Skip to main content

Pages from the Past Collection

Pages from the Past Collection

Available OnlinePages from the Past is a collection of manuscript and rare book leaves compiled and sold by a New York book dealer Alfred W. Stites from 1964 to 1967.

Each set of Pages from the Past is unique. This collection is labeled Set no. I, “The History of the Written Word”. This is version “B” from the Stites’ third “release” of sets. Within the set I it is no.14 of 15 sets. 

Call Number RARE FOLIO Z113 .P3  Box  1-4, Oversized.

This collection can be accessed at the MoSpace Digital Library.

Box I (FF 1- 23)

  1. Box Inventory
  2. Title sheet with limitation statement.
  3. Leaf from a 12th century manuscript, Officium Beate Marie Virginis. By an Italian scribe. This vellum leaf comes from a work of approximately 300 pages from a collection of Lord Berwick of Shrewsbury, England.
  4. Leaf from Registrum Brevium, a legal manuscript dated ca. 1350 which records the judicial proceeding in the reign of King Edward III. Vellum. Latin script looks like Carolingian  miniscule. Red and blue painted initial letters separate the recorded items.
  5. Leaf from the “Sermons” of Simon de Cremona, 1434, from the scriptorium at Carthusian monastery at Buxheim. Scribe Caspar Misnensis finished this writing on the fifth day before the feast of Saint Erasmus the Martyr in 1434. Linen paper.
  6. From a German manuscript on vellum ca. 1450. German Gothic upright script. Blue and red initials.
  7. Leaf from Biblia Latina, an incunabule printed in Venice in 1473 by Reynsburch Reynaldi de Nouvimagio. (32 x 21 cm.)
  8. Petrus Lombardus, Liber Sententiarum, printed in Basel by Nicolaus Kesler of Basel. Double columns of 59 lines, rubrication. Initial letters are hand-painted.
  9. Leaf from Missale Ratisponense, printed in 1500 in Bamberg by Johann Pfeyl. Gothic missal type, thirty-one lines to the page. Paper stained with water. In red: Incipiut cantele … oferratione eucharistie.
  10. Vocabularius Praedicantium sive Variloquus. In Strassburg printed by Georg Husner, 1488.Author Johannes Melber.
  11. Leaf from The Propositions of Aristotle, a book of excerpts in Latin from the writings of Aristotle. Printed in Venice by Joannes and Gregorius de Gregoriis in 1493. (22 x 16 cm.)
  12. Leaf from De Imitatione Christi of Thomas A Kempis, printed by Caspar Hochfeder at Nüremberg in 1494. (30 x 22 cm.)
  13. Leaf (O2) from Gemma Vocabulorum, printed in 1495 in Deventer by R. Pafraet. (21 x 14 cm.) Latin-Dutch vocabulary.
  14. Latin Version of the Bible, Venice, 1497, by Hieronymus of Paganini. Noteworthy as a fine little page on thin, “India” texture paper.
  15. Stultifera Navis, or Ship of Fools by Sebastian Brant in an incunable edition of 1498 with those famous early Durer Woodcuts. Printed by Bergmann in Basle.
  16. Opus Trivium, by the English Theologian Jean Bromyard, Lyon, 1500. Fine Gothic type with colored initials added by hand.
  17. Fasciliculus Mirre, an incunable leaf printed in 1500. A rarity by Bollaert, with hard-colored woodcut.
  18. Fasciliculus Mirre, the plain page of text rendered lovely nevertheless with fine rubrications. Offered for comparison with the above.
  19. Leaf () from Arbor Scientiae, by Raimond Lull; Barcelona, August 22, 1505. (29 x 21 cm.) Includes some ms. notes.
  20. Fragment of an Egyptian papyrus, 18th to 20th Dynasty, approx. 1500-1100 B.C., Book of the Dead.
  21. Fragment of Greek Papyrus 100-300? A.D. According to Roger Bagnell it is a Coptic Bible. A rare fragment.
  22. Arabic Papyrus Manuscript, 600-700 A.D. A most interesting leaf in fine large text of an early Arabic literary work.

Box II (FF 24- 80)

  1.  Leaf from Symbolicarum Quaestionum de Universo Genere, by Achille Bocchi. Published by the Society of the Press of Bologna in 1574.
  2. Leaf from the Commentaries on Boetius, printed by Zanotus de Castelliono for Giangiacomo de Legnano and Brothers, booksellers, at Milan in 1512. (26 x 18 cm.)
  3. Leaf from Breeches Bible, printed by J. Crispin 1558. (21cm x 13 cm)
  4. Leaf from the Chronicon of Sigebert of Gembloux, printed by Henri Estienne (Henry Stepanus) at Paris in 1513. (21 x 15.5 cm)
  5. Leaf from Missale Romanum, from the press of Antonii Guinta, printed at Venice, 1559. (17 x 11 cm)
  6. Tabulae eclypsiũ magistri Georgii Peurbachii. An astronomical book about eclipses by George Peurbach and John Regiomontanus. Printed by Johannes Winterburger in Vienna, 1514.
  7. Leaf from a collection of minor classical authors. Printed by Andrea Torresano at Venice in 1516. (post Aldus) (30 x 21 cm). No inscription
  8.      Leaf from Nova Legenda Angliae, a volume which is based on the "Sanctilogium Angliae, Walliae, Scotiae, et Hiberniae" attributed to John of Tynemouth.  Printed by Wynkyn de Worde, London, 1516. { Impressa lo[n]donias: i[n] domo Wina[n]di de Worde: co[m]mora[n]tis ad signu[m] solis: in vico nu[n]cupato (the flete strete). Anno d[omi]ni. M.CCCCC.xvi. xxvij. die Februarij}  (26 x 18 cm)
  9. Leaf from Hortus Sanitatis, Ein Gart der Gesundheit. This version being from Johannes von Cube (Meister Johan von Cube). It was published in Mainz by Jakob Meydenbach in 1491. (29 x 19 cm)
  10. Leaf (T) from Opera Vergiliana docter familiariter exposita, printed by Jacobo Sachon of Lyon, 1517. (33 x 22 cm.) #39 on sheet
  11. Another leaf from Missale Romanum, from the press of Antonii Guinta, printed at Venice, 1559. (17 x 11 cm)
  12. Leaf (Fo. CCCCVII) from Las Quatorze Decadas de Tito Livio; printed at Saragossa in 1520 by George Coci.  Translation by Pedro de la Vega of Livy’s Ab urbe condita (28 x 19 cm.)
  13. Leaf from the Life of Jesus Christ, translated into Dutch from the Latin of Ludolphus of Saxony, a Carthusian monk, and printed by Peter van Ghelen at Antwerp in 1618.
  14. Leaf from Postille Majores cum Questionibus, a book of devotions for the whole year, with many marginal notes, by Pierre Balli, printed by him in Lyons in 1525.
  15. Leaf (309) from a sixteenth century breviary. Southern France.
  16. Leaf from The New Testament of Iesus Christ faithfully translated into English … by the English College then resident in Rhemes, printed by Daniel Vervliet at Antwerp in 1600. (p.449-450)
  17. From the Quintillian’ Institutiones oratoriae, printed by Pierre Vidoue and published by Jean Petit in Paris, 1527.
  18.      Leaf from a Theological Treatise, the Text of the Opinions of Master Pietrus Lombardus. Printed by Jean Moylin at Lyon in 1527. (17 x 13 cm)
  19. Leaf of Dante’s Divine Comedy, with commentary of Christoforo Landino. Printed by Jacobus de Burgofranco of Pavia, at Venice, 1529.
  20. Leaf (p. 13) from Polybius, his Polybii Historiarum libri quinq[ue].Printed in March of 1530 at Haguenau, France, by printer Johann Setzer. (28 x 20 cm.)
  21. Leaf from Biblia Picturis Illustrata, a popular edition of the Bible. Printed in Paris by Pierre Regnault in 1540. (18 x 12 cm)
  22. Hebrew Bible leaf Ḥamishah ḥumshe Torah {חמשה חומשי תורה} . Printed by Robert Estienne, son of Henri Estienne, at Paris in 1544. (25 x17 cm)
  23. A German Manuscript, dated April 1551. Manuscript contains anti-Catholic theological points, in the midst of the Reformation. (22 x 16 cm)
  24. Leaf from The Newe Testament of our Saviour Jesu Christ. Fourth and last edition of the Thomas Matthew’s (John Rogers) Bible. Printed by Nicholas Hyll at London in 1551. (32 x 20 cm)
  25. Leaf from The History of His Own Times, by Paulus Jovius. Printed by Michael Vascosanus at Paris in 1553.
  26. Leaf (p. 131) from Works of Josephus, printed at Basle 1554, by Jerome Froben.
  27. Leaf (p. 205) from Olaus Magnus, Archbishop of Uppsala, “Historia de Gentibus Septentrionalibus” printed in original Latin at Rome 1555. (27 x 20 cm)
  28.      Leaf from (p. 418) Cosmographia Universalis, by Sebastian Munster. Printed by Heinrich Petri at Basle, 1559.
  29. Leaf (Fo. 19) from an English Book of Laws. Printed by Rycharde Jugge and John Cawood, “Priynters of the Quenes Maieste, at London in 1559.  (27 x 20 cm)
  30. Leaf from a work on Euclid by Nicholas Tartalea; the author's last, revised edition, printed by Curtio Troiano in Venice, 1565. (21 x 15 cm.)
  31. Leaf (p. 81) from Ovid's "Metamorphoses," printed by Joan. Gryphius in Venice, 1565. (30 x 20 cm.)
  32. Leaf (p. 119) from the Liber sextus decretalium of Pope Boniface VIII; this leaf is from the edition printed at Venice in 1572. (24 x 18 cm.)
  33. Leaf (p. 115) from Commentariorum in Ordinationes Regias Castellae, a Spanish law book containing a compilation of the ordinances of Castile; printed in the shop of Dominicus à Portonariis at the expense of Vincentius à Portonariis, Salamanca, 1574. (28 x 19 cm.)
  34.      Leaf (p. 124) from A Catholike and Ecclesiasticall Exposition of the Holy Gospell after S. John, translated by Thomas Timme. Printed in London, 1575, by Thomas Marshe. (30 x 20 cm.)
  35. Leaf from a Roman missal, issued in accordance with the decrees of the Council of Trent, and printed by the heirs of Lucantonio di Giunta at Venice in 1576. (17 x 12 cm.)
  36. Leaf (p. 667) from Plutarch's Lives of the Noble Grecians and Romanes, translated, out of the French version of Bishop Amyot, by Sir Thomas North; printed by Thomas Vautrollier at London in 1579. (31 x 22 cm.)
  37. Leaf (p. 155) from the earliest complete Latin Bible printed in England. The Testamenti Veteris Biblia Sacra sive Libri canonici printed by Henry Middleton, 1580. (22 x 16 cm.)
  38.      Leaf (p. 1225) from the sermons of John Calvin, translated from the French by Arthur Golding; printed by Henry Middleton for George Bishop, London, 1583. (28 x 19 cm.)
  39. Leaf (p. 86) from Estatutos Generales de Barcelona, a book of religious statutes, brought out in Mexico, by Pedro Ocharte, in 1585. (19 x 15 cm.)
  40. Leaf (p. 30) from Anatome Corporis Humani, by Juan Valverde de Amusco, an Italian translation from the author's original manual in Spanish; early work on hygiene from the Giunta Press (in Venice) and published 1586. (30 x 22 cm.)
  41. Leaf 96 from The Four Bookes of Husbandry, collected by Conrad Heresbach and translated by Barnaby Googe. "Imprinted at London for Thomas Wight, dwelling in Paules Churchyarde, Anno Domini, 1596." (19 x 14 cm.)
  42. Leaf from The New Testament of Iesus Christ faithfully translated into English … by the English College then resident in Rhemes, printed by Daniel Vervliet at Antwerp in 1600. (p.271-272)
  43. Leaf from Spieghel der Schriftkonste, a book of calligraphy, by Jan van den Velde, printed in Rotterdam in 1605. (22 x 33 cm.)
  44. Leaf from the first King James Bible in a popular edition. Printed and published by Robert Barker, the King's printer, London, 1612. (22 x 16 cm.)
  45. Leaf (Lib I, 33) from Book of European Travels, written by George Sandys, the well-known translator of Ovid in London, 1615. (28 x 18 cm.)
  46. Leaf of Illuminated Persian manuscript, dated ca. 1550. Būstān of Sa’di. {Shekh Muslihu'd-dīn Sâdí of Shíráz} (31 x 19 cm)
  47. Leaf (Gg4, p. 471) from the Biblia Sacra Vulgatæ Editionis Sixti Qvinti Pont. Max. ivssv recognita atque edita.  Printed at Christophe Plantin Press in Antwerp in 1628. (19 x 12 cm.)
  48.      Leaf from a Callot etching, an original and fine impression (a rendering on copperplate by intaglio) by Jacques Callot. From his second or Lorraine period of 1621-1631. (5 x 8 cm.)
  49. Leaf (p. 248, with engraving XXXII) from Symbola Politica; printed by Elsevir around mid 17th-century in Amsterdam. (13 x 7 cm.)
  50. Leaf (Xxx 2) from Burton's Anatomy of Melancholy, printed at Oxford, in 1632, by John Lichfield. (28 x 19 cm )
  51. Leaf (p. 48, sect. 1) from A Display of Heraldrie, by John Guillim, printed at London by Thomas Cotes for Jacob Blome, in 1638. (27 x 19 cm.)
  52.      Leaf from a book of rituals of the Anglican Church, printed at London in 1639 by Robert Barker. (28 x 18 cm.)
  53. Leaf (p. 364) from the Workes of Benjamin Jonson, printed by Richard Bishop at London in 1640. (29 x 18 cm.)
  54.      Leaf from a 17th century Italian manuscript, by "Perlone Zipoli," a transparent anagram under which Lorenzo Lippi, the well-known painter, chose to hide his authorship. (26 x 19 cm.)
  55.  Leaf (p. 311) from an Italian manuscript, written about the middle of the 17th century, by Theodorus Amydenius, a lawyer in the Roman Curia. (32 x 22 cm.)
  56. Leaf (D1, p. 39) from De Indiae Utriusque, Re Naturali et Medica, an illustrated work on the natural history of "Both Indies," by William Piso, printed by the Elzevir at their Amsterdam press in 1658. (37 x 23 cm.)
  57. Leaf from Biblia, das ist, die gantze Heilige Schrifft Alten und Neuen Testaments, Deutsch, D. Martin Luthers,  a German Bible miniature, printed in Frankfurt am Main in 1664 by Balthasar Christoph Wustens. These perfect one inch miniatures are a rarity. (40 x 64 mm.)

Box III (FF 81- 140)

  1.      Leaf (B3) from Ethico Politicorum, a book of emblems printed at Heidelberg in 1666 by Clemens Ammon. (20 x 16 cm.)
  2. Leaf (p. 233) from the Biblia Sacra Vulgatæ editionis Sixti V. & Clem. VIII. Pont. Max. auctoritate recognita, edited by Popes Sextus V and Clemens VIII; printed in Venice in 1669 by  Nicolò Pezzana. (27 x 18 cm.)
  3. Leaf (p. 158) from Ezechielis Spanhemii Dissertationes de praestantia et usu numismatum antiquorum, an illustrated work on ancient numismatics by Ezechiel Spanheim, printed by Daniel Elsevir at Amsterdam, 1671. (24 x 20 cm.)
  4. Thesaurus brevium, or, A collection of approved forms of writs, and pleadings to those writs…”, Printed by W. Rawlins, S. Roycroft, and M. Flesher, assigns of Richard and Edward Atkins Esquiresat,  London in 1687.
  5. Leaf from the New World of Words, collected and published by Edward Phillips and printed by W.R.  for Robert Harford at London in 1678. (32 x 20 cm.)
  6. Leaf (p. 33) from High Court of Chancery, from the reign of Charles II. Printed at London in 1697, by John Walthowe. (32 x 19 cm)
  7. Leaf (p. 159) from the first printed translation in Irish of the Old Testament. The title page runs as follows: "The books of the Old Testament, translated into Irish by … Doctor William Bedel…" Printed in London, 1685, the edition being limited to five hundred. (24 x 19 cm.)
  8. Leaf (p. 45) from an Increase Mather sermon of 1665, an American incunabula leaf. This comes from the hand of the brother Cotton Mather, although there was a sister named Increase. (15 x 9 cm.)
  9. Leaf (Aaaaa, p. 365) from a Scotch law book, entitled, Observations on the Acts of Parliament, made by King James I to King Charles II, by Sir George Mackenzie. Printed by the heir of Andrew Anderson at Edinburgh in 1686. (30 x 19 cm.)
  10. Leaf (Plate 2, Vol. 1) from “A New Collection of Voyages and Travels, a popular travel set. Printed by Thomas Astley, London 1745. (26 x 21 cm)
  11.      Leaf (p. 594) from The Extant Works of Clement of Alexandria, with textual emendations by Friedrich Sylburgh, and a recension of the Latin translation by Daniel Heinsius; issued by Jeremiah Schrey and Heinrich Johann Meyer, at Cologne, in 1688. (36 x 24 cm.)
  12. Leaf (fig. 46) from Medalische Historie der Republyk Van Holland, a volume of copper engravings. Pierre Bizot was the author of this book. This leaf is from the 2nd edition printed in Amsterdam in 1690. (23 x 18 cm.)
  13. Leaf (cover page from Anno Regni) from Parliamentary Acts passed during the reign of William III of England, and printed by Charles Bill and the Executrix of Thomas Newcomb, printers to His Majesty, at London, 1695-1698. (28 x 18 cm.)
  14. Leaf from The Georgies of Virgil. (IV, p. 138) Dryden's translation of Virgil, published by Jacob Tonson at London in 1697. (37 x 23 cm.)
  15. From Bickham Copperplate: The British monarchy, or, A new chorographical description of all the dominions subject to the king of Great Britain …with maps of each county in a new taste, (p. 138, describing South Wales) published by George Bickham at London, in 1749.
  16. Leaf from an illuminated Persian manuscript, early 18th century. (19 x 10 cm.)
  17. From (Table VIII, p. 89) Thesauri Britannici seu museum numarium quo continentur numi Graeci et Latini, a work on antiquarian coins by Nicola Francesco Haym of Rome. Printed by Johann Thomas Edlen von Trattnern in Vienna, 1765.
  18. Leaf (p. 479) from M. Annaei Lucani Pharsalia cum notis Hugonis Grotti, et Richardi Bentleii.  Edited by Richard Bentley, the foremost classical scholar of his time. With the notes of Hugo Grotius, 1583-1645.  Printed at the private press of Horace Walpole at Strawberry Hill (Twickenham, London) in 1760. (29 x 23 cm.)
  19. Leaf (p. 297) from The Sonnets of Antonmaria Salvini, issued at Florence, in 1728, by the press of H.R.H. Grand Duke of Tuscany. (27 x 19 cm.)
  20. Leaf (m) from Tables of logarithms, for all numbers from 1 to 102100, with other useful and necessary tables. By a land surveyor William Gardiner, and printed in London by G. Smith in 1742. (29 x 24 cm.)
  21. Leaf (p. 298) from a Latin manuscript entitled Candidum Puritatis Lilium. A treatise on logic written by one Julianus Antonius a Jaurigui in Guatemala, and "most worthily consecrated" to D. Aloysius Gonzaga. (21 x 16 cm.)
  22. Leaf (p. 443) from the 3rd edition of Christopher Saur's German Bible, printed by him at Germantown, Pennsylvania, in 1776. (26 x 20 cm.)
  23. Leaf (AaV, p. 345) from the Works of Shakespeare, printed and published by Bioren and Madan at Philadelphia in 1796. (17 x 11 cm.)
  24. Leaves from two early school books, Irish and American.

     

    1. Leaf (p. 329) from The Complete Measurer, by Wm. Hawney (Philomath); printed in 1785 at Dublin by R. Jackson. (17 x 10 cm.)
    2. Leaf (p. 104) from Murray's English Grammar, by Lindley Murray, printed in 1856 at Boston by Robert Davies & Co. (16 x 10 cm.)
  25. Leaf (engraving, "Nicholas Poussin") from Collection of Stipple engravings, by C. Taylor; printed at "No. 10, near Castle Street, Holbern" in 1786. (21 x 17 cm.)
  26. Leaf (p. VII) from Anacreon, Bion and Moschus, a book of poetry in the manner of the Greek poet, Anacreon, and bearing the imprint: I.B. Bodonius, Regis Catholici Typographus Parma, 1791. (15 x 10 cm)
  27. Three leaves from religious works of the Protestant Church in the late 1700's.

     

    1. Leaf (p. 342) from The Lessons of the Protestant Episcopal Church, compiled by Andrew Fowler and published by Blauvelt, New Brunswick, New Jersey, 1798. (14 x 9 cm.)
    2. Leaf (p. 257) from The Doctrines and Discipline of the Methodist Episocopal [sic] Church, printed by Parry Hall, Philadelphia, 1792. (17 x 10 cm.)
    3. Leaf (p. 508) from The Confession of Faith, Associate Reformed Chruch, printed in New York, 1799 by T. & J. Swords. (22 x 13 cm.)
  28. Leaf (p. 161, "Work Department") from Goudy's Ladies Book, printed at Philadelphia in 1860. (23 x 15 cm.)
  29. Leaf from an illuminated Persian manuscript from the early Nineteenth Century.  On glazed paper with embellishments in gold, from a collection of poetry from Sanā'ī, Nezāmi, Sa‘di, and Hāfez.
  30. Leaf (p. 93) from a Greek miniature, printed at Oxford in 1810 by N. Bliss. This leaf is a fine example of Greek type, set to the classic Iliad. (12 x 7 cm.)
  31. Leaf (p. 213) from the Fables of Aesop, with designs on wood by Thomas Bewick, printed by E. Walker for T. Bewick and Son, Newcastle-on-Tyne, 1823. (22 x 14 cm.)
  32. Two miniature leaves:

     

    1. Leaf (p. 59) from an edition of Horace, printed from a specially designed type, and published by A. Mesnier at Paris in 1828. (8 x 5 cm.)
    2. Leaf (p. 481, Hh) from a History of Savoy, one of the "Republic Series" issued by the celebrated house of Elzevir at Leyden in 1634. (11 x 6 cm.)
  33. Leaf from The NewYork Mirror and Ladies' Literary Gazette, the 7th volume (No. 42, Sat,. April 24, 1830). Printed by J. Seymour at New York in 1829 and 1830. (32 x 26 cm.)
  34. Leaf (plate LXXVIII: Isiah Complaineth of Judah’s Rebellion) from Icones Veteris Testamenti, or, Illustrations of the Old Testament, from designs by Holbein. Published by William Pickering and printed by Charles Whittingham, who, with his nephew, conducted the Chiswick Press, and bears the imprint, London, 1830. (20 x 13 cm.)
  35. Leaf (p. 339) from The Book of Gems: the Poets and Artists of Great Britain, edited by S.C. Hall, with the imprint of Saunders and Otley, London, 1837. (23 x 14 cm.)
  36. Leaf (plate XIX) from Natural History Lithography, by Ebenezer Emmons, M.D., published by the State of New York in 1851 and printed by Charles Van Benthuysen of Albany, New York. (29 x 22 cm.)
  37. Leaf (plate 87, entitled, "Common Tern") from an Audubon lithograph, printed at New York in 1856. The second edition of the most famous set of bird prints in the world. This leaf is from The Quadrapeds and is an original engraving, as Audubon was both the artist and the engraver on stone. (27 x 17 cm.)
  38. Leaf (p. 441) from a French missal, from the press of J. Claye, Paris, 1858. This leaf is notable because the decorative borders are woodcut reproductions of a Fifteenth Century Book of Hours. (17 x12 cm.)
  39. Leaf (p. 196, steel engraving vignette “Hymn to the Flowers” by Hoarce Smith) from Gallery of English and American Poets. Printed in 1859 in Philadelphia by C. Sherman & Son, and published by E.H. Butler & Co. (28 x 19 cm.)
  40. Leaf (174) from the Annual Register for the year 1788. Printed in 1790 by J. Dodsley, at London.
  41. Leaf (p. 163, m2) from The Book of Wisdom and Lies, by Oliver Wardrop. Printed at the Kelmscott Press for Bernard Quaritch, London, 1894. (21 x 14 cm.)
  42. From Rackham Illustration, a delightful engraving from the great book illustrator. Leaf illustration dated 1910.
  43. Leaf (p. 128) from A Bruce Rogers Folio, a limited edition of Sir Thomas More's Utopia, printed in New York at the Rudge Press in 1937. (26 x 17 cm.)
  44. Leaf (Plate CCLXXIV) from Encyclopaedia, or a Dictionary of Arts, Science and Miscellaneous Literature. This leaf has a full page of copper engravings.
  45. Leaf (p. 729) from Encyclopaedia, or a Dictionary of Arts, Science and Miscellaneous Literature. This is the first American Edition published in 1798 at Philadelphia by Thomas Dobson who printed at “The Stone House, No. 41 South Second Street.”
  46. Leaf (p. 225) from, The Alhambra, by Washington Irving. Printed in 1832 at Philadelphia by Cary & Lea; is the first edition. (19 x 12 cm)
  47. Leaf (p. 41) from Catlin’s American Indian Letters, printed by Tosswill and Myers at London, 1841. (24 x 15 cm)
  48. Leaf (p. 158, plate of a battle) from Catlin’s American Indian Letters, printed by Tosswill and Myers at London, 1841. (24 x 15 cm)
  49. Leaf (p. 28) of a music page, a lithograph sheet of music engraved on stone by F. Martelli and printed in 1845, at Naples. (34 x 25 cm)
  50. Leaf from George Cruikshank Etching from the Riverside edition of the works of Charles Dickens, 1869-1870. (19 x 14 cm)
  51. Leaf from Persian printed book.  Dated 1879. (33 x 21 cm)
  52. From a Chap-book chaplets, a hand colored illustration from original woodcut by Joseph Crawhall, published by Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, 1883, and printed by Feld and Tuer. (29 x 22 cm)
  53. From Bird and Bull Press,  a Babylonian Anthology translated from Akkadian by William White, Jr. printed by Henry Morris of North Hills, Penna. (27 x 22 cm)
  54. Idea de vn principe politico Christiano, representada en cien empresas, by don Diego de Saavedra Fajardo. Printed in Monaco by Nicolao Enrico on 1 March, 1640. Leaf contains large engraving. (22 x 18 cm)
  55. Leaf of Persian Manuscript from the Koran. Leaf is illuminated in gold and blue with a floral motif. Dated possibly around the Seventeenth Century. (23 x 14 cm)
  56. Leaf (p. 61) from the Hebrew Pentateuch, printed in four volumes by Pierre de la Roviere in Geneva, 1617-18. (22 x 17 cm.)
  57. Leaf (p. 247) from an Irish law book, containing the Statutes of Ireland from the reign of King Edward up to and including part of that of James I. Printed by the Society of Stationers at Dublin in 1621. (26 x 18 cm.)
  58. Leaf (Aaa 3, p. 365) from Willliam Camden's Annalles of Elizabeth, or rather from Darcie's translation from a French translation of Camden's original work, which was written in Latin. Printed for Benjamin Fisher in London, 1625. (23 x 17 cm.)
  59. Leaf (p. 533) from The Herball or Generall historie of plantes gathered by John Gerarde of London; printed by Thomas Johnson in London, 1633. (35 x 22 cm.)
  60. Leaf (p. 488) from the Iconologia of Cesare Ripa of Perugia, with amplifications by Giovanni Zaratino Castellini, printed by Niccolo Pezzana at Venice in 1669. (23 x 17 cm.)

Box IV

  1. Egyptian scarab, ca. 1000 B.C. with hieroglyphics. Accompanied by a portion of clay which shows sign of the scarab in relief.
  2. Babylonian clay tablet ca. 2500 B.C. with cuneiform characters.
  3. Babylonian cylinder seal, ca. 2000 B.C. with Sumerian inscription; accompanied by a portion of clay which shows the inscription in relief.

Oversized

  1. Leaf from the King James Bible; printed by Robert Barker, 1611, London. (41 x 27 cm.)
  2. Leaf (pg. 277) from early travel book on the New World, by John Ogilby. Publishes at London in 1671. (39 x 25 cm)
  3. Leaf (p. 165?) from a Spanish antiphonary of the 17th century, typical of the Catholic choir books of that period, particularly in Spain. (40 x 28 cm.)
  4. Leaf from A Digest of Civil Law, [Liber V, p. cxiii] by Andrea Torresano of Asolo, 1491.  (43 x 29 cm.)
  5. Leaf from the Nüremberg Chronicle, printed by Anton Koberger in 1493. (43 x 30 cm.)
  6. From the Commentaries of Bartolus de Saxoferrato on the first and second parts of the new Digest of laws with supplemental notes by other scholars. Published at Lyon in 1521 by Jacobus Saxon.
  7. Leaf (Nnnn2, p. 955) from Conradi Gesneri Tigurini medici et philosophiae professoris in schola Tigurina, historiae animalium liber , by Conrad Gessner, printed at Zurich in 1555 by Fraschover. (37 x 24 cm.)
  8. Leaf (p. 30) from Biblia Sacra Veteris & Noui Testamenti iuxta Vvlgatam, printed by the heirs of Charlotte Guillard, at Paris in 1558.
  9. Leaf (p. [138]) from Martin Luther's German translation of the Bible, published by the heirs of Hans Ulrich Krafft at Wittenberg in 1584. (37 x 25 cm.)
  10. Leaf (p. 71) from Portraits et Vies des Hommes Illustres, par André Thevet; from the press of Kervert and Chaudiére, Paris, 1584. (37 x 25 cm.)
  11. Leaf (p261/262) from the Justinian Code, Ex Officina Vignoniana in St. Gervais, near Paris, 1602. (40 x 26 cm.)
  12.  Leaf (p. 446) from a Guide to Tongues, by John Minsheu. Printed at the charges of the author for John Browne, Bookseller, London, 1617. (40 x 25 cm.)
  13. Leaf (Tab. CCCCLXVIII, Reg. Cap Xvii, v. 1-6) from Johann Jakob Scheuchzer’s Physique sacrée, ou Histoire-naturelle de la Bible, magnificent copper plates depicting the natural history of the Bible and physical phenomena. Published at Amsterdam by Pierre Schenk and Pierre Mortier in 1732-1737.
  14. Leaf (Medicago polymorhpa) from Flora Londinensis, compiled and written by William Curtis, from the 1st edition, 1773, and printed in London.
  15. From Piranesi Etching, an example of the work of the famous architectural etcher. On hand made paper from the fourth edition and fourth volume of Le Antichita Romane, 1774.
  16. Leaf (No. III) from Christophori Cellarii, smalcaldensis, Geographia antiqua, a “Complete Set of Maps of Ancient Geography”. Printed at London in 1799 by F. & C. Rivington. Most likely engraved by R.W. Seale.
  17. Leaf “Lancaster Sands” from Turner’s Picturesque views in England and Wales, reproduced in permanent photography with descriptive and historical illustrations, an early use of the photography medium, R. Brandard was the photographer. Published by Bell and Daldy, York Street London, 1873 and printed by Chiswick Press in London.(37 x 27 cm)