Skip to main content

English 2159: Visual and Textual Analysis in Special Collections: Collections

Twentieth-Century Political Pamphlet Collection

The collection consists of ephemeral political materials distributed by and for members of national organizations and political committees. The majority of the materials relate to New Left organizations from the 1960s, but examples from the 1940s to the early 1990s are also included. Many of the materials are concerned with civil rights, anti-war protest, feminism, and economic policy. Current events in China, Cuba, Europe and the Middle East are also discussed. Organizations represented include Students for a Democratic Society, Southern Student Organizing Committee, Radical Education Project, Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, and several others. The collection offers primary source material to researchers interested in the various social protest movements of the 1960s.

Browse the collection inventory

Comic Collection Overview

The Comic Art Collection has particular strength in underground comic books, graphic novels, and classic comic strips and cartoons. Special Collections also has the papers and original artwork of five American cartoonists with ties to Mizzou.

Overall, the collection contains 1000 pieces of original art, 100+ syndicate proofs, over 30 cubic feet of manuscript materials, hundreds of clippings, and over 4,000 catalogued comic books, journals, and monographs. More information

Browse the entire Comic Collection in the MERLIN catalog

War Posters Overview

Special Collections has over one thousand posters from World Wars I and II. More than half of the posters are from countries other than the United States.  The U.S. World War I posters promote recruitment, savings stamp and bond drives, patriotism, and conservation. There are also a few anti-war posters in the collection.

The posters are searchable in the MERLIN catalog.  These records include the title and description only.  Links to poster images are included when available.  Search MERLIN using the links below:

Search World War I Posters in the MERLIN catalog

Search Word War II Posters in the MERLIN catalog

More resources