The Division of Special Collections is located on the fourth floor west of Ellis Library, the main library for the Columbia campus. More information
Using Special Collections
Special Collections provides a variety of services to MU students, faculty and staff. Services are available to all researchers and scholars not affiliated with the University of Missouri as well. Get started
Five Trees Press
Announcement, Crocus/Sprouting by Jane Rosenthal; Eva Awakening by Jaime Robles; and The Poet & the Dancer by H.D.
Flying Fish Press
Prospectus, Correspondence Course by Nance O'Banion, 1993.
Flying Sugar Press
Prospectus, Song of Songs with illustrations by Yaron Livay
Keepsake, "A few words on the type of William Morris," 1981
Keepsake, "Two Poems" by Reginald Bunthorpe / "Two Decalets" by Archibald Grosvenor, 1978
Keepsake, "Textus de ecclesia Roffensi,"1986
Prospectus, Desert Dreams by Lawrence G. Van Velzer with illustrations by Peggy Gotthold (small orange copy).
Prospectus, Desert Dreams by Lawrence G. Van Velzer with illustrations by Peggy Gotthold (large copy).
Prospectus, The Man in Asbestos: An Allegory of the Future by Stephen B. Leacock with illustrations by Peggy Gotthold.
Prospectus, The Tower of the Winds, 2002.
Booklet, hardcover, B. Franklin, 1706-1790.Being a collection of ageless quotations marking important events in the life and times of Benjamin Franklin, and in the history of the United States of America. New York: Privately Printed, 1956. Colophon: "This keepsake is the cooperative work of these friends of Printing Week in New York, 1956: The designer is Lewis F, White, The Privy Council Press, New York; the illustrator is John DePol, The Privy Council Press, New York; The Typographer is Chas. D. O'Brien, Inc., New York; The printer is Ajay Printing Service, New York; electrotypes from Reilly Electrotype Company, New York; the binder is Publisher's Book Bindery, Inc., New York; text paper is White Linweave Text, plate finish and cover is Ivory Linweave Text plate finish and Dark Blue wove from Linweave, Springfield, Massachusetts."
Booklet, hardcover, The Way to Wealth: Preface to Poor Richard Improved, 1758 by Benjamin Franklin. New York: Privately Printed, 1953. Colophon: This keepsake is the cooperative work of these friends of the Printing Week project: The designer is Lewis F. White, L.F. White Company, New York; The illustrator is John DePol, L.F. White Company, New York; The typographer is M.J. Baumwell, M.J. Baumwell, Typography, New York; The printer is Ajay Printing Service, New York; the binder is Russell-Rutler Company, New York. White Pastelle Smooth and Imperial. Blue Cover by Strathmore."
Booklet, hardcover, B. Franklin – Inventor. New York: Privately Printed, 1960. Colophon: This keepsake is the cooperative work of these friends of the Printing Week project: The format designed by Lewis F. White, Privy Council Press, New York; the illustrations are wood engravings by John DePol, of the Privy Council Press, New York; Typesetting by M.J. Baumwell, Typography; printed by Tri-Arts Press, Inc.; binding by the Fisher Bookbinding Co., Inc.; the text paper is White Colophon and the cover in Midnight Blue Tweed-weave text from the Curtis Paper Company, Delaware."
Booklet, hardcover, B. Franklin, Wit. New York: Privately Printed, 1957. Colophon: This keepsake is the cooperative work of these friends of the Printing Week project: The format designed by Lewis F. White, Privy Council Press, New York; the illustrations are wood engravings by John DePol, of the Privy Council Press; Typesetting by The Composing Room, Inc.; Printed by Ajay Printing Service, Inc.; Electrotypes by Reilly Electrotype Co.; Engravings for front and back cover by Lafayette Photo Engraving Corporation; Binding by Russell-Rutler Company, Inc.; Text paper is White Colophon & the cover is Gray Tweed-weave text from Curtis Paper Company, Delaware."
Announcement, The Themersons and the Gabberbocchus Press – An Experiment in Publishing, 1948-1979, published by MJS Books & Graphic and Jan Kubasiewicz, October 1993
List of Gehenna Press Books, 1967.
Postcard, Announcement for catalogue of the Gehenna Press, postmarked 1992.
Prospectus, A Primer of Birds: 30 Poems by Ted Hughes with 6 woodcuts by Leonard Baskin.
List of publications, "The Gehenna Press is pleased to announce its reconstitution as an active press."
Catalogue, "Gehenna and Eremite Press MCMLXXXIX Two New Books of Literary Interest."
The Gehenna Press & The Eremite Press Addendum to 1988 catalogue.
Catalogue, "The Gehenna Press is pleased to announce its continuation as an active press, and to announce the establishment of its subsidiary the Eremite Press."
Prospectus, The Presumptions of Death by Anthony Hecht with woodcuts by Leonard Baskin, 2 copies.
Prospectus, Fancies, Bizarreries & Ornamental Grotesques by Leonard Baskin, Gehenna Press & Eremite Press. 2 copies.
Gehenna Press catalogue, 1992.
Prospectus, Flevronologia: Divers Etchings Formed from Flevrons by Leonard Baskin, 1996.
Prospectus, Death Masks by Stuart Denenberg with etchings by Leonard Baskin.
Prospectus, Zapf's Civilité Disclosed by Herman Zapf.
Stock List, "A thing of beauty is a joy forever," n.d.
Catalogue, "British Private Press Books: A Special Selection for Connoisseurs," n.d.
Catalogue, "British Private Press Books: Chefs-d'oeuvres of Printing for Bibliophiles," n.d.
Prospectus, A Tribute to Edwin Grabhorn and the Grabhorn Press by James D. Hart, Friends of the San Francisco Public Library, 196
Keepsake booklet, The Closing of the Doves Press: A letter from Cobden- Sanderson with a preface by David Magee. Keepsake to commemorate exhibition of Cobden-Sanderson bindings at Stanford University Libraries, 1969.
Postcard, "Announcing Bathsheba on the Third Day by Jane Greer, Published by the Cummington Press: November, 1986"
Prospectus, Bustin's Island by Lewis Warsh, 1996
Postcard, announcement for Firebird by Paul Metcalf, collaboration of Chax Press of Tucson, Arizona, and Granary Books
Greenhouse Review Press
Prospectus, Nine Days: New York by Gary Young, 1991.
Prospectus, My Brother's in Wyoming by Gary Young, n.d.
Prospectus, A Throw of the Dice Will Never Abolish Chance by Stéphane Mallarmé, n.d.
Announcement, Culp by William H. Gass.
Catalogue, 1985. 2 copies.
Prospectus, Sacred Weather by Ann Lauterbach.
Grey Spider Press
Prospectus, The Gates of Night: Six Songs from the Noh, translated by Yassuhiko Moriguchi and David Jenkins
Prospectus, The Book of Craving by Janet Rodney, 1997
Keepsake, a winter tale by Jules Remedios Faye
Prospectus, Apocrypha: Poems by Melinda Mueller
Prospectus, Excerpts from a Family Medical Dictionary by Rebecca Brown
Keepsake, "On the far side of the world." 1999
Prospectus, Talking with Raven: Poems by Clifford Burke
Postcard, "The Only Time We Have New Poems," postmarked 2003
Prospectus, Giraldus Cambrensis: Itinerary through Wales, 1989.
List of publications, 2002.
Invitation to luncheon for book Bertha S. Goudy: First Lady of Printing.
The Ulster-Irish Society Award to Frederic W. Goudy. 2 copies.
Prospectus, Irish Historical Broadsides.
Andrews, Duncan. Tally Ho! 400 Years of Foxhunting. Books, Manuscripts, Prints and Drawings from the Collection of Duncan Andrews. An Exhibition at the Grolier Club, December 10, 1975 – January 17, 1976.
How, Louis. "Pan: Three Sonnets." 1928.
—–. "Four Minute Love Poems." 1928.
—–. "Cherry Hill." 1930.
—–. "Avenue A." 1930.
—–. "Gramercy Park." 1930.
—–. "The Tenderloin." 1930.
—–. "The Battery." 1930
Prospectus, On Creation by Edgar Mansfield. 2 November 1980.
Announcement and prospectuses, All Souls by Kathleen Norris and Four Poets/Poems by Anania, Hawks, Shapiro and Swann.
Bibliography of limited edition works with text, 1960-1993.
Announcement and prospectuses, An Ark of Stars by Rose Ausländer and From a Backward Glance Oe'r Travel'd Roads by Walt Whitman.
The Modern Chappel Movement, 1957.
Ancient Customs used in a Printing-House, 1952.
Prospectus, A Portrait of Home.
Articles about A Portrait of Home from The Kansas City Times and Chicago Tribune.
The Works. Catalogue Raisonné of major works. November 1, 2013.
Announcement, Between Ice Ages.
Hiersoux, Powers, Thomas
Announcement and prospectus, Mulberry Women, a poem by Robert Kelly, 1982.
Letter soliciting membership in Hoc Volo Club.
Prospectus, English Country Traditions by Ian Niall with wood engravings by Christopher Wormell.
Prospectus, Early Italian Writing-Books, Renaissance to Baroque by Stanley Morrison.
Prospectus, Herbs and the Earth: An Evocative Excursion into the Lore and Legend of Our Common Herbs by Henry Beston.
Prospectus, The Pursuit of Happy Results: Barry Spann and the Making of Twenty-Seven Landscapes by Emily Anderson.
Prospectus, Birds and Beasts by William Jay Smith, with woodcuts by Jacques Hnizdovsky.
Prospectus, The "Cimelio" of Bodoni: Facsimile of a "Unicum."
"A Note about Huckleberry Press."
Announcement, Leatherneck Square, Poems by Richard Schulze.
Letter to Division of Special Collections signed John Balkwill, March 20, 1991.
Announcement, The Sea Bird: Poems by Keith Douglas.
Announcement, Nineteen-Fourteen: Poems of Rupert Brooke.
Announcement, broadside featuring a quotation from the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius.
Large announcement, Leatherneck Square: Poems by Richard Schulze.
Two lists of titles in print.
Announcement, The Hopeless Romantics' History of the World.
Prospectus, Eve's Diary by Mark Twain.
Prospectus, The Masque: A Twentieth-Century Retelling of the Masque of the Red Deathby Maureen Cummins.
List of titles in print and order form, April 18, 1996.
Collector's keepsake of books in print, 1996.
Announcement and keepsake, Phantasies of a Love Thief, 1994.
Prospectus, The Italian Commedia Dell'Arte by Vincent Torre.