Skip to main content

Mary Lago Collection.

Restrictions

Copyright on all correspondence resides with the originator. Correspondence in the collection not written by Mary Lago may be consulted but not photocopied or published without permission from the copyright holder.

The majority of the correspondence collected by Lago is in the form of photocopies. Lago did have possession of a number of original letters, which are marked as such in the inventory. Parts of the collected correspondence are in the form of handwritten or typed notes, some of which are in Lago’s shorthand. Photocopies of correspondence collected by Lago (Forster, e.g.) may be under further restrictions based on instructions of original source.

Box 27. Correspondence, Notes and Research Files.

Mary Lago Correspondence
  • 11 Crewe papers [Cambridge]
  • 12 Permissions
  • 13 Merton Sealts, 1996
  • 14 Re: various research possibilities
  • 15 Univ. of Missouri Press (incl. reader's reports)
  • 16 Miscellaneous
  • 17 Publishers, 1989-1991
  • 18 Manchester City Art Gallery. Pre-Raphaelite women Art Exhibition, 1997-1998
  • 19 General Correspondence
  • 20 General Correspondence
  • 21 Correspondence re: illustrations
  • 22 Jean Vernon-Jackson, 1973-2000 [incl. ALS from CH to Wilmot Herringham, 1911]
  • 23 Lord Crawford, 1988
  • 24 Bedford College. Correspondence, photocopies of corr. from Lawrence Powell, ca. 1950
  • 25 Newnham College (Cambridge). Correspondence, 1992-1993 [incl. photos of CH’s paintings at Newnham]
  • 26 Charlotte Fulford, Jenny Hobbs, 1993-2000 [Powell Family]
  • 27 Christopher Witt, 1991; John Witt, 1975-1976 (withdrawing permission)
  • 28 Dorothy Larcher. Correspondence, clippings
  • 29 Ruth Sebag-Montefiore (Spielmann). Correspondence, 1991-1992. Lecture by Sebag-Montefiore on Spielmann family, 1992
Collected Correspondence
  • 30 Wilmot Herringham. Photocopies of WH correspondence, notes
  • 31 CH to William and Alice Rothenstein, 1908-1911 (transcripts)
  • 32 CH to Wilmot Herringham, 1911 (photocopies)
  • 33 CH to Wilmot Herringham, 1911 (transcripts)
  • 34 CH to William and Alice Rothenstein, 1907-1911 (photocopies)
  • 35 CH to William Rothenstein, 1908-1911. (photocopies)
  • 36 CH to Roger Fry. Photocopy, transcript
  • 37 A.K. Coomaraswamy to William Rothenstein, 1910-1915 (photocopies, notes)
  • 38 E.B. Havell. Correspondence from Havell to Rothenstein (copies), articles by Havell, notes
  • 39 CH to Prime Minister of Hyderabad
Notes and Research Material
  • 40 Powell Family memoir
  • 41 Extracts from Letters of Sister Nivedita related to CJH. With Correspondence from Gautam Haldar, 2000; Asit Haldar, 2000. Corrections to Mary Lago's book on CJH
  • 42 Reviews of CHEAS
  • 43 Awards for CHEAS
  • 44 Miscellaneous notes and biographies
  • 45 Illustrations for CHEAS.
  • 46 Wilmot Herringham. Obituary, clippings, notes, correspondence
  • 47 CH. Publications

Box 28. Notes and Research Files, Drafts.

  • 1 Miscellaneous
  • 2 CH. Medical information
  • 3 India Society and Victoria and Albert Museum. Notes
  • 4 India. Notes
  • 5 Ajanta (I). Notes
  • 6 Ajanta (II). Notes
  • 7 Ajanta essays [from Ajanta frescoes: being reproductions in colour and monochrome of frescoes in some of the caves at Ajanta after copies taken in the years 1909-1911 by Lady Herringham and her assistants]
  • 8 Roger Fry. Notes
  • 9 George Birdwood. Royal Society of Arts
  • 10 Chantrey. Notes
  • 11 Collecting. Notes
  • 12 Victor Golabew, Charles Müller
  • 13 India Art. General
  • 14 National Art Collections Fund. Notes
  • 15 National Union of Women's Suffrage Societies. Notes, correspondence
  • 16 Parliament. Notes
  • 17 Royal Academy and National Gallery. Notes
  • 18 South Kensington. Notes
  • 19 Society of Painters in Tempera
  • 20 Velasquez (“Rokeby Venus”). Notes
  • 21 Vogel. Photocopy of diary excerpt
  • 22 Women artists. Notes, articles
  • 23 Miscellaneous notes
  • 24 National Art Collections Fund. Crawford Papers (National Library of Scotland). Transcripts
  • 25 Crawford Papers. Miscellaneous notes
Drafts
Christiana Herringham and the Edwardian Arts Scene 
  • 26 Notes, clean copy
  • 27 Notes, preliminary edited copy
  • 28 Photos, extras or not used
  • 29 Page proofs, 1996
  • 30 Copyedited ms. 1-150.
  • 31 Copyedited ms. 151-300.
  • 32 Copyedited ms. 301-456.

Box 29. Drafts.

  • 1 Original ms. Title-119.
  • 2 Original ms. 120-249.
  • 3 Original ms. 250-bib 10.
  • 4 Page Proofs 1996 (I)
  • 5 Page Proofs 1996 (II)
  • 6 Page Proofs 1996 (III)
  • 7 Drafts with PNF’s notes
  • 8 CH correspondence from the National Gallery. 1895-1906.
  • 9 CH & TEAS correspondence
  • 10 CH & the National Art Collections Fund (for NACF Art Quarterly)
  • 11 Notes to early draft—before revision for UM Press
  • 12 Comparison copy. Preliminaries and preface
  • 13 Comparison copy. Ch. 1
  • 14 Comparison copy. Ch. 2
  • 15 Comparison copy. Ch. 3
  • 16 Comparison copy. Ch. 4
  • 17 Comparison copy. Ch. 5
  • 18 Comparison copy. Ch. 6
  • 19 Comparison copy. Ch. 7
  • 20 Comparison copy. Ch. 8
  • 21 Comparison copy. Bibliography
  • 22 Comparison copy. Notes
  • 23 Author's corrected copy. Preliminaries and preface
  • 24 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 1
  • 25 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 2
  • 26 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 3
  • 27 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 4
  • 28 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 5
  • 29 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 6
  • 30 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 7
  • 31 Author’s corrected copy. Ch. 8
  • 32 Author’s corrected copy. Bibliography
  • 33 Author’s corrected copy. Notes
  • 34 London version (Lund Humphries). Proofs with corrections, 1-129
  • 35 London version (Lund Humphries). Proofs with corrections, 130-310
“Christiana Herringham and the National Art Collections Fund.” Burlington Magazine
  • 36 “Christiana Herringham and the National Art Collections Fund.” Burlington Magazine
  • 37 TMs, “Too long: cut by editor”
  • 38 Typescript
  • 39 Correspondence with Burlington Magazine and page proofs
  • 40 TMs with corrections
  • 41 “Pages with Nick Furbank's cuts and suggestions–removed from Cambridge copy”
  • 42 TMs (this part checked against Crawford papers at Edinburgh, Spring 1992)