Skip to main content

Edgar Everett Martin Papers, 1926-1972; 1935-

Martin, Edgar Everett, 1898-1960. Papers, 1935-

MU Ellis Special Collections Comic Collection 4

3.8 cubic feet

Scope and Contents Note

Included in the Edgar E. Martin Collection II is material related to Martin and his comic strip Boots and Her Buddies that have been added since the Martin I collection was placed on deposit in 1991 and 1992. Material from a 1992 Boots and Her Buddies exhibit in Ellis Library are in the collection. In conjunction with the exhibit, a catalog, Boots and Her Buddies, was prepared, the text of which was written by Thomas Harris. Copies of the catalog and issues of Cartoonists Profiles in which it was reprinted are in the collection. Clipped daily and Sunday Boots comic strips have been purchased and received as gifts. Many years of Boots and Her Buddies have been copied from microfilm.

Provenance

Items in Edgar E. Martin Collection II have been acquired by purchase and gift. Photocopies of articles about the artist or comic strip have been made for inclusion in the collection.

Box 1

FF 1. Summary of publishing history of Boots and Her Buddies from Stripper's guide: a comic strip index.

References to Edgar Martin and Boots and Her Buddies. Bibliography by Terence Hunley.

Advertisement for Boots and Her Buddies, "High-jinks! High-larity" "Starting Monday in The Observer-Dispatch." Undated.

Advertisement, "A Wish for the Best of Everything in 1950 from Boots and Her Buddies," from the Altoona Mirror (Altoona, PA), Dec. 20, 1949.

FF 2. Articles:

"Boots and Her Buddies – Bootkins – Edgar E. Martin" Celebrity Doll Journal, Year 12 # November 1977 16 p.

"Comics – And Their Creators – Edgar E. Martin" Literary Digest v. 199 #2, January 12, 1935.

Waugh, Coulton. The Comics (Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 1991) p. 173-175

"Boots and Her Buddies 1924-1969" in 100 Years of Newspaper Comics by Maurice Horn New York: Gramercy, 1996 p. 62-63.

Stanley, John and Mal Whyte. The Great Comics Game. Los Angeles, Price, Stern, Sloan. Question 103 relates to Boots. Gift of Ray Snodgrass.

"Popular Comic Strip had MC Roots" from Monmouth College.

"Abe Martin." Lambiek's comiclopedia. September 13, 2002. Found at: http://lambiek.net/artists/m/martin_abe.htm.

FF 3. Exhibit at MU Libraries including brochure Boots and Her Buddies 1992.

FF 4. Martin Family

"Former Associate Dean at MU dies at 68." Columbia Missourian, December 6, 1992, p. 7A. (Thomas Harris, son-in-law of Martin and author of some Boots continuities. Born 12/31/28, died 12/13/92)

Obituary of Thomas Harris. Columbia Daily Tribune, December 6, 1992, p. 2.

Obituary of Sarah M. Cooper (daughter of Martin). Columbia Daily Tribune, May [first week?] 1992.

Obituary of Sarah M. Cooper (daughter of Martin). Columbia Missourian, May 5, 1992, p. 7A.

"Cathartic intentions." (Article about Mary Harris, granddaughter of Martin). Columbia Missourian, February 27, 1994, Sec. G, p. 1.

Boots parody

FF 5-7. Cartoonist Profiles, #101, March 1994. Contains Boots and Her Buddies exhibition brochure prepared by Margaret Howell, Special Collections, University of Missouri Libraries. The text was written by Thomas Harris. (3 copies)

FF 8. Boots Parodies

Upyer Brown Presents Boots in "Love's Labor Lost." in Tijuana Bibles, vol. 7 [Compiled by Brian Hunt, Portland, Or, 1999] photocopy

Boots [and the farmer]. Gift of Margaret Howell

Presenting Boots "Oh Professor" Gift of Margaret Howell

Gertie Smellsnatch Presents Boots in "Too Good." in Tijuana Bibles by Bob Adelman [New York: Simon & Schuser, 1997 p. 25] photocopy

Oliver Droopydrawers Presents Boots in "Hot Panties." Gift of Margaret Howell

FF 9. Boots Merchandise

Pin. Boots and Her Buddies Sweater. Mfgr by Parisian Novelty Co., Chicago, sole licensee. Gift of Margaret Howell.

Trading card – Pug. NEA 1949. Gift of Margaret Howell.

Trading card – Pug. Comic Stars, Inc. New York, 1949. Gift of Ray Snodgrass. Color photocopy.

Puzzle. "Boots and Her Buddies" NEA, 1933. 10"x8" [Shows all the characters]

Puzzle. "Boots and Her Buddies" Akron, Ohio, Saalfield Publishing Co., nd #7339. 11 1/2"x10". [Shows Boots in a swing, Dory, Pug and Davey picnicking in foreground.

Boots and Her Buddies Movie Jecktor movie (projector available in Hamlin II, Box ). Gift of Margaret Howell.

Box 2: Boots and Her Buddies Daily Strips, Newspaper Clippings

Boots and Her Buddies Daily Strips, Newspaper Clippings (not photocopies). Ask for details. Some years are complete or substantially complete.

Box 3: Boots and Her Buddies daily strips. Photocopies from microfilm.

Boots and Her Buddies daily strips. Photocopies from microfilm.

February 23, 1924-October 4, 1924 (Jackson Daily News)

November 4, 1924-December 12, 1924 (Jackson Daily News)

November 1936-June 1937 (Jackson Daily News)

September 1937-December 1947 (Jackson Daily News)

January 1948-October 1950 (Rocky Mountain News)

Box 4

Original Boots and Her Buddies daily strip from Tuesday, September 24, 1940.

Boots and Her Buddies Sunday Strips, Newspaper Clippings (not photocopies). Ask for details. Some years are complete or substantially complete.