The Division of Special Collections is located on the fourth floor west of Ellis Library, the main library for the Columbia campus. More information
Using Special Collections
Special Collections provides a variety of services to MU students, faculty and staff. Services are available to all researchers and scholars not affiliated with the University of Missouri as well. Get started
Prospectus, Chocorua by Richard Eberhart.
Broadside, "Signature" by Ron Seitz
Prospectus, Ash Cakes and Sweet Water: A Suite of Wood Engravings by Susan Nees.
Announcement, Ash Cakes and Sweet Water: A Suite of Wood Engravings by Susan Nees.
Prospectus, Rural Route 2: Eight Wood Engravings of Family Farm Life by Susan Nees.
Susan Nees short bio paragraph.
Never Mind the Press
Never Mind the News newsletter, fall/winter 2003-2004.
Keepsake card, "Serene. Repeat as Needed." Signed and numbered 194/198, Alisa Golden.
Announcement, Critical Opalescence, 2004.
Letter signed Alisa Golden.
Postcard with picture of Pencil Turns by Alisa Golden.
Announcement, The Golden Beak, 1998.
Announcement, The Lending Library: The Mirror Business, The Local Desk, and Fish Cake, 1996.
Never Mind the News newsletter, Fall 2003.
Announcement, Lizard's Snake Suit, 1996.
New York Public Library
Prospectus, Father Abraham by William Faulkner.
Nightowl, Press of the
Broadside, Quotation from Hokusai, 1975.
Prospectus, The Compositor as Artist, Craftsman and Tradesman by Alexander Lawson with wood engravings by Joseph Sanders.
Prospectus, Recognizing the Angel, poems by Mary Ann Coleman with illustrations by Margaret Agner.
List of Limited Editions.
Announcement, Walking by Henry David Thoreau.
Announcement, The Real World of Manuel Rios Córdova by W.S. Merwin.
Announcement, XXIV Short Love Poems by Bruce Whiteman.
Announcement, Emerson & Thoreau/Spirit & Matter.
Announcement, Grand Canyon Poems by Dean Stover
Nottingham Court Press
Prospectus, Birds, Beasts & Flowers, 1981.
Prospectus, The Cricket on the Hearth by Charles Dickens, facsimile of first 1846 edition.
Prospectus, In Memoriam, by Alfred Lord Tennyson, facsimile of the Lincoln manuscript.
Price list, June 1981.
Catalogue No. 3.
Announcement, How Words See: Some Twentieth-Century Poems about Works of Art, 1998.
Announcement, Still Life and Other Poems by Julian Bell, 1987.
Announcement, Thirteen Views of Santa Barbara by Edgar Bowers, 1989.
Two lists of books in print, n.d.
Prospectus, Twelve Poems by Eamon Grennan, 1988.
Announcement, Sunday Collection, n.d.
Announcement, The Alphabetum Romanum by Felice Feliciano of Verona, 1961.
Booklet, Brindabella Press: The Name Regained and Other News, 1992.
Prospectus, Iris in Her Garden: Eight Stories by Barbara Hanrahan, 1991.
Prospectus, Smiling in English, Smoking in French: A Journal by Geoff Page, 1987.
Prospectus, The Idyll Wheel: Cycle of a Year at Bunyah, New South Wales, April 1986 – April 1987 by Les A. Murray with wood engravings by Rosalind Atkins, 1989.
Prospectus, The Palace with Several Sides: A Sort of Love Story by Christina Stead with wood engravings by Mike Hudson, 1986
Prospectus, The Sea Poems of Kenneth Slessor with wood engravings by Mike Hudson, 1990
List, Publications from 1973 to 1989 of the Officina Brindabella with a note on the beginnings of the press, 1989.
Prospectus, Untold Lives: A Sequence of Poems by Rosemary Dobson with a wood engraving by Mike Hudson, 1992
Oxford University Press
Booklet, The Fell Types: What Has Been Done In and About Them, by Harry Carter, 1968.
Announcement, Andromeda Imagined, 1999.
Author List and addenda, 1988.
Announcement, Colonel Heros von Borcke's Journal, 1981.
The Bride Comes to Yellow Sky by Stephen Crane, 1978.
List, books in print, 1980.
The Bookmark newsletter, February 1980.
List of titles, 1980.
Letter from Heritage Book Shop, Los Angeles, California to Special Collections, May 8, 1999
Announcement, The Holy Bible (issued by Heritage Book Shop)
Bio of Barry Moser (issued by Heritage Book Shop)
Letter from Pennyroyal Caxton Press to Special Collections, December 16, 1998
Prospectus, The Holy Bible, 1998
Greeting card with reprinted letter from William Morris, 1980
Announcement, Exhibition of Centenary edition of Huckleberry Finn, 1985
Letter from Blackwell's to Special Collections signed Jack Walsdorf, April 23, 1981
Postcard, Solar in Fyfield Manor near Oxford
Postcard, 14th-century manor house at Fyfield, near Oxford
Letter to subscribers signed Jeffrey Dwyer, October 28, 1985
Prospectus, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, 1985
Prospectus, Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
Letter, "Dear Friends," signed Barry, June 21 1985
Memorandum to "Pennyroyal Friends," signed Jeffrey Dwyer, June 25, 1985
Prospectus, Bestiaire d'amour by Richard de Fournival
Letter to subscribers signed Jeff Dwyer, February 2, 1986
Prospectus, Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank, 1985
Prospectus, Huckleberry Finn, 1985
Letter to subscribers signed Jeffrey P. Dwyer and Elizabeth O'Grady, n.d.
Prospectus, Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Prospectus, Above the Oxbow: Selected Writings by Sylvia Plath, Catawba Press (distributed by Pennyroyal Press)
Prospectus, The Robber Bridegroom by Eudora Welty, 1987
The Pennyroyal Lectures and list of titles
Six from Moser list of titles
Folder containing prospectus and news releases for Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll with illustrations by Barry Moser (University of California Press)
Letter from J.P. Dwyer, Inc., February 9, 1983
Memorandum to Institutional Pennyroyal Friends from Jeffrey P. Dwyer, April 5, 1986
List, Barry Moser's Wood Engraving Blocks (with photocopies of the blocks)
Greeting card, June 21, 1990.
Prospectus for a work by Andrea Markov, 1990.
Keepsake, "Types are designs used as symbols.", 1988.
Perishable Press Limited
Bibliography for the Perishable Press
Prospectus for book no. 123, Art in America by Bobby Byrd, illustrated by David McLimans
Prospectus for book no. 126, Nullity by Kenneth Bernard
Prospectus for book no. 124, Whitman Sampler by Richard Wiley with woodcuts by Jim Lee, 1999
Announcement, Whitman Sampler selected for inclusion in The American Institute of Graphic Arts 50 Books/50 Covers of 1999 exhibition
Leaflet with text beginning "On page 27 of Nullity."
Prospectus, George Bernard Shaw: Eight Interviews by Hayden Church
Prospectus, From Snow to Snow by Robert Frost with photographs by B.A. King
Announcement, Duino Elegies by Rainer Maria Rilke
Announcement, The Gettysburg Address, 1988
Announcement, The Ascent of Mount Ventoux: A Letter from Petrarch with a wood engraving by John DePol, 1989
Keepsake, "A Franklin Calendar for Printers." Lanston Monotype Machine Company. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1956. Printed by John Anderson: The Pickering Press.
Announcement, "You are invited to attend the 4th annual book arts workshop…" 1984
Booklet, "Types," 1956
Plain Wrapper Press
Plain Wrapper Press Newsletter: One. From Richard-Gabriel Rummonds. Verona, Italy, December 1974.
Keepsake, "A Street Scene in Verona," 1978
Keepsake, "Some events relating to the English typefounder of the early seventeen- hundreds, and an opinion by him." Printed for distribution among The Typophiles by The Platen Press, Orinda, California, 1948.
Keepsake, "Four Monometer Poem Bookmarks," 1978
Keepsake, "Some Doubts in Translating," Arthur Graham, 1973
Broadside, "A Printer's Progress" by A. Graham
Pony X Press
Notepaper, "Join the Knot Hole Gang…"
Broadside, "Marshall White welcome to the Pony X Press," framed