Skip to main content

Black Studies Microforms

Black Panthers. FBI File on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1986
2 reel(s)

The Black Panthers were a radical, sometimes violent, political organization. They were founded in 1966 by Huey P. Newton and Bobby Seal. At first, they advocated arming the black populace so they could protect themselves from politicians, law enforcement authorities, and business owners whom they considered to be oppressive. The Black Panthers believed that economic unfairness was the basic problem for blacks, not racial discrimination. So in the late 1960's, they began working with white revolutionary groups with whom they shared goals. By the early 1970's, the Black Panthers changed their methods by stressing community service within established political and social groups.

FILM BOOK 0292 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina

It contains an introduction that describes the origin and philosophy of the Black Panther Party and a summary of the provided FBI material. Each reel’s contents is divided into sections and the date of the first and last documents in each section is also listed. This same information is also found at the beginning of the first reel.

Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1925.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985
Black Studies Research Sources
25 reel(s)

With the booming economy in northern cities during World War I, approximately one-half million blacks left the South and headed north in pursuit of work. This collection consists of federal documents that pertain to the changing patterns of both labor and migration during the decade after the war. Specifically, these documents refer to agricultural and industrial labor, unionism, housing, race relations, veteran employment, and the processes of migration.

FILM BOOK 0041 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Black workers in the era of the great migration, 1916-1925 : guide PDF

The guide contains historical background on the Great Migration, the sources of this collection, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number E185.8 .S35 1985.

California. Governor’s Commission on the Los Angeles Riots. Transcripts, Depositions, Consultant Reports, and Selected Documents of the Governor’s Commission on the Los Angeles Riots.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress (for Microcard Editions), 1966 
5 reel(s)

In 1965 the arrest of a twenty-one year old black suspected of drunken driving touched off a series of riots in the Watts district of south-central Los Angeles. The riots lasted for five days, resulting in thirty-four deaths and about $40 million in property damage. Governor Edmund Brown set up a commission to make an objective study of the riots. The commission was charged with determining why the arrest set off the riots, why the riots continued to spread, what efforts were made by police to control the riots, what actions were taken by private individuals, and what effect looting had in the spread of the riots. The documents in the collection are the result of sixty-four meetings of the governor's commission. They include testimony and statements from administrators, law enforcement officers, members of the state, county, and local governments, representatives of business and labor, residents of the area, spokesmen for minorities, social workers, consultants, and other experts.

A table of contents and bibliographies appear at the beginning of the first reel.
NOT IN MERLIN

FILM MISC - Request access

Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
Black studies research sources
21 reel(s)

The administration of Lyndon Johnson saw extensive activity in government and society in the area of civil rights. This collection is divided into three sections. Part 1 is titled “The White House Central Files;” part 2, “Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: Administrative History;” and part 3, “Oral Histories.” The material focuses on the legislative and administrative actions of the government to enact and enforce civil rights legislation.

FILM BOOK 0036 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Civil rights during the Johnson administration, 1963-1969 : [reel guide] PDF

The guide contains historical background on civil rights activities during the Johnson administration, information on sources for the documents in this collection, a table of contents, and a subject index. Also available under call number KF4749 .C5 1984.

Claude A. Barnett Papers. Part Three: Subject Files on Black Americans, 1918-1967, Series B.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1985 
Black Studies Research Sources
16 reel(s)

We own Series B: Colleges and Universities, 1918-1966.
Claude Barnett founded the Associated Negro Press (ANP) in March 1919 and remained director during a time of great social change, retiring in 1964. After his retirement the ANP ceased to exist. The ANP provided information of interest to black readers including news, opinion columns, reviews of books, movies, and records as a wire service to black newspapers. In addition to his work with the ANP, Barnett served as special assistant to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, participated in Republican Party Campaigns, the National Negro Business League, and the United Negro College Fund. In addition, he served on the boards of the Tuskegee Institute, American National Red Cross, Provident Hospital, and other organizations. In 1934 he married the well-known concert singer and actress, Etta Moten. The Claude Barnett Papers are arranged by subject in eleven series. The collection includes correspondence, memos, reports, and clippings on agriculture, colleges and universities, economic conditions, entertainers, artists and authors, medicine, military, philanthropic and social organizations, politics and law, race, religions, and personal files.

FILM BOOK 0278 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

The Claude A. Barnett papers : the Associated Negro Press 1918-1967. part three, subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967

The guide contains a brief biography of Claude A. Barnett and a short history of the Associated Negro Press, along with a description of each subject filmed on the reel and a detailed reel list. It includes an index of major subjects covered.

Congress of Racial Equality. Congress of Racial Equality (Core) Papers, 1959-1976.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1984
Black studies research sources
80 reel(s)

This collection covers the period of intense civil rights activity by CORE during the early 1960s. Parts 1 and 2 cover field projects conducted in the South and West during this period. Part 3 covers the educational and legal aspects of CORE’s work from 1960 to 1976. This latter section is organized into Administrative Files, Leadership Development Files and Legal Department Files. Parts 1 and 2 have introductions at the beginning of the first reels that give a history and the functions of the western and southern regional offices. The series on the Legal Department Files in Part 3 has a list of contents of the files and the legal cases CORE was interested in.

FILM BOOK 0020 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Congress of Racial Equality. Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) papers : [guide]

Each volume contains background on the collection, a table of contents and a reel index.

DuBois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt) 1868-1963. Papers of W.E.B. Dubois, 1803 (1877-1963) 1965.

DuBois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt) 1868-1963. PAPERS OF W.E.B. DUBOIS, 1803 (1877-1963) 1965.

Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1980 
89 reel(s)

This collection preserves the writings of W.E.B. DuBois, an historian by profession, and a civil rights pioneer by conviction. He wrote twenty-one books and countless journal articles. DuBois corresponded with Sherwood Anderson, Andrew Carnegie, Albert Einstein, Martin Luther King, Jr., Margaret Mead, Albert Schweitzer, Booker T. Washington, Roy Wilkins, and other significant figures. Those interested in African-American studies, American history, and political science have the opportunity to witness the nearly century old development of DuBois' political and social philosophy as they peruse this collection.

The collection is arranged into twenty series, with each listed and described. Copyright regulations pertaining to the use of this collection are explained. The microfilm reels are listed, as are selective items for which there is an index. Four years are mentioned in the title. The years 1877-1963 denote the time period in which there are items written by and to W.E.B. DuBois. The oldest item in the collection is a copy of a land grant made to James DuBois in 1803. Finally, 1979 is the year in which DuBois' stepson, David Graham DuBois, donated additional items.

FILM BOOK 0310 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

McDonnell, Robert W. The papers of W.E.B. Du Bois, 1803 (1877-1963) 1979 : a guide

The guide contains a biographical sketch of W.E.B. DuBois, and a description of the scope and content of this collection and of DuBois materials in other repositories.

Federal Bureau of Investigation Confidential Files: FBI Wiretaps, Bugs, and Break-Ins: The National Security Electronic Surveillance Card File and Surreptitious Entries File.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1988
4 reel(s)

Contains card files of FBI surreptitious activity from 1942 to 1975 for organizations investigated by the FBI, including wire taps, bugs, and break-ins.

FILM BOOK 0274 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A Guide to the microfilm edition of Federal Bureau of Investigation confidential files. FBI wiretaps, bugs, and break-ins PDF

Guide contains an introduction to the collection and a reel index. Also available under call number JK468.I6 G8 1988.

Federal Surveillance of Afro-Americans (1917-1925): The First World War, the Red Scare, and the Garvey Movement.

Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1985
Black studies research sources
25 reel(s)

The collection consists of materials gathered by the Justice Department’s Bureau of Investigation (renamed the Federal Bureau of Investigation in 1935), military and naval intelligence, the Department of State, and the Post Office Department on the activities of black radicals from 1917 to 1925. The information concerns black communists and socialists, Marcus Garvey’s Universal Negro Improvement Association, radical black publications (such as The Crusader, The Defender, and The Messenger), the Pan African movement, the race riots of 1919, the draft evasions during the First World War, the attitudes and the morale of the black military units, the African Blood Brotherhood, and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

FILM BOOK 0042 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Schipper, Martin Paul. Federal surveillance of Afro-Americans (1917-1925) : guide : the First World War, the Red scare, and the Garvey movement PDF

The guide lists all the documents and includes a subject index. Also available under call numberKF4764 .S35 1986.

Garvey, Marcus 1887-1940. Marcus Garvey: FBI Investigation File.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1978 
1 reel(s)

During the decade of the 1920's, when most Americans experienced more prosperity than they ever had before, some poor blacks were desperately searching for a way in which they, too, could increase their standard of living. Marcus Garvey, a black American leader, born in Jamaica, took advantage of their situation. He started a "Back to Africa" movement that promised them a better life in a land where they no longer would be members of a minority race. Garvey also founded the Universal Negro Improvement Association and had as many as 2 million followers. Many sent him money which he used to set up black businesses, profits of which were supposed to finance the movement. In 1925, however, Garvey was convicted of mail fraud in connection with the sale of worthless stock in one of the businesses, The Black Star Line, a supposed shipping company. "The Back to Africa" movement declined after Garvey was incarcerated.

Not accompanied by a guide. Includes New York Times articles, 1962-1971, archives from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Universal Negro Improvement Association.

FILM BOOK 0295 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Investigative Case Files of the Bureau of Investigation, 1908-1922.

Washington, D. C: National Archives, 1982 
National Archives Microform Publications. Microcopy no. M1085
3 reel(s)

The three reels that Ellis Library has of this 955 reel collection contain information on a variety of topics. Reel 319 has the investigative records relating to German aliens (Old German Files), 1915-1920. This contains letters and reports on suspected spies, and interviews with suspicious Germans. Reel 320 continues the files, and in addition contains reports on the American Protective League, the Loyal Black Knights of the Camp of Israel, and civil rights groups. Reel 482 has miscellaneous reports.

FILM BOOK 0223 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI File.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984
Black studies research sources
16 reel(s)

FBI documents released under the Freedom of Information Act record King’s role in the civil rights movement and his Southern Christian Leadership Conference. The activities of the Communist Party, USA are documented. The file dates from 1958 through the campaign for a King national holiday in the 1970s. Documents that might be viewed as a violation of King’s personal privacy and information gained by telephone wiretaps and hotel room “bugs” remain classified and thus are not included in the collection.

FILM BOOK 0062 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

The Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI file PDF

Also available under call number E185.97.K5 M295 1984.

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Papers of the NAACP: Part 1, 1909-1950: Meetings of the Board of Directors, Records of Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and Special Reports.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982 
28 reel(s)

This collection includes the core elements of the papers of the NAACP from 1909 to 1950 held by the Library of Congress, which detail the association's structure, activities, and development at its highest level. The collection provides insight on many aspects of American Race Relations. The materials are divided into separate categories for filming, including Minutes of the Board of Director's Meetings, Monthly Reports of NAACP Officers (1918-1950), Annual Conference Proceedings, Proceedings of the Annual Business Meetings, and Special Correspondence (1910-1939). Correspondents include Thurgood Marshall, W.E.B. DuBois, Juanita E. Jackson, and Joel E. Springarn.

FILM BOOK 0016 Part 1 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. A guide to papers of the NAACP. Part I, 1909-1950, Meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, and special reports

Edited by Ralph Boehm, the guide includes an introduction to the collection, a detailed description of the items on each reel, and a subject index to Reels 8-14.

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Papers of the NAACP: Part 14, Race Relations in the International Arena, 1940-1955.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1993 
21 reel(s)

The material reproduced in this collection covers the development of NAACP foreign policy from 1940 to 1955. During World War Two and with the formation of the United Nations, the NAACP attempted to foster democratic principles in America and the European colonial empire, especially Africa. Topics include colonial liberation movements in Africa, the American Council on African Education, the Bandung Conference of 1955, Haiti, India, Italian colonies in Africa, the Palestinian conflict, the Virgin Islands, and the United Nations. NAACP figures involved include Walter White, W. E. B. Du Bois, and Rayford Logan.

FILM BOOK 0016 Part 14 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A guide to the microfilm edition of Black studies research sources … Papers of the NAACP, part 14, Race relations in the international arena, 1940-1955

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Papers of the NAACP: Part 19, Youth File.

Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1995 
77 reel(s)

Series A (1919-1939) is the general file. Although only a few documents precede 1936, these hint at the NAACP's vision for youth organization before the youth councils were firmly established. Series B contains the first alphabetical half of the subject files of the NAACP Youth Department from 1940 through 1955. This series begins with "A" (American Jewish Congress) and runs through "M" (Motion Picture Project). Series C (1940-1955) is the second half of the subject file and runs from NAACP through Youthbuilders. The subject files in Series "C" fall into two broad categories: files pertaining to the organization of the NAACP youth movement and files pertaining to cooperation with other organizations. Series D (1956-1965) contains the Youth Department Files. These files document the youth movement of the NAACP between 1956 and 1965. Efforts to develop the NAACP youth movement at both local and national levels are covered. Local files include material on membership drives, sit-in demonstrations, fair employment, and other campaigns. National office files document NAACP programs designed to engage youths in the organization. They also include the files of many field workers and regional staff members who reported to the national office on their organizational work.

FILM BOOK 0016 Part 19A-D - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

A guide to the microfilm edition of Black studies research sources … Papers of the NAACP, part 19, Youth file, series A, 1919-1939

A guide to the microfilm edition of Black studies research sources … Papers of the NAACP, part 19, Youth file, series B, 1940-1955, American Jewish Congress–motion picture project

A guide to the microfilm edition of Black studies research sources … Papers of the NAACP, part 19, Youth file, series C, 1940-1955, NAACP youthbuilders

A guide to the microfilm edition of Black studies research sources … Papers of the NAACP, part 19, Youth file, series D, 1956-1965, Youth Department files

New Deal Agencies and Black America in the 1930’s.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1983 
Black studies research sources
25 reel(s)

This collection contains documents from those New Deal agencies concerned with the economic and social conditions of black Americans. Specifically, the documents come from the Office of Education, the National Youth Administration, the Department of the Interior, the Farm Security Administration, the Civilian Conservation Corps, the Employment Service in the Department of Labor, the National Recovery Administration, the Department of Commerce and the Works Progress Administration.

FILM BOOK 0063 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

New Deal agencies and Black America : guide

The guide contains a roster of Roosevelt’s “Black Cabinet” of informal advisers on black issues, a table of contents, and a reel index.

President Truman’s Committee on Civil Rights.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
Black Studies Research Series
10 reel(s)

The President's Committee on Civil Rights (PCCR) was established by Harry S. Truman in 1946 in order to reinforce the commitment of civil rights groups and the the government to civil rights progress by preparing a report with recommendations for the President. The collection brings together the various manuscript materials in the Harry S. Truman Library at Independence, Missouri, relevant to the PCCR, 1946-1948. The Committee's report, "To Secure These Rights", is the first item in the collection. The bulk of the collection is composed of the records of the PCCR. These include some documents illuminating the origin of the PCCR, and the operation and organization of the Committee. In addition, relevant documents from the papers of Attorney General Tom Clark and the George Philleo Nash Papers are included. The material contains both private and official correspondence as well as transcripts of PCCR meetings and testimonies before the Committee. The collection also contains staff background studies, digests of information, agenda minutes, news clippings, interim reports, discussion and decision papers, and drafts of speeches.

FILM BOOK 0016 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

President Truman’s Committee on Civil Rights [guide]

The guide contains an introduction to the documents and a listing of the order in which they appear on the microfilm.

Randolph, A. Philip, 1889-1979. FBI File, A. Philip Randolph.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1990 
1 reel(s)

An avowed anti-communist, A. Philip Randolph was a black labor leader who refused to allow membership to any Communists in his Pullman car porters' union or any other organization in which he played a leadership role. Yet, he was the subject of an FBI investigation because he had been a Socialist during World War I and continued to have Socialist leanings during the Second World War when he declined the Vice-Presidential nomination on the Socialist ticket. Randolph was also instrumental in the planning of protest marches on Washington, D.C., thus arousing FBI suspicion that his activities may be subversive.

FILM BOOK 0286 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on A. Philip Randolph.

An introduction provides a brief biography of A. Philip Randolph, tells what kind of documents are included in the contents, and how they are organized. Roll notes outline some of the contents. This information is also provided at the beginning of the roll.

Robeson, Paul, 1898-1976. FBI File on Paul Robeson.

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1987 
2 reel(s)

Paul Robeson was a black scholar-athlete who graduated from Rutgers University in 1919. He was a two-time football All-American and a member of the academic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa. He later earned a degree from Columbia University School of Law. However, his talents as an actor and singer brought him international acclaim. Although a successful theatrical artist, Robeson became actively involved in national and international political issues. He supported movements concerning peace in the world, better labor conditions, racial equality and independence for African colonies. Some of the organizations with which he was affiliated were suspected of being Communist fronts. His friendship with the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and with known Communists drew the attention of the United States government, and Robeson became the subject of an FBI investigation. The government concluded that his travels and speeches abroad were not in the best interest of the United States, and in 1950, Robeson's passport was canceled. Eight years later, he regained his passport after a legal battle. He moved to London to resume his theatrical career. Robeson returned to the United States in 1963 because of ill health.

FILM BOOK 0293 - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE; REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Guides:

Guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI file on Paul Robeson.

The guide contains a brief biography of Paul Robeson, explains the reasons for the FBI investigation, and tells how the material is organized. The guide also contains a listing of some of the contents in each section of the roll. This information is also provided at the beginning of the first roll.

Schomburg Center Clipping File, 1925-1974.

New York: NCR for the New York Public Library, 1975 
9673 fiche

This collection reproduces the clipping file in the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. The Schomburg Center is one of the most important centers in the world for the study of black life and history. The comprehensive, international collection covers black activity wherever peoples of African descent have lived. Writings by authors of African descent are collected, regardless of the subject matter or language. The basis of the collection was the private library of Arthur Alfonso Schomburg (1874-1938), a Puerto Rican of African descent, who amassed one of the largest collections devoted to the Negro. The clippings file represent 80 drawers of vertical file materials. Included are clippings, magazine articles, programs, and broadsides. The materials are classified in detail by biographical, geographical, and subject headings. Information can be found on such people as Tom Mboya, Sekou Toure, Abdel Nasser, Nkrumah, and Azikiwe. Geographical emphasis includes Ghana, Nigeria, Togoland (now part of Ghana and the Republic of Togo), and the Mali Federation. Other subjects include civil rights, education, housing, slavery, and theater.

MICF 1686

Guides:

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Index to the Schomburg clipping file.

‘The Schomburg Clipping File Index provides subject access.