Skip to main content

Mary Lago Collection.

Restrictions

Copyright on all correspondence resides with the originator. Correspondence in the collection not written by Mary Lago may be consulted but not photocopied or published without permission from the copyright holder.

The majority of the correspondence collected by Lago is in the form of photocopies. Lago did have possession of a number of original letters, which are marked as such in the inventory. Parts of the collected correspondence are in the form of handwritten or typed notes, some of which are in Lago’s shorthand. Photocopies of correspondence collected by Lago (Forster, e.g.) may be under further restrictions based on instructions of original source.

Box 36. Correspondence.

Correspondence
  • 23 Permissions
  • 24 Reader’s reports for Thompson biography
  • 25 General Correspondence, 1988-2000
  • 26 Thompson related correspondence, 1967-1991
  • 27 Methodist Church Archives, 1987-1999
  • 28 Clifford Culshaw, 1996-1998
  • 29 Simon Kusseff, 1998-1999
  • 30 Richard Symonds, 1982-1998
  • 31 E.P. Thompson and Dorothy Thompson, 1970-2000
  • 32 Dorothy Thompson, 1994-2000
Collected Correspondence
  • 33 A (W.G. Archer; St. John Adcock; John Arlott; Horace Alexander; Leonard Elmhirst, Mosani, Nehrer) 1927,1986
  • 34 Allen and Unwin, 1926-1946
  • 35 Allen and Unwin, 1925-1926 [corr. re: Allen and Unwin,1988]
  • 36 J. D. Anderson, 1910-1918 [corr. re: J.D. Anderson,1976]
  • 37 C. F. Andrews, 1914-1934
  • 38 India letters (“A”). (Includes Amery, Ambed Bar, A.K. Azad), 1931-1941
  • 39 “B” (J. M. Barrie; George Bell; Ernest Benn; L. Buyon to Drinkwater; Edwyn Bevan; Beinicke; Gail Borden), 1911-1932
  • 40 “B” con’t. (F. L. Brayne; Jules Bloch; Edmund Blunden; BBC; Ian Hamilton Benn; Edwyn Bevan; Harcourt Butler; W. Bennett), 1911-1945
  • 41 Bankura College, 1913-1932
  • 42 Lord Bridges
  • 43 “C” (Guy Chapman; R. Collins; Lionel Curtis; Sarotahandra Chatterjee; Amiya Chakravarty; Edmund Candler; Ramananda Chatterjee; Saratchandra Chatterjee; Harindranath Chattopadhyaya, Harold M. C—–?, Jack Collins)
  • 44 William Canton. Bios and pubs
  • 45 William Canton, 1910-1917
  • 46 William Canton, 1910-1911
  • 47 William Canton, 1910-1923
  • 48 William Canton, 1910-1918
  • 49 William Canton, 1918-1926
  • 50 William Canton, 1910-1915

Box 37. Correspondence.

  • 1 W. G. Collingwood
  • 1 “D” misc. (Harihar Das, Maud Driver, Sudlindranath Datta, Walter de la Mere)
  • 2 “E” misc.
  • 4 Lord Godfrey Elton, 1940-1945
  • 5 “F” misc. (Henry Field; Agnes Fletcher; William Fosters; K. Faulkner; J. N. Farquhar; Robert Frost)
  • 6 F. J. Fielden
  • 7 E. M. Forster
  • 8 “G” misc. (J. L. Garnin; Gannett; Graham Greene; Gerald Gould; Geddes)
  • 9 Geoffrey Garratt
  • 10 Robert Graves
  • 11 Victor Gollancz
  • 12 Hogarth Press (Leonard Woolf), 1925-1945
  • 13 “H-I” misc.
  • 14 Storm Jameson, 1926-1944
  • 15 M. R. Jayakar
  • 16 Kingswood School. Richmond College
  • 17 “J-K” misc. (Lockwood; Kipling; H. Kabir; T. Jones)
  • 18 “L” misc. (Lord Lindsay)
  • 19 George Lowther
  • 20 George Lowther
  • 21 Lord Lothian
  • 22 Hugh Lyon
  • 23 Percy Lyon
  • 24 Percy Lyon
  • 25 Percy Lyon
  • 26 Lord Lytton
  • 27 “M” misc.
  • 28 P. Mahalanobis
  • 29 Macmillan
  • 30 Kingsley Martin
  • 31 Methodist correspondence
  • 32 Gilbert Murray
  • 33 George Murray, 1934-1937
  • 34 Nehru and Gandhi, 1935-1940
  • 35 Oxford University Press-India, 1986-1999 [incl. Carrington corresp.; Tagore letters, 1920-1948]
  • 36 “P” misc. (Polak, Panikhar), 1925-1947, 1988
  • 37 R (Reynolds, Richter, Rhys, Raydeu) 1928-1944
  • 38 Publishing agents, 1930-1945 [incl. T. S. Eliot]
  • 39 S. K. Ratcliffe, 1925-1944
  • 40 H.W. Rawlinson, 1933
  • 41 W. G. Rushbrooke, 1912-1925 [re: Rushbrooke, 1995-1996]
  • 42 Dinesh Chandra Sen, 1912-1931 [re: Sen, D.C.S,1969-1976]
  • 43 “S” (incl. Spender exchange, 1925-1946– see permissions folder for corresp. with Lady Spender; Stonier, [Smith, Spalding, Squire, Sassoon, Stewart, Strachey, Sutro, Suhnton, Seal-trans], Spender)
  • 44 V. S. Sastri, 1931-1936
  • 45 Reginald Schaumberg, 1927-1945
  • 46 Scottish Record Office (Lord Lothian)
  • 47 Brajendranath Seal, n.d.

Box 38. Correspondence, Notes and Research Materials.

  • 1 James Smetham, 1910-1911 [re: 1994-1995]
  • 2 H. N. Spalding, 1935-1946
  • 3 A. M. Spencer, 1914-1933
  • 4 “Stonehouse”, 1995-1996
  • 5 “T” (Thomas; Tinker) 1936, 1974
  • 6 Rabindranath Tagore [transcripts]
  • 7 Rabindranath Tagore, EJT to Tagore, 1913-1940
  • 8 Rabindranath Tagore. Review of EJT Rabindranath Tagore: LTW
  • 9 Rabindranath Tagore. EJT Talks with Rabindranath Tagore
  • 10 Rabindranath Tagore. EJT's Tagore notebooks (xerox)
  • 11 Rabindranath Tagore, 1913-1933 [corr. re: 1986],
  • 12 E. W. Thompson, 1923-1924; 1939
  • 13 Robert Vansittart, 1942-1943
  • 14 Vassar, 1920-1929, 1962-1963, 1998
  • 15 “W” misc., 1940-1943
  • 16 W. B. Yeats, 1924
  • 17 Unidentified, 1932
  • 18 Miscellaneous, 1932
  • 19 EJT Family misc. 1927, 1998-1997
  • EJT Family Correspondence.
  • 20 Barbara Sloman, 1996-2000 [EJT’s niece]. Incl. EJT family letters, 1929-1952
  • 21 Elizabeth Thompson to EJT, 1908-1910
  • 22 Frank Thompson, 1909 [re: 1995]
  • 23 J. M. Thompson, 1884-1892
  • 24 Theodosia Thompson, 1934, 1952
  • 25 Theodosia Thompson to EJT, 1918-1919, 1941
  • 26 Elizabeth Thompson to Theodosia Thompson, 1918, 1920
  • 27 EJT to boys, 1940-1945
  • 28 Elizabeth Thompson, 1910-1913
  • 29 Elizabeth Thompson, 1913-1914
  • 30 Elizabeth Thompson, 1911-1916
  • 31 Elizabeth Thompson, 1916-1918
  • 32 Theodosia Thompson, 1921-1922
  • 33 Theodosia Thompson, 1923-1924
  • 34 Theodosia Thompson, 1940-1941
  • 35 Theodosia Thompson, 1918-1930
  • 36 Theodosia Thompson, 1923 (Oxford)
  • 37 Theodosia Thompson, 1931-1939
  • 38 Theodosia Thompson, 1935
  • 39 Theodosia Thompson, 1936
  • 40 Theodosia Thompson to EJT, 1936-1944
  • 41 To EPT from Family. Uncataloged Papers
Notes and Research Material
  • 42 By EJT. Ethical Ideas in India Today, 1942
  • 43 By EJT. Mesopotamian Verses
  • 44 By EJT. Krishna Kumari, 1924
  • 45 By EJT. The Other Side of Midnight
  • 46 By EJT. Mutiny
  • 47 By EJT. Waltham Thicket, 1917
  • 48 By EJT. Atonement
  • 49 By EJT. Three Eastern Plays. Essay on “Suttee”
  • 50 By EJT. Reviews
  • 51 Review of EJT
  • 52 Alien Homage. Draft by EPT. Corresp. EPT & Mary Lago, 1987
  • 53 Amritsar massacre
  • 54 By EJT. Beyond Baghdad with the Leicestershires, 1918

Box 39. Notes and Research Material, Drafts (India's Prisoner).

  • 1 Articles
  • 2 Articles
  • 3 BBC
  • 4 Biographical material
  • 5 Bodleian Lists and Cambridge University Library
  • 6 Books. Notes
  • 7 British Attitudes
  • 8 Chronologies
  • 9 Durbar
  • 10 Films
  • 11 Foreign Office Lists
  • 12 Foreign Policy Association
  • 13 Foreign Policy Association
  • 14 Historians
  • 15 Imperialism and Britain
  • 16 India–Education
  • 17 Indian Attitudes
  • 18 Indian literature–General
  • 19 Indian nationalism
  • 20 India Society Reports, 1911-1917
  • 21 Mesopotamia and Eastern Campaigns
  • 22 Methodism
  • 23 Miscellaneous, 1927, 1988-1997
  • 24 Notes
  • 25 Personal Records
  • 26 Raj novels (Paul Scott)
  • 27 Rhodes Papers
  • 28 Rhodes House Trust
  • 29 Simon Commission Round Table Conference
  • 30 SOAS Papers
  • 31 Theodosia Thompson. BBC Talk to Syria
  • 32 WMMS/SOAS notes
  • 33 Works and reviews of Notes
Drafts ( India’s Prisoner)
  • 34 Photo captions and illustrations
  • 35 Illustrations
  • 36 Before copy edits. TP-114
  • 37 Before copy edits. 115-203
  • 38 Before copy edits. 204-343
  • 39 Before copy edits. 344-484
  • 40 Before copy edits. 485-534
  • 41 Copy edited. Style sheet-frontmatter
  • 42 Copy edited. 1-150

Box 40. Drafts (India's Prisoner).

  • 1 Copy-edited. 151-280
  • 2 Copy-edited. 281-410
  • 3 Copy-edited. 411-590
  • 4 Copy-edited. 591-772
  • 5 Copy-edited. Bibliography and notes
  • 6 Copy-edited. Bibliography and notes
  • 7 Copy-edited. Bibliography and notes
  • 8 Copy-edited. Bibliography and notes
  • 9 Edited notes.
  • 10 Page proofs. “Consolidated and approved proof corrections that went to typesetter.” TP-139
  • 11 Page proofs. “Consolidated and approved proof corrections that went to typesetter.” 140-248
  • 12 Page proofs. “Consolidated and approved proof corrections that went to typesetter.” 249-368
  • 13 Indexer’s copy. 1-103
  • 14 Indexer’s copy. 104-221
  • 15 Indexer’s copy. 222-365
  • 16 Author’s ms. as submitted to UMO press before copy edits. 1-117
  • 17 Author’s ms. as submitted to UMO press before copy edits. 118-263
  • 18 Author’s ms. as submitted to UMO press before copy edits. 264-412
  • 19 Author’s ms. as submitted to UMO press before copy edits. 413-528
  • 20 Author’s ms. as submitted to UMO press before copy edits. 529-notes
  • 21 Ms. as west to production after incorporating author’s editing corrections. TP-152
  • 22 Ms. as west to production after incorporating author’s editing corrections. 153-290
  • 23 Ms. as west to production after incorporating author’s editing corrections. 291-424

Box 41. Drafts (India's Prisoner).

  • 1 Ms. as west to production after incorporating author’s editing corrections. 425-575
  • 2 Ms. as west to production after incorporating author’s editing corrections. 576-690
  • 3 Ms. as west to production after incorporating author’s editing corrections. 691-index
  • 4 Typescript. Preliminaries
  • 5 Typescript. Chapter One
  • 6 Typescript. Chapter Two
  • 7 Typescript. Chapter Three
  • 8 Typescript. Chapter Four
  • 9 Typescript. Chapter Five
  • 10 Typescript. Chapter Six
  • 11 Typescript. Chapter Seven
  • 12 Typescript. Chapter Eight
  • 13 Typescript. Chapter Nine
  • 14 Typescript. Chapter Ten
  • 15 Typescript. Chapter Eleven
  • 16 Typescript. Chapter Twelve
  • 17 Typescript. Chapter Thirteen
  • 18 Typescript. Chapter Fourteen
  • 19 Typescript. Chapter Fifteen
  • 20 Typescript. Chapter Sixteen
  • 21 Typescript. Chapter Seventeen
  • 22 Typescript. Chapter Eighteen
  • 23 Typescript. Chapter Nineteen
  • 24 Typescript. Chapter Twenty
  • 25 Typescript. Chapter Twenty-One
  • 26 Typescript. Chapter Twenty-Two
  • 27 Typescript. Chapter Twenty-Three
  • 28 Typescript. Chapter Twenty-Four
  • 29 Typescript. Endnotes
  • 30 Typescript. Endnotes
  • 31 Typescript. Text corrections
  • 32 Typescript. Bibliography