrapbooks are also included. Correspondents include W.W. Belknap, A.E. Burnside, B.F. Butler, G.M. Dodge, H. Fish, J.C. Fremont, J.D. Grant, H.W. Halleck, C.S. Hamilton, W.S. Hancock, R.B. Hatch, S.A. Hurlbut, J.C. Kelton, J.A. McClernand, J.B. McPherson, G.G. Meade, E.O.C. Ord, J. Pope, J.M. Schofield, P.H. Sheridan, W.T. Sherman, E.M. Stanton, G.H. Thomas, and L. Thomas.

FILM 20:8-9 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Ulysses S. Grant papers

The guide includes an index of writers and recipients.

Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865. Abraham Lincoln Papers.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1957 
97 reel(s)

These papers, some 40,000 items, contain correspondence and other papers, mainly letters, addressed to Lincoln during his presidency. The collection includes some 1200 items preserved by John G. Nicoloy in his capacity as Lincoln's secretary and editor. Two drafts of the Gettysburg Address and the letter of condolence from Queen Victoria to Mary Todd Lincoln are included. Correspondents include Nathaniel Banks, Edward Bates, Montgomery Blair, Benjamin Brewster, Salmon P. Chase, Schuyler Colfax, David Davis, Ulysses S. Grant, John Hay, Andrew Johnson, Reverdy Johnson, George B. McClellan, George G. Meade, Edwin D. Morgan, William Rosecrans, William H. Seward, Horatio Seymour, Caleb B. Smith, James Speed, Edwin M. Stanton, Charles Sumner, Lyman Trumbull, Lew Wallace, Elihu B. Washburn, and Gideon Welles.

FILM 20:14-21:12 - Request access

Guides:

Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Abraham Lincoln papers

The guide provides an index to writers or recipients.

Lindsay, William Schaw. American Papers of W.S. Lindsay, 1861-1866

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Microform Academic Publishers, 1987 
British Records Relating to America in Microform
1 reel(s)

William Schaw Lindsay, a member of the British Parliament during the Civil War, supported the Confederacy's bid for recognition and spoke on their behalf before Parliament. This manuscript, entitled The United States of America, 1860-1867: Various Letters Respecting the War Between the Northern and Southern States for the Independence of the South, with Notes by W.S. Lindsay, compiled June, 1867, includes his correspondence with Disraeli, later British Prime Minister, and two Confederate diplomats, John Slidell and James M. Mason. In addition to correspondence, the manuscript contains a dialogue of Lindsay's trip to America, his impressions of America, and newspaper clippings.

FILM BOOK 0275 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Mahan, Alfred Thayer. Admiral Farragut.

New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1892
1 reel(s)

David Glasgow Farragut (1801-1870) was an admiral in the U.S. Navy and began his naval career at the age of 10. Although born in Tennessee, he remained loyal to the Union during the Civil War and was named commander of the Western Gulf Blockading Squadron in 1861. He led his fleet to the capture of New Orleans in 1862 and Mobile Bay in 1864 and was the first man in the U. S. Navy to be made an admiral. This book contains chapters on Farragut’s family, early life, naval career, Civil War experiences, his character, later years in life, and his death, as well as several illustrations.

Part of the “Great Commanders” series edited by James Grant Wilson. Mahan was a captain in the U.S. Navy and president of the U.S. Naval War College.  

Available online

Mahan, Alfred Thayer. Gulf and Inland Waters.

New York: Charles Scribner?ó?é¼?äós Sons, 1883
1 reel(s)

This narrative is based on official reports and witness accounts of naval activities in the Gulf of Mexico and inland waters during the Civil War. Chapters include “The Recoil from Vicksburg,” “The Mississippi Opened,” “Minor Occurrences in 1863,” “Texas and the Red River,” and more as well as maps and plans. An appendix and index appear at the end of the book.

No. 3 in the “Navy in the Civil War” series. The author was a captain in the U.S. Navy and president of the U.S. Naval War College.

FILM MISC - Request access

Memminger, Christopher Gustav, 1803-1888. Christopher Gustavus Memminger Papers.

Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Library, 1966 
1 reel(s)

Christopher G. Memminger was a South Carolina politician who became heavily involved in the secession controversy in 1860. He chaired the committee that drafted the new constitution of the Confederate States of America in 1861 and he served as secretary of the treasury in the cabinet of Jefferson Davis. After the Civil War, he returned to Charleston where he practiced law and helped develop the state's public school system. This collection of his papers dates from 1803 to 1915, but most heavily concentrates on the period from 1858 to 1868. It includes a number of official reports submitted by Memminger as treasury secretary to the Confederate Congress. It also includes papers on the "slave problem" and Reconstruction. The material is arranged chronologically and includes a few papers from Memminger's son, Thomas B. Memminger.

An uncataloged guide, Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Christopher G. Memminger Papers, is available in the Special Collection office. The guide contains background information on Christopher Memminger and the collection.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Oldroyd, Osborn Hamiline. Lincoln’s Campaign; or, the Political Revolution of 1860.

Chicago: Laird & Lee, 1896
1 reel(s)

This book contains records of events of the presidential campaign of 1860 and includes campaign songs for Lincoln, illustrations of Lincoln medals for 1860, political cartoons, summaries of the presidential conventions, and much more. It ends with illustrations and biographies of leading presidential contenders for the election of 1896.

Title continues “With Fourteen Portraits and Biographies of Presidential Possibilities for 1896.”

FILM MISC - Request access

Parker, William Harwar. Recollections of a Naval Officer, 1841-1865.

New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1883
1 reel(s)

Parker (1826-1896) writes about his career in the United States and Confederate Navies, which began in 1841 at the age of 14. This book contains his first-hand accounts of serving on numerous ships and taking part in various battles. It is a particularly valuable primary source for information regarding the operations of the Confederate Navy throughout the Civil War.

FILM MISC - Request access

Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery. Papers of the Pennsylvania Abolitionist Society.

Philadelphia, Pa.: Rhistoric Publications, 1969
5 reel(s)

The Society for the Relief of Free Negroes Unlawfully Kept in Bondage was the first society formed for the abolition of slavery. It was founded in 1775 in Philadelphia. Suspended during the Revolutionary War, the society was reactivated in 1787. Containing minutes and manuscripts from 1787 to 1816, the collection forms an extremely rich source for the study of the early abolitionist movement. The first reel contains the constitution and minutes of the society.

Reels 2-5 contain 11 volumes of manuscripts with an index for each volume. A manuscript history of the society, located at the end of the fifth reel, provides a chronological summary of important events and thus can be used as a guide to the collection.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Prime, William Cowper. Mcclellan’s Own Story; the War for the Union, the Soldiers Who Fought it, the Civilians Who Directed it, and His Relations to it and to Them.

New York: Charles L. Webster & Co., 1887 
1 reel(s)

This book covers from April 1861 to November 1862 the life of Major-General George Brinton McClellan (1826-1885), commander of the Union armies during the Civil War. It contains a biographical sketch by the author, as well as McClellan’s private letters to his wife, the causes, beginning, campaigns, and battles of the Civil War in his own words. There are also illustrations by Mr. A.R. Ward drawn from his originals made while accompanying the Army of the Potomac in 1862.

There is an index at the end of the book.

FILM MISC - Request access

Race, Slavery and Free Blacks, Series I: Petitions to Southern Legislatures, 1777-1867.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1998 
Black Studies Research Sources
23 reel(s)

This collection contains all 2,917 extant legislative petitions on the subject of race, slavery, and free blacks in the South dating from 1777 to 1867. The petitions come from the following states: Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Written by slaveholders and nonslaveholders, blacks and whites, men and women, slaves and freemen, petitions include requests for emancipation, mass campaigns demanding the total abolition of slavery, and complaints about the activities of free blacks and address issues such as manumission, colonization, religion, laws governing slaves, racial mixing, and black military service. They provide a portrait of the political, legal, economic, social, and cultural life of the American South in the nineteenth century.

FILM BOOK 0319 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A guide to the microfilm edition of Race, slavery, and free Blacks. Series I. Petitions to southern legislatures, 1777-1867

Race, Slavery, and Free Blacks, Series II: Petitions to Southern County Courts 1775-1867.

Bethesda, MD: LexisNexis, 2002
Black Studies Research Sources
116 reel(s)

See also the website for the Race and Slavery Petitions Project:  http://library.uncg.edu/slavery_petitions/ (last accessed 4 October 2006).

Ellis Library has Parts A-E

FILM BOOK 0351 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution Through the Civil War: Series A, Selections from the South Carolina Library, University of South Carolina.

Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 1985
41 reel(s)

James Henry Hammond, plantation owner, served in the House of Representatives (1835-1836), as Governor of South Carolina (1842-1844), and as United States Senator (1857-1860). His papers reflect his interest in scientific agriculture, providing information on cotton growing, fruit and vegetable production, and livestock management. Other subjects include social customs in the ante-bellum South, the state of education at the University of South Carolina, political ideology among educated southerners, the practice of law, and slave management. The miscellaneous collections include records of plantation owners from various South Carolina regions. Certain selections, such as the Wade Hampton papers dealing with sugar plantations in Louisiana, refer to the westward expansion of the plantation system in the nineteenth century. The correspondence offers insight into the social and family life of the South Carolina planter. Plantation journals and account books provide details on crop production and the work and health of plantation slaves.

FILM BOOK 0064 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War [guide] : series A, selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

The guide provides reel content notes.

Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations: Series B. Selections from the South Carolina Historical Society.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1985 
10 reel(s)

Papers of families and individuals from the South Carolina low countries include a concentration of materials from St. John's Parish of the Charleston District. Included are the proceedings of the Black Oak Agricultural Society, the confession of a participant in the Denmark Vesey slave rebellion of 1822, the auction book of Charleston slave trader, Alonzo White, extensive slave records, a parish diary, and a number of plantation journals. The diaries, daybooks, plantation records, and estate accounts for the Thomas Porcher Ravenel family (1731-1899) are also included. These papers relate to lands, plantation management, slaves, and crops, especially rice and cotton.

FILM BOOK 0111 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War [guide] : series A, selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina

The guide provides reel content notes.

Reports on the Cotton Market, 1848-1863.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964 
British records relating to America in microfilm
1 reel(s)

By 1795 Liverpool had become the leading cotton port in England. Britain imported large amounts of cotton and combined it with linen to produce cheap calico cloth. By 1860 almost 80% of the cotton imported was from America. When the reports in this collection end in 1863, less than 1% of cotton imports were from America due to the Yankee blockade of southern ports. A brief comment on trade during each week indicates the volume of trade, the selling climate, and the political climate.

A description of the collection and its arrangement appears at the beginning of the reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Rhodes House Anti-Slavery Papers, Material Relating to America from the Anti-Slavery Collection in Rhodes House Oxford; Mainly 1839-1868.

East Ardsley, Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1963 
British records relating to America in microfilm
2 reel(s)

This is a collection of the London Anti-Slavery Society (1823-1840), the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society (founded 1839), and the Aborigines Protection Society. The latter two societies merged in 1909 to form the Anti-Slavery and Aborigines Protection Society. Originally, the Anti-Slavery Society concerned itself only with the abolition of slavery in the British sugar colonies. This achieved in 1838, they turned their attention to American slavery. The change in focus led to the founding of the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society, whose goal was the abolition of slavery throughout the world. British and American abolitionists cooperated to convince the British and the American public of the sinfulness of slavery. Selections relating to America are from the minutebooks, memorials, petitions, and correspondence of the society. The Rhodes House Library houses the largest anti-slavery collection in Great Britain.

A description of the collection and its arrangement is on the first reel. Also useful is SPEC-R Z1236 .C74 179 A Guide to Manuscripts Relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland. p. 205.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM 22:10 - Request access

Ruffin, Edmund, 1794-1865. Diary of Edmund Ruffin, 1856-1865.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1966
7 reel(s)

Edmund Ruffin made his reputation from the 1830s to the 1850s as an innovator in southern agriculture. He wrote the important agricultural work An Essay on Calcareous Manures and edited the Farmer's Register beginning in June 1833. As the struggle over states rights evolved, Ruffin became an ardent secessionist. He reportedly fired the first shot against Fort Sumter. With the defeat of the Confederacy, Ruffin committed suicide on June 18, 1865. This collection contains the manuscript diary to the day of his death. It provides considerable information about southern politics before and during the war and repeated observations about conditions on the Confederate domestic front.

The manuscript diary through June of 1863 has been edited and published in two volumes by William Kauffman Scarborough (F230 .R9314). Volume one is titled Toward Independence, October 1856-April, 1861 and volume two is titled The Years of Hope, April 1861-June 1863. Only routine personal affairs were omitted in this edition and it is thoroughly indexed.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Smith, Gustavus Woodson. Confederate War Papers. Fairfax Court House, New Orleans, Seven Pines, Richmond and North Carolina.

New York: Atlantic Publishing and Engraving Co., 1884
1 reel(s)

Smith (1822-1896) was a major general in the Confederate Army. This work is divided into four parts with multiple chapters in each. Part I: War Policy of the Confederate States Administration. Part II: The Defences [sic] of Louisiana. Part III: Notes of the Battle of Seven Pines or Fair Oaks. Part IV: The Defences [sic] of Richmond and of North Carolina in the Latter Part of 1862 and the Early Months of 1863.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Second edition. Contains three appendices, three maps, and an index at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Smith, Henry Bascom. Between the Lines; Secret Service Stories Told Fifty Years Later

New York: Booz Brothers, 1911
1 reel(s)

Bascom (d. 1916) was the chief of detectives and assistant Provost Marshal General with Major General Lew Wallace for the Union in the Civil War. This work consists of 49 files that took place during the war.

(Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.)
Note: Pages 27-30 are missing. Map at the end. Three pictures, one of Smith along with his signature.

FILM MISC - Request access

Soley, James Russell. Blockade and the Cruisers

New York: C. Scribner?ó?é¼?äós Sons, 1883
1 reel(s)

Soley (1850-1911) was a professor of the U.S. Navy. This introductory volume tells about the general condition and problems of the Navy before and at the beginning of the Civil War. It describes the operations of blockade runners, Atlantic squadrons, gulf squadrons, the commerce destroyers, and has three appendices (“Vessels of the U.S. Navy, March 4, 1861;” “Vessels Constructed or Projected, 1861-1865;” and “Instructions from Flag-Officer Goldsborough to Officers Commanding Blockading Vessels”). There are ads for other naval books at the end of this work.

Volume 1 of “The Navy in the Civil War” series. Index and appendices at the end.

FILM MISC - Request access

Southern Historical Manuscripts: Plantation Records, 1748-1901 from the Department of Archives, Louisiana State University.

Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1971 
526 fiche

Personal papers of southern families, both wealthy landowners and freed slaves, provide insights into everyday life in the South before and after the Civil War. The papers include diaries, land deeds, tax receipts, correspondence, bills and invoices, newspaper clippings, school programs, handbills, almanacs, account books, and pamphlets. Topics include life on the plantations, education and student life, financial transactions, agriculture, attitudes toward slavery, religious beliefs, health concerns, Civil War battles, and travel at home and abroad.

An uncataloged guide, Southern Historical Manuscripts: Plantation Records, 1748-1901 From the Department of Archives, Louisiana State University, located in the Special Collections Office, indicates holdings.

MICF 975

Stanton, Robert Livingston. Church and the Rebellion

New York: Derby and Miller, 1864 
1 reel(s)

Stanton (1810-1885) was a professor in the Theological Seminary of the Presbyterian Church of Danville, KY. Chapters in this work against the secession of states from the Union include “Character of the Rebellion,” “Cause of the Rebellion,” “Responsibility for the Rebellion,” “Responsibility for Beginning and Continuing the War,” “Responsibility of the Southern Church for the Rebellion and the War,” “The Church and Slavery,” “Slavery and Polemics,” and more. Stanton dedicated it “To the young men of the United States, of every creed in religion and every party in politics, who prefer freedom to slavery; who are loyal to the country, and who are aiding to sustain its government against rebellion.”

Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, Washington, DC

FILM MISC - Request access

State Slavery Statutes.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1989 
354 fiche

This collection includes over 7, 100 state statutes regarding slavery dating from 1789 to 1865 in the United States. Included is every statute passed in the fifteen slave states that dealt with slavery, free blacks, and the broader issue of race. Also included are private laws, special acts, legislative resolutions, and texts of state constitutions and subsequent revisions as they affected slavery. These documents depict how the legislators of the American South maintained slavery from the time of the American Revolution when most of the northern states had abolished slavery to the Emancipation Proclamation of 1863, as well how slavery affected virtually everything legislators did in the South.

MICF 6044

Guides:

State slavery statutes : guide to the microfiche collection

Guide includes inventory listing and subject, name, and geographic location index.

United States. Adjutant General’s Office. Negro in the Military Service of the United States, 1639-1886.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1963 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 823; v. National Archives record group 94.
5 reel(s)

Between 1885 and 1888 the United States Adjutant General's Office compiled federal documents relating to military service of blacks from miscellaneous sources such as secondary works, colonial records, and state legislative records. The largest portion of the material focuses on blacks during the Civil War. Fugitive slaves, black laborers, the Confederate use of blacks, the changing legal status of blacks, and black military service are covered. Blacks served in the Georgia, Louisiana, North and South Carolina militias before the Civil War. Often they were laborers, but sometimes they served as fighting men. They also served in the American Revolutionary Army and in other wars.

There is a description of the contents at the beginning of each reel.

FILM 9:6 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. Registers and Letters Received by the Commissioner of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1969 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 752; v. National Archives record group 105
74 reel(s)

The Bureau was established by the War Department through an act of Congress approved on March 3, 1865, and assumed responsibilities previously shared by military commanders and agents of the Treasury Department. Besides disposing of abandoned and confiscated lands, staff of the Bureau issued rations, clothing, and medicine to refugees and freedmen. They established hospitals, dispensaries, and supervised housing or camps for the homeless. They cooperated with others to establish schools, employment offices, and relief stations. They supervised the writing of labor contracts and the terms of indenture, registered marriages, helped black soldiers file and collect claims for pensions and pay, and generally tried to improve the lives of the freedmen.

An uncataloged guide, Registers and Letters Received by the Commissioner of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 8:10-11 - Request access

United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. Selected Records of the Tennessee Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Land, 1865-1872.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1958 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. T 142; v. National Archives record group 105
73 reel(s)

The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Land was in charge of helping freedmen and refugees find food, shelter, clothing, and medical care. It also distributed abandoned lands following the Civil War. Types of records include letters and telegrams sent by the commissioner, letters sent by other government officials to the Bureau, claims entered by freedmen, letters relating to seized land and property, monthly reports by teachers, and labor contracts.

An uncataloged guide, Selected Records of the Tennessee Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Land, 1865-1872, located in the Special Collections Office, indicates the contents of each reel.

FILM 8:14-9:1 - Request access

United States. Department of State. Journal of Charles Mason Kent During the Survey of the Mason and Dixon Line, 1763-1768.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1945 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 86; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The reel contains a journal of the activities of Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon, the commissioners who surveyed a boundary between the provinces of Pennsylvania and Maryland. Before the Civil War, the boundary was considered the dividing line between slave and non-slave states. The journal includes a series of topographical notes and letters received by the commissioners during their mission.

An uncataloged guide, Journal of Charles Mason Kent During the Survey of the Mason and Dixon Line, is in the Special Collections Office. The same information is reproduced at the beginning of the reel.

FILM 1:10 - Request access

United States. Department of State. State Department Territorial Papers: Kansas, 1854-1861.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1953
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 218; v. National Archives record group 59.
2 reel(s)

In 1856 the question of whether Kansas' admission into the Union would be as a free or slave state led to open hostilities between opposing factions. The records span the period from the establishment of Kansas Territory until statehood in 1861. Most records are concerned with the conflict between pro-slavery and anti-slavery factions and the use of troops to subdue the violence. Also included are copies of other proceedings of the territorial legislature, correspondence and speeches of the governor, and records of commissions issued to public officials. The official correspondence dates from 1854 to 1861 and the executive minutes date from 1854 to 1859.

An uncataloged guide, State Department Territorial Papers: Kansas, 1854-1861, is available in the Special Collections Office and is reproduced on the first reel. Also useful is REF CD3030 .P3 Parker, David W. Calendar of the Papers in Washington Archives Relating to the Territories of the U.S. (to 1873), pp. 159-167.

FILM 1:13 - Request access

Guides:

Parker, David W. Calendar of papers in Washington archives relating to the territories of the United States (to 1873) by David W. Parker.

United States. War Department. Records of the Office of the Secretary of War: Letters Sent to the President, 1800-1863.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1948 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 127; v. National Archives record group 107
6 reel(s)

The letters deal with such topics as the operation of the army, administration of the War Department, appropriations, military commissions, military posts, general court-martials, and annual reports of the secretary of war.

There is an index to the collection on the first reel.

FILM 1:11 - Request access

United States. War Department. Records Relating to Confederate Naval and Marine Personnel.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1959
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 260; v. National Archives record group 109
7 reel(s)

This collection of Confederate naval and marine records divides itself into three parts. Part one is concerned with Union and Confederate hospital records as well as Union and parole prison records of naval and marine personnel. The second part reproduces reference cards and papers relating to naval personnel and the third part reproduces those of marine personnel. Reference cards indicate rank of sailor or marine, payroll, and include references to vessel papers. Entries were obtained from hospital registers, prescription books, and prison and payroll records. The records are arranged alphabetically by the surname of the sailor or marine.

Military Service Records: a Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications (p. 310-311) provides a reel guide.

FILM 3:2 - Request access

Guides:

United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Military service records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

The guide provides background on the various collections and indicates the alphabetical range for each reel.

United States. War Department. Union Provost Marshal’s File of Papers Relating to Civilians.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 345; v. National Archives record group 109
300 reel(s)

The Provost Marshal’s file relates to civilians who came in contact with the army from 1861 to 1866. Provost marshals served as military police. They sought out and arrested deserters, Confederate spies, and civilians suspected of crimes or disloyalty. Provost courts tried cases involving civilians and military personnel accused of civil crimes. The documents include correspondence, provost court papers, orders, passes, and paroles. The documents are arranged alphabetically by the name of the civilian concerned.

An uncataloged guide, Union Provost Marshal’s File of Papers Relating to Civilians, is available in the Special Collections Office.

FILM 406

United States. War Department. Union Provost Marshal’s File of Papers Relating to Two or More Civilians.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1969
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 416; v. National Archives record group 109
94 reel(s)

The Provost Marshal's file from 1861 to 1867 relates to civilians who came in contact with the army. Provost marshals served as military police. They sought out and arrested deserters, Confederate spies, and civilians suspected of crimes or disloyalty. Provost courts tried cases involving civilians and military personnel accused of civil crimes. The papers include correspondence, provost court papers, passes, and paroles. Generally the arrangement is chronological. Separate groups of reels relate to civilians in military prisons and to civilian prisoners confined by the Middle Department, 8th Army Corps, at Baltimore.

An uncataloged guide, Union Provost Marshal's File of Papers Relating to Two or More Civilians, is available in the Special Collections Office. An incomplete place and subject index is on the first reel.

FILM 5:12-5:13 - Request access

United States. War Department. Unfiled Papers and Slips Belonging in Confederate Compiled Service Records.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1962 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 347; v. National Archives record group 109
442 reel(s)

The War Department placed papers in this series when, for one reason or another, the records could not be positively connected with any soldier for whom there was a compiled service record. In some cases, the soldiers served in a home-guard unit or Another state organization never called into the service of the central government. The card abstracts contain entries taken from original muster rolls, returns, rosters, payrolls, hospital registers, and parole rolls. Also included are references to original records, letters, vouchers, requisitions, and oaths of allegiance. The records are arranged alphabetically by surname.

An uncataloged guide, Unfiled Papers and Slips Belonging in Confederate Compiled Service Records, available in the Special Collections Office, indicates the surnames included on each reel.

FILM 4:13-5:2 - Request access

The Weekly News and Courier, Charleston, SC. Our Women in the War. The Lives they Lived; the Deaths they Died.

Charleston, SC: News and Courier Book Presses, 1885
1 reel(s)

This book is a compilation of 79 personal narratives during the Civil War as told by southern women and appearing in The Weekly News and Courier. The subjects include the siege at Vicksburg, MS, poets of the Confederacy, talks with children, foraging around Nashville, TN, heroism at home, war times in Alabama, and many more.

FILM MISC - Request access

Wharncliffe Manuscripts Relating to the American Civil War 1864-1872: In the Sheffield City Library.

East Ardsley, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England: EP Microform, 1975
British records relating to America in microform
1 reel(s)

Letters to the third Lord Wharncliffe relate to the Confederacy during the Civil War. Lord Wharncliffe, like many aristocratic Englishmen, was a strong southern sympathizer and had business interests in southern cotton. Letters concern the Committee for the Relief of Southern Prisoners of War, chaired by Wharncliffe from 1864 to 1865. In 1864, the committee raised 17,000 pounds for southern prisoners of war held in the North. United States secretary of state, William Seward, refused the money on the grounds that it was unnecessary. Letters to Lord Wharncliffe after this refusal tell of southern hardship and alleged atrocities of the North. Other correspondence concerns the business affairs of Alexander Collie, a blockade-runner during the later stages of the war, and James Spence, a British supporter of the South.

FILM 22:13 - Request access

Guides:

Wharncliffe manuscripts relating to the American Civil War, 1864-1872 PDF