Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mary Lago Collection

Box 9. Published Essays.

  • 33 Articles, 1943-1955. (“Missions Make the Headlines,” Christian World Facts, 1943-1944; “Christian Social Worker is Need of a Better World,” Forth, 1946; “Missionaries and Medicine,” Forth, 1946; “I Can't Go Back Again,” The Christian Century, 1952; “Missionary Teachers,” Forth, 1946; “Ambassadors to your Campus,” Motive, 1944; “They Make their Summers Count,” Highroad, 1949; “We Study Latin America,” Lutheran Women's Work, 1942; “Making America's Future,” Highroad, 1943; “Introducing Your Mission Study Book,” Evangelical Missionary World, 1946; “Our Good Neighbor Policy;” “Latin American Study,” Youth Action, n.d.; “Beginning at the Borderline,” The Church Woman, 1942; They Found the Church There,” Lutheran Woman's Work, 1945, Presbyterian Survey, 1945, Evangelical Missionary World, 1945; “Parents, Children Go to Church Together in Columbia,” Forum, 1955; “Books with a Purpose,” The Church Woman, 1945
  • 34 “The New Missionary,” Mademoiselle, 1945; The Woman, 1946. Offprints, correspondence, 1944-1946
  • 35 “The Parting of the Ways: A Comparative Study of Yeats and Tagore,” Indian Literature, 1963. TMs, correspondence [Rpt. in Mahfil, 1966]
  • 36 “Pattern in the Imagery of Jivananda Das,” Journal of Asian Studies, 1965
  • 37 “New Choral Programs at the University of Missouri,” American Choral Review, 1966
  • 38 “Tagore’s Temporal Encounters,” Literature East and West, 1966

Box 10. Published Essays, Book Reviews.

  • 1 “Modern Bengali Poetry” (special issue; ML guest editor) MAHFIL, 1967
  • 2 “Modes of Questioning in Tagore’s Short Stories,” Studies in Short Fiction, 1967
  • 3 “’Re-Vision’ and William Rothenstein,” Bucknell Alumnus, 1968
  • 4 “English Literature and Modern Bengali Short Fiction: A Study in Influences,” DAI, 1970
  • 5 “Rothenstein, Tagore and Bangla Desh,” Cornhill, 1972. TMs, correspondence
  • 6 “The Essential Tagore: Missing Man in South Asian Studies,” The Journal of Commonwealth Literature, 1973. TMs, correspondence [incl. corresp. with Arthur Ravenscroft]
  • 7 “Tagore in Translation,” Books Abroad, 1972. TMs, correspondence
  • 8 “Campus Problems,” The Author, 1974
  • 9 “Ernest S. Thomas and the Burne-Jones Centenary: A Golden Age Revisited,” Apollo, 1974. TMs, correspondence
  • 10 “Restoring Rabindranath Tagore,” Encounter, 1974. TMs, correspondence
  • 11 “Irish Poetic Drama in St. Louis,” Twentieth Century Literature, 1977. TMs, correspondence, notes
  • 12 “Tagore’s Liberated Women,” Journal of South Asian Literature, 1977
  • 13 “The Fictional Character as Stereotype,” Rabindranath Tagore: American Interpretations, 1982. TMs, correspondence.
  • 14 “The Importance of Notes,” The Author, 1983 [alternate titles: “Taking Note,” “The Value of Notes”]. TMs, galley proofs, correspondence
  • 15 “Max Beerbohm,” “Rabindranath Tagore,” Oxford Companion to English Literature, 1983
  • 16 “Remembering Arthur Mendel,” American Choral Review, 1983. TMs, correspondence [inc. 2 TLS from Isaac Stern, 1981]
  • 17 “ A Passage to India on Stage,” TLS, 1985. TMs, correspondence/
  • 18 “E. M. Forster,” Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (Beacham, ed.), 1985. TMs., correspondence
  • 19 “Forster on E. M. Forster,” Twentieth Century Literature, 1985. TMs, galley
  • 20 “Rabindranath Tagore 1861-1941” Barbican Gallery program
  • 21 “E. M. Forster: Novelist as Letter Writer” in Essays on Poetry and Fiction: V.A. Shahane Commemorative Volume, 1988
  • 22 “Edward Burne-Jones: King Cophetua and the Beggar Maid,” International Dictionary of Art & Artists,1990. TMs, correspondence
  • 23 “E. M. Forster and the BBC,” Yearbook of English Studies, 1990
  • 24 “E. M. Forster: Clapham's Child,” Biography, 1991. Correspondence, TMs, proof pages
  • 25 “Christiana Herringham and the National Art Collection Fun,” Burlington Magazine, 1993
  • 26 “Rabindranath Tagore,” “'The Road from Colonus,' by Forster,” Reference Guide to Short Fiction, 1994. TMs., correspondence
  • 27 “Friends of Eric Crozier: A Memorial,” The Opera Quarterly, 1995
  • 28 “Christiana Herringham: A Hand to Help,” Art Quarterly of the NACF, 1996. Correspondence, corrected copy
  • 29 “Visiting Rapallo,” Journal of The Eighteen Nineties Society, 1997. incl. correspondence, 1996-1997
  • 30 “Isabel Allende,” “Ruth Prawer Jhabvala,” Reference Guide to Short Fiction (2 nd ed.), 1998. TMs., correspondence
  • 31 “No Passage from India: William Rothenstein, Tagore and the lost treasures of Temple Avenue,” TLS [Commentary], Apr. 16, 1999. [title in toc: “A lost treasure — William Rothenstein, Tagore and the India Society]. [original title: “[On] Losing History”]. TMs., clipping, correspondence
  • 32 “E.J. Thompson. India’s Prisoner.” TLS, 2000. TMs, corr
  • 33 “Edward John Thompson,” Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, 2004. TMs., correspondence
  • 34 “Charles Conder,” Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, 2004. Correspondence, notes
  • 35 “William Rothenstein.” Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, 2004. TMs, correspondence
  • 36 “Christiana Herringham.” Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, 2004. TMs, correspondence

Book Reviews

  • 37 Rev. of Kabir, Green and Gold: Stories and Poems from Bengal. Studies in Short Fiction, 1966. TMs, correspondence
  • 38 Rev. of Dabbs, Short Bengali-English DictionaryLiterature East and West, 1967.
  • 39 Rev. of The Maharashta PuranaLiterature East and West, 1967.
  • 40 “‘The Bengali Mind’ at Work” (Rev. of Dimock, ed., The Thief of Love and The Place of the Hidden Moon). Literature East and West, 1967.
  • 41 Rev. of Parry, Delusions and DiscoveriesVictorian Studies, 1973.
  • 42 Rev. of Chakravorty, Tagore: His Mind and ArtPacific Affairs, 1973-74.
  • 43 Rev. of Chattopâdhyâya (Chatterji), Le testament de KrishnokantoBooks Abroad, 1974.
  • 44 Rev. of Thatcher, Cambridge South Asian ArchiveJournal of Asian History, 1974.
  • 45 Rev. of Basu, The Tamarind Tree. Books Abroad, 1976.
  • 46 Rev. of Tagore, Later Poems. Books Abroad, 1976
  • 47 Rev. of Surtees, Charlotte Canning. Journal of Asian History, 1976
  • 48 Rev. of Mukherji, Life of Tagore. Journal of Asian Studies, 1977. TMs.
  • 49 Rev. of Roy, Bengali Women. Journal of Asian History, 1977.
  • 50 Rev. of Roy, Subramanya Bharati. Literature East and West, 1977.
  • 51 Rev. of Dayananda, Manohar Malgonkar. WIWE, 1977.
  • 52 Rev. of Chatterjee, Anthology of Modern Bengali Short Stories. WLT, 1979.
  • 53 Rev. of Das, E.M. Forster’s India. WLT, 1979.
  • 54 Rev. of Qureshi, tr. Poèmes mystiques bengalis: Chants bāuls. WLT, 1979.
  • 55 Rev. of Lipsey, Coomaraswamy, vol. III. Journal of South Asian Studies, 1979.
  • 56 Rev. of Lewis, E.M. Forster’s Passage to India. Journal of Asian Studies, 1979-80.
  • 57 Rev. of Bharucha, Rehearsals of RevolutionWLT, 1984.
  • 58 Rev. of Tagore, Selected Poems. TLS, 1985.
  • 59 “Saved by Literature” (Rev. of Edmund Gosse: A Literary Landscape, by Ann Thwaite's .) The American Scholar, 1985. TMs., correspondence

Box 11. Book Reviews, Unpublished Writings, Conference Papers and Lectures, Translations by Mary Lago.

  • 1 “The Ex-Arcadians” (Rev. of The Illustrated Zuleika Dobson, by Max Beerbohm). American Scholar, 1986.
  • 2 “Rabindranath Tagore:1861-1941” Barbican Gallery Exhibition, 1986
  • 3 “Edwardian American” Rev. of Olson’s John Singer Sargent: His Portrait). American Scholar, 1987. TMs, correspondence
  • 4 Rev. of Tagore: A Bibliography. Journal of Asian Thought and Society, 1987.
  • 5 Rev. of Bannerjee, Poetry from Bengal: The Delta Rising. N.p., 1990.
  • 6 Rev. of Seely, A Poet Apart. WLT, 1991.
  • 7 Rev. of Nahal, Salt of Life, WLT, 1992.
  • 8 Rev. of Gupta, Memories of Rain, WLT, 1993.
  • 9 Rev. of Osman, Janani, WLT, 1994.
  • 10 Rev. of Mallabarman, A River Called Titash, WLT, 1995.
  • 11 Rev. of Borland, D. S. MacColl, Painter, Poet, Art Critic. Burlington Magazine, 1995. TMs, correspondence
  • 12 Rev. of Mukhopadhyay, Woodworm, WLT, 1997.
  • 13 “Cinderalla Story,” Rev. of Das, Early Bengali Prose, n.p., n.d.

Unpublished Writings

  • 14 “The White Collar Gets It in the Back,” by Mary Lago and Allean Hale. Script for Fortnightly Club, 1949. TMs, programs
  • 15 “A Study of Rabindranath Tagore as a Bond between East and West.” M.A. Thesis, 1962. Prefaced by note by Mary Lago, 1971.
  • 16 “Praising the Day.” TMs [on Arthur Mendel and Cantata Singers], n.d.
  • 17 “An Englishman, and ardently so: Arthur Henry Fox-Strangways: 1859-1948.” TMs, n.d.
  • 18 “Outside Looking In: A Study in Point of View,” 1966. TMs, notes
  • 19 “The Hidden Half of Indian Fiction,” TMs, n.d.
  • 20 “Rabindranath Tagore: A Mislaid Key to Bangla Desh,” 1971. TMs, correspondence
  • 21 “Maude Allen.” Untitled draft. TMs (app. 30 pp)
  • 22 “Maude Allen and the Raj.” Untitled draft. TMs (40 pp)
  • 23 “Maude Allen and the Raj.” TMs (45 pp), ca. 1990. Rejected by TLS, with corrections
  • 24 “Salome and the Indian Empire” [Maude Allen]. TMs (18pp), ca. 1995

Conference Papers and Lectures

  • 25 “’Purposive’ Literature and Literary Craftsmanship.” Association for Asian Studies, 1972.
  • 26 “Decadence Redeemed: Max Beerbohm Looks at the 1890s,” University of Missouri-Columbia, 29 January 1973. TMs, correspondence
  • 27 “Getting It All Together in Literary Research,” Lincoln University, 1976. TMs, [poster needs to be removed to oversize]
  • 28 “End of an Era: Edmund Burne-Jones in the 1890's,” William Morris Society, Toronto, 1976. TMs, flyer
  • 29 “Writing at Rapallo,” Mary LagoA, 1976. TMs, correspondence [“The Writings of Max Beerbohm,” given in absentia]
  • 30 “Forster's Fictional Stereotypes,” University of Wisconsin-Madison South Asia Conference, 1979. TMs [“Fictional Stereotypes in Novels about India”]
  • 31 “Letter-Perfect Clues to Missing Persons,” Bucknell University, 1980. TMs, correspondence, clippings [“Missing Persons: In Their Letters”]
  • 32 “E.M. Forster and the Art of Travel” [panel chair] Mary Lago, 1981. Correspondence.
  • 33 “The Tourist as Historian: E. M. Forster in India,” Mary LagoA, 1982. TMs.
  • 34 “Rabindranath Tagore, 1861-1941”; “Tagore's Short Fiction,” TMs. Rabindranath Tagore Festival, 1986
  • 35 “On Santha Rama Rau,” Mary LagoA 1989
  • 36 “Passage to India: The Road Not Taken” “E. M. Forster's A Passage to India: Perspectives and Adaptation,” TCU Symposium, March 27-29, 1990. Correspondence, 1987-1990 [posters removed to oversize box]
  • 37 “The Man in the Middle: Edward J. Thompson,” Commonwealth Institute Lecture Series, London, 1990. TMs., correspondence
  • 38 “Tagore for the Twenty-First Century;” “Teaching Bengal a Lesson” The Rabindranath Tagore Festival, Urbana, IL, 1990. TMs, flyer [oversize], correspondence.
  • 39 “Ironies In and Of Tagore's Short Stories,” South Asian Centre [Cambridge], 1992. TMs.
  • 40 “E. M. Forster and the 'Song Not without Words,” Benjamin Britten Festival, University of Maryland, 1993. TMs
  • 41 “E. M. Forster's India on Record,” Indian High Commission Lecture Series, Nehru Centre, London, 1994. TMs., flyer [see also correspondence: Gopal Gandhi]
  • 42 “A Hop Ahead of History: Hazards of Literary Research,” University of Missouri-Columbia, 1997. TMs., correspondence [Curator’s Award for Scholarly Excellence]
  • 43 “Editing as Biography,” n.d, Wichita State Univ. Library
  • 44 “E. M. Forster's India on Record,” University of Missouri-Columbia. TMs
  • 45 “Gilberto/Tom Dimitroff: Please tell us something about Forster,” St. Edward's College, n.d. TMs

Translations by Mary Lago

  • 46 Trans. of Das, “Five Poems.” Literature East and West, 1964
  • 47 Trans. of Das, “Nine Poems.” Beloit Poetry Journal, 1965
  • 48 Trans. of Tagore, “Two Poems from Kshanika.” Hindusthan Standard, 1965
  • 49 Trans. of Tagore, “Rashmoni’s Son.” Chicago Review, 1966
  • 50 Trans. of B. Bose, “The Family.” Mahfil, 1966
  • 51 Trans. of Bhattacharyya, “Chilimpur Landing” Poetry Bag, 1966
  • 52 Trans. of J. Das, “Like a Match”; “In this World” East-West Review, 1966
  • 53 Trans. of B. Bose, “A Life.” Hindusthan Standard, 1967