The Division of Special Collections is located on the fourth floor west of Ellis Library, the main library for the Columbia campus. More information
Using Special Collections
Special Collections provides a variety of services to MU students, faculty and staff. Services are available to all researchers and scholars not affiliated with the University of Missouri as well. Get started
JD Grahame Cracker Press
Prospectus, The Lottery by Shirley Jackson, 1991.
Prospectus, Picasso by Gertrude Stein. 2 copies.
James the Printer
Prospectus, Notes on the History of the Elston Press of Clarke Conwell and Helen Marguerite O'Kane, 1900-1905 by Herbert H. Johnson, 1997. Two copies.
1979 Janus Press checklist.
Some books available from the Janus Press (n.d.)
The Janus Press checklist of Publications, 1980
Prospectus, The Circus of Dr. Lao, 1983.
Broadside, "Géométrique" by Nicole Brossard, 1999.
Brochure, "A Jargon Society Checklist, 1951-1979"
Brochure, "Joyfull News Out of the Newfounde World," 1975
Joshua Heller Rare Books
Card, Catalogue One
Booklet, "Herb Marsden and the Red Barn Press," n.d.
Prospectus, Just Such a Time: Recollections of Childhood on the Texas Frontier, 1858-1867, by J.M. Carroll with woodcuts by Barbara Whitehead.
Invitation, An American Memorial to Keats, n.d., with response card.
King Library Press
The King Library Press: 30 Years, 1956-1986.
Prospectus, 37, avenue Samson, Cimitière Montmartre by Guy Davenport.
Announcement, Twenty-Five Years of Typography and Book Design in the Middle West, 1981
Announcement, Two Talks on Books and Printing, 1981
Biographical notes on Victor Hammer.
Booklet, Type Faces of King Library Press, 1983
Brochure, Seminar in Graphic Design at the King Library Press, 1980.
Business card, Joan Davis, Press Assistant
Card, Christmas 1981
Folder, King Library Press Workshop
Invitation, Exhibition opening for Victor Hammer: Artist and Craftsman, 1982
Invitation, University of Kentucky Library Associates annual dinner, 1983
Keepsake, "Andreas the Chaplain and Troubadour…", 1983
Keepsake, "Don't expect much," 1980
Keepsake, "It is a myth…" 1984
Keepsake, "John Jacob Niles," 1983
Keepsake, "Jottings" by Chris Newbery, 1983
Keepsake, "Observation," 1983
Keepsake, "Plastic Surgery" by Michael Rice, 1983
Keepsake, "Summer Storm" by Alan T. Mickel, 1983
Keepsake, "The Art of Printing Books," 1977
Keepsake, "The following five excerpts…", 1981
Keepsake, "Via Liverpool – by first packet-ship to New York…", 1979
Keepsake, a woodcut print from the Victor Hammer collection
Labels, W. Hugh Peal Collection
Poster, Victor Hammer Centennial, 1981
Program, Dedication of the W. Hugh Peal Collection
Program, Dedication of the W. Hugh Peal Collection, 1982
Program, University of Kentucky Library Associates Annual Meeting, 1984
Program, University of Kentucky Library Associates annual meeting, 1983
Proof copy? "Victor Hammer's Engravings and Woodcuts," not illustrated
Prospectus and specimen page, On the Cliffs by Algernon Swinburne, 1981
Prospectus, "A type face produced from punches designed and cut by Victor Hammer…"
Prospectus, "The Pride of Peter Prim," 1978
Prospectus, On the Cliffs by Algernon Swinburne, 1981.
Prospectus, Rabinal: An Ancient Mayan Play of the Guatemalan Quiche Indians, 1988.
Prospectus, The Kikkuli Text on the Training of Horses
Prospectus, Victor Hammer: Artist and Printer, 1981.
Sample illustration, On the Cliffs by Algernon Swinburne, 1981
Print with human figures spelling Tuska, 1994
Program, Kentucky Academy of Science Banquet, 1980
Keepsake, "Charge of the Mule Brigade," printed by Bruce Halsted, 1983
Broadside, "The King Library Press," framed
Proof sheets on newsprint with various poems, 1981 (3 sheets)
Proof sheet from publication about constellations
Broadside, "The Historian Editor," 1979
Knopf, Alfred A.
Prospectus, The Shirley Letters from the California Mines, 1851-1852, 1949.
Prospectus, The Shaping of Our Alphabet (n.d.)
Koch, Peter Rutledge
Prospectus, Unsought Intimacies: Poems of 1991 by Thom Gunn with etchings by Theophilus Brown, 1993.
Prospectus, Four Odes One Song: Poems by Pablo Neruda.
Letter to Division of Special Collections signed Richard Bigus, May 23, 1991.
Exhibition invitation, American Type Designers and Their Work, November 3, 1947 – February 27, 1948.
Checklist, summer 1986.
Prospectus, Two Journal Pieces by Walter Hamady.
List of Larkspur Press publications (n.d.)
Invitation, publication party to honor Encounter by Thomas Merton and D.T. Suzuki, November 4, 1988.
Announcement, Larkspur Twenty-Five, 1998
Announcement, reading by Burton Milward and Richard Taylor, 1990
Announcement, reading by Richard Taylor, 1991
Announcement, Workshops on Bookbinding and Decorative Papers, 1997
Announcement, Kathleen Kelly exhibition, 1998
Book list, 1986?
Book list, starting with August Blue by Guy Davenport
Book list, starting with Gardencourt by Frederick Smock
Book list, starting with Still Life with Watermelon by Bobbie Ann Mason
Book list, starting with The Dragon Who Never Sleeps by Robert Aitken
Booklet, Larkspur Press publications
Bookmark, "…most keen judges incline to think…"
Bookmark, "April," 1999
Bookmark, "If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need," 1998
Bookmark, "Invitation to a Bookshop" on cream paper, 1989
Bookmark, "Invitation to a Bookshop" on mustard-colored paper, 1989
Bookmark, "January Haiku", 1997
Bookmark, "Nothing in education is as astonishing…"
Bookmark, "Still trying to finish the poem I began last year"
Announcement, "Presented by the Kentucky Humanities Council…", 1991
Card, "Wishing You Peace and happiness throughout the coming year"
Card, Riverbend Farm Lincoln Logwoods
Announcement for Kathleen Middleton retrospective, 1986
Announcement for Poor Richard's Bookstore, 1983
Advertisement, Treadle Works, Frankfort, KY
Brochure, Publications from Larkspur Press with type samples
Business card, Treadle Works, Frankfort, KY
Card, Christmas 2000
Card, Christmas Tree with "Season's Greetings"
Card, Merry Christmas Happy New Year
Card, Season's Greetings
Card, with note from Gary Zeitz, 1998
Invitation, Publication party for Encounter by Thomas Merton and D.T. Suzuki, 1988
Invitation, publication party for Horse Fables by Susan Richards, 1987
Invitation, Reading by Steve Sanfield, 1998
Letter, from G. Zeitz, 1988
Letter, from G. Zeitz, 1989
Letter, G. Zeitz to J. M. White, 1997
Letter, G. Zeitz to J. M. White, 2001
Letter, G. Zeitz to J. M. White, n.d.
Letter, G. Zeitz to J.M. White, 1986
Letter, G. Zeitz to Melanie, n.d.
Letter, G. Zeitz to the Whites, 1984
Letter, G. Zetiz to J. M. White, 1996
Magazine article: Garr, Robin. "Man of Letters." Louisville Magazine, February 1999. Computer printout from online magazine.
Magazine article: Godbey, Marty. " Kentucky's Gutenberg: Gray Zeitz prints only the books he likes, in a way and a place he likes." Kentucky Living (March 1997): 46+.
Newspaper clipping about Gray Zeitz
Newspaper clipping, "Hand labor gives printer freedom of the press," Lexingon Herald-Leader (20 July 1997): J1.
Postcard, "Postcard to Kentucky", 1995
Postcard, "The Day a Grasshopper Ate a Pig," 1988
Postcard, Cedar Creek Community School Square Dance, 1988
Postcard, G. Zeitz to J.M. White, 1983
Postcard, The Farm by Wendell Berry
Printout, "Larkspur Press: A Descriptive Bibliography"
Program, Governor's Awards in the Arts, 1987
Proof sheets, starting with p. 33, "Strings of Jewels for Bohisattvas" (6 sheets)
Prospectus, "Last Gift" by Doc Dachtler (Broadside #14)
Prospectus, "On April 24, Richard Taylor…"
Prospectus, A Guide to the Four-Chambered Heart by John Haines
Prospectus, A Mute Circle of Shine by Carolyn Whitesel
Prospectus, A Simple Human Motion by Jeff Worley, 2000
Prospectus, American Zen by a Guy Who Tried It by Steve Sanfield, 1994
Prospectus, August Blue by Guy Davenport
Prospectus, Fast Signing Mute by James Baker Hall
Prospectus, Gardencourt by Frederick Smock, 1997
Prospectus, Homeplace by Charles Semones
Prospectus, Horse Fables by Susan Richards, 1989
Prospectus, In One Year and Out the Other by Steve Sanfield, 1999
Prospectus, No Known Pattern: Twelve Poems on the Sewing Arts
Prospectus, No Land Where I Have Traveled: A Kentucky Poem by Logan English
Prospectus, Reminiscences of 'Aunt Betty' Hummons, 1999
Prospectus, Sabbaths 1987 by Wendell Berry
Prospectus, Sonata at Payne Hollow by Wendell Barry
Prospectus, Stone Eye by Richard Taylor, 2002
Prospectus, The Dragon Who Never Sleeps by Robert Aitken, 1990
Prospectus, The Eye is Not Enough: On Seeing and Remembering
Prospectus, The Farm by Wendell Barry
Prospectus, The Farm by Wendell Barry, with booklist on back
Prospectus, The Good Life by Frederick Smock, 2000
Prospectus, The Life Horse by Susan Starr Richards, 2005?
Prospectus, The Life of Zeno translated by Barry Magid, 1996
Prospectus, The Medusa by Guy Davenport, 1984
Prospectus, The Rain Begins Below by Steve Sanfield
Prospectus, Turnabout by Leon V. Driskell and Sue Terry Driskell
Prospectus, William 'King' Solomon 1775-1854 by Burton Milward, 1990
Prospectus, With Jazz by Bobbie Ann Mason
Invitation to a book signing at Poor Richard's Books, 1983'
Postcard, "The Frankfort Arts Foundation will present Walter Tevis…", 1983
Announcement, "The Frankfort Arts Foundation… will present James Still…", 1982
Announcement, Portland: The Land, The River, and the People exhibition, 1983
Invitation, Handprinting in Kentucky exhibition, Portland Museum, 1985
Announcement for Heartlands exhibit by Kathleen Middleton, 1983. Signed by the artist.
An Unpsychological Dictionary, 1953.
Books from Libanus Press, 1987.
Library of Congress
Printed on Vellum: A Selection of Books from the Lessing J. Rosenwald Collection, exhibition at the Library of Congress, 1977.
Card, An invitation to join the Friends of the Lilly Library
Lime Rock Press
Catalog, Private Press and Illustrated Books, 1984. Two copies.
Pre-Publication announcement, Mimbres Designs: An Interpretation by Fred Kabotie, 1981.
Letter to Division of Special Collections, January 1982.
Prospectus, Mimbres Designs by Fred Kabotie.
Price list and order form.
Prospectus, Lagharne with text by Dylan Thomas and photographs by Tyntje van Ness Seymour.
Prospectus, Niños, exhibition portfolio with photographs by Bob Schalkwijk and captions by Nina Lincoln.
Prospectus, Acoma, exhibition portfolio with photographs and text by Tryntje van Ness Seymour.
Prospectus, Red Cloud, with text passages by Willa Cather and photographs and introduction by Gabriel North Seymour.
Letter to Division of Special Collections signed W.N. Seymour, October 1980.
Limited Editions Club
Letter to subscribers signed Helen Macy, November 14, 1962.
Advance listing, Thirty-Third Series, 1964-1965.
Letter to subscribers signed Helen Macy, September 24, 1965.
Advance listing, Thirty-Fourth Series, 1965-1966.
Advance listing, Thirty-Fifth Series, 1966-1967.
Letter to subscribers signed Helen Macy, September 20, 1966.
Advance listing, Thirty-Sixth Series, 1967-1968.
Letter to subscribers signed Helen Macy, October 23, 1967.
Letter to subscribers signed Jonathan Macy, October 7, 1968.
Letter to subscribers signed Jonathan Macy, November 17, 1969.
Letter to subscribers signed Jonathan Macy, February 2, 1970.
Advance listing, Thirty-Ninth Series, 1971.
Letter to subscribers signed Jonathan Macy, March 3, 1971.
Letter to subscribers signed Jonathan Macy, April 28, 1971.
Letter to subscribers signed Charles C. Tillinghast, March 31, 1972.
Letter to subscribers signed Gordon Carroll, December 7, 1972.
Keepsake card, "Books are a guide in youth." (outside); "The Limited Editions Club, 1973" (inside).
Letter to subscribers signed Gordon Carroll, March 26, 1973.
Advance listing, Forty-First Series, 1973-1974.
Letter to subscribers signed Gordon Carroll, April 27, 1973.
Letter to subscribers signed Gordon Carroll, June 21, 1973.
Letter to subscribers signed Gordon Carroll, June 13, 1974.
Advance listing, Forty-Second Series, 1974-1975.
Letter to subscribers signed Gordon Carroll, May 12, 1975.
Advance listing, Forty-Third Series, 1975-1976.
Letter to subscribers signed Gordon Carroll, July 29, 1976.
Letter to subscribers signed Sidney Shiff, January 31, 1979.
Keepsake card, "Books are the depositary of every thing that is most honourable to man." (outside); "May this year bring every thing within your reach, from the directors of the Limited Editions Club" (inside).
Keepsake card, "Gentlemen look more like gentlemen when fine books are spread out in rich magnificence before them" (outside); "May all the good things of life be spread in rich magnificence before you in the coming year, The Limited Editions Club" (inside).
Broadside, "The Theory of Books is Noble," 1957
Announcement, NAPA: The Roots and Springs of the Valley by Ursula K. LeGuin with photographs by Michael Mundy.
Announcement, Apology for Bad Dreams by Robinson Jeffers with photographs by Michael Mundy.
Announcement, The Fates of Rocks and Trees by Gary Snyder with photographs by Michael Mundy.
Announcement, Shine, Perishing Republic by Robinson Jeffers with photographs by Michael Mundy.
Prospectus, More Printing for Theater: A Portfolio of Ephemera designed and printed by Adrian Wilson.
Prospectus, Con Amore Valenti Angelo: A Bibliography, 1971-1982. Two copies.
Notice to the subscribers for Con Amore Valenti Angelo, June 30, 1992.
Notice to the subscribers for Con Amore Valenti Angelo, September 30, 1992.
Logan Elm Press and Papermill
Prospectus, OSU Creative Writing Program Keepsake Series, 1933-94.
Prospectus, German Incunabula in the British Museum, 1928
Prospectus, German Incunabula in the British Museum, with an extract from a review in the Times Literary Supplement, 1928
Prospectus, Goya vol. 1, 1928
Prospectus, Paracas: A Contribution to the Study of Pre-Incaic Textiles in Ancient Peru, 1928
Prospectus, Poisons and Poisoners by C. J. S. Thompson
Prospectus, The Spanish 'Brunet'
Prospectus, The Story of Old English Glass Pictures 1690-1810, 1928
Many Names Press
Prospectus, The Woodcuts of Andrea Rich.
"Casey at the Bat," printed for the friends of the Marchbanks Press, Christmas 1954.
Prospectus, Eight Poems by Margo Lockwood, 1982.
Announcement, The Dripping Faucet: Fourteen-Hundred and Fifty-Eight Tiny, Tedious and Terrible Tales by Edward Gorey, 1989.
Prospectus, The Watercolours and Drawings of Thomas Bewick and His Workshop Apprentices
Michael Vinson Publishers
Announcement, Pacific Overland Narratives, Number 1: The Gold Rush Overland Journal of Edward C. Harrow, 1849.
Mosher, Thomas Bird; Press of
An Exhibition of Books from the Press of Thomas Bird Mosher, from the Collection of Norman H. Strouse, Free Library of Philadelphia, January 16 – March 12, 1967.