It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Division of Special Collections is located on the fourth floor west of Ellis Library, the main library for the Columbia campus. More information
Using Special Collections
Special Collections provides a variety of services to MU students, faculty and staff. Services are available to all researchers and scholars not affiliated with the University of Missouri as well. Get started
Series Three – Works and Manuscripts contains the writings of Wilson from his days as a student to his later plays.
Series Three is further divided into three Sub-Series:
Sub-Series One – Prose and Poetry represents some of Wilson's earliest literary work and it is arranged alphabetically by genre and title of work. Included in this Sub-Series is a class essay from Southwest Missouri State College.
Sub-Series Two – Plays consists of play and screenplay drafts (a play in its most rudimentary forms which is closest to its creative inception), scripts (a more established form of the play), performance scripts (a finalized version, often printed or duplicated, of the script used when the play is being brought to the stage; included in this distinction are rehearsal scripts, agent scripts, reading scripts, etc.), publication proofs, and published scripts. This Sub-Series includes multiple copies and multiple versions of many of Wilson's plays, and many of these documents manifest Wilson's changes and annotations throughout. After around 1997 much of Wilson's editorial work was done on computer and printouts of these electronic files are integrated into the type written documents. These works are arranged alphabetically by the name of the play. The Sub-Series also includes librettos.
Sub-Series Three – Notebooks contains discrete notebooks serving a variety of purposes for Wilson. Sometimes the notebooks contain early drafts of plays or parts of plays or notes about a play or other work. Few titles are assigned by Wilson to the notebooks and not many are dated. Some of the notebooks contain not only writings but also drawings. One notebook contains miscellaneous notes in French and drawings, its origin is unknown.