Skip to main content

Manuscripts in Special Collections

The Fragmenta Manuscripta Collection

​Fragmenta Manuscripta is a collection of over 200 manuscript leaves and fragments dating from the eighth to the seventeenth century. Originally gathered by seventeenth century book collector John Bagford, the collection offers scholars examples of book hands, decorations, and texts.

The Fragmenta Manuscripta collection has been completely digitized and is available through the Digital Scriptorium.

Other Leaves

Bible. O.T. Leviticus XXVII, 21-34. Latin. Incipit: quia ai iubilei veneit dies. 1 leaf (30 lines). Manuscript written in Bohemia (?) in late Gothic script on parchment. "cus" in top margin of left column of recto. Contains last 14 verses of Leviticus, followed by selections from, or paraphrases of parts of, Numbers. The 2 columns of recto separated by flowering vine around a staff growing from large initial D at beginning of passage from Numbers, and spreading into upper and lower margins.
VAULT BS1254 .L3M6 1450

Catholic Church. Missa in honor Sct et Indiuidue Trinitatis. [Proper, Trinity Sunday] [1st quarter of 15th cent.?] [1] leaf (31 lines). Manuscript written in France (Paris?) in formal Gothic minuscule script on parchment. Recto bordered by flowering ivy-leaf vine sprouting from large red initial with blue and gold-leaf background. Smaller gold-leaf initials throughout.
VAULT BX2015.9 .T7 1400

Catholic Church. [Fragments] Book of hours (Tory manuscript). 15??. [6] leaves : parchment. Manuscript leaves from the atelier of Geofroy Tory written in Latin in a fine humanistic roman minuscule, 33 lines to the page. With capitals in gold on red or blue background, lines filled out with painted decoration, and a decorative gold border. Border, which has simple loops at corners and center top, and becomes more elaborate at bottom, is a rope on both sides of two of the leaves, and a closely-trimmed vine or branch on both sides of the other four. Text includes three leaves of prayers and three leaves giving the calendar for May-June and September-December, and hence has also been described as part of a psalter. Substitute note for our leaves from the Books of hours (Ms. Tory): Two additional leaves of this manuscript are also in the Library of the University of Missouri-Columbia in the Fragmenta Manuscripta collection.
VAULT BX2080 .A1 1500

Lectionary for the office? ff. 6? - Binding fragments, in situ. The leaves have survived as binding fragments to three volumes of the text of Martinus Chemnitius. Latin.
VAULT BX8064.C46 1591

Catholic Church. Pope, 1513-1521 (Leo X). Letter, 1517 Mar. 27, Rome, to Ottaviano Fregoso, Doge of Genoa. [Genoa?] 1 leaf. (29 lines). Manuscript written by Ludovico degli Arrighi at Rome in a chancery script on parchment, signed by Jacopo Sadoleto as Papal Secretary.
VAULT D221 .C3L4 1517

​[Manuscript leaf]. 14th century? 1 parchment leaf trimmed to fit between panel areas between the bands, forming the back lining of spine of Francesco Filelfo's Epistolae, 1488. Leaf is adhered to wood board cover. Gothic script with two columns of text and marginal gloss. Red parenthetical letters. Extensive worm holes on upper and lower margins.
VAULT PA8520 .F5 E6

[Manuscript leaves]. 13th to 14th century. 2 parchment leaves trimmed to fit between panel areas between the bands, pasted together to form back lining of spine of Julius Firmicus Materinus' De natiuitatibus, 1499. Cords are stitched through manuscript leaves and attached to cover. Minute Gothic script with marginal notations (chiefly Roman numerals). Red and blue Roman numerals and two pen-flourished initials.
VAULT QB41 .F5 1499

Missal, Latin. France, late 14th century. Contains parts of the mass for the September Rogation Days. 
VAULT UNCATALOGUED folder 1

Antiphonal, Latin. Germany, late 15th century. Nagelschrift notation on black 5-line staves.
VAULT UNCATALOGUED folder 2

Missal, Latin. Italy, 15th century. Contains most of the service for the 24th Sunday after Pentecost and the beginning of the service for the 25th Sunday. 
VAULT UNCATALOGUED folder 4

Breviary, Latin. Italy, 15th century. Contains parts of the service for St. Clare of Assisi. 
VAULT UNCATALOGUED folder 5

Antiphonal, Latin. Italy, ca. 1400. Contains parts of the service at matins and at lauds for the feast of St. Paul (30 June). Historiated initial E with a 3/4 length depiction of St. Paul holding sword and book; the initial is the height of approx. 1 line of text and music. Thumb hole in bottom edge of leaf to facilitate turning the pages. 
VAULT UNCATALOGUED folder 10