Skip to main content

English 2100-01: War Posters, Political Pamphlets, and the 9/11 Collection: Collections

Visiting Special Collections

Special Collections serves MU students, faculty, staff, and visitors.  Any researcher interested in using the collections is welcome, and research appointments are not necessary.  However, if you plan to use posters, maps, or other large materials, please email us at least 24 hours in advance so that we have time to prepare the materials for use.

War Posters Overview

Special Collections has over one thousand posters from World Wars I and II. More than half of the posters are from countries other than the United States.  The U.S. World War I posters promote recruitment, savings stamp and bond drives, patriotism, and conservation. There are also a few anti-war posters in the collection.

The posters are searchable in the MERLIN catalog.  These records include the title and description only.  Links to poster images are included when available.  Search MERLIN using the links below:

Search World War I Posters in the MERLIN catalog

Search Word War II Posters in the MERLIN catalog

September 11, 2001 Terrorist Attack Collection

The collection consists of domestic and international magazines and newspapers that show how the September 11th terrorist attack was portrayed in the media. A number of Missouri newspapers are represented.

View the 9/11 Collection finding aid on the Special Collections website

Twentieth-Century Political Pamphlet Collection

The collection consists of ephemeral political materials distributed by and for members of national organizations and political committees. The majority of the materials relate to New Left organizations from the 1960s, but examples from the 1940s to the early 1990s are also included. Many of the materials are concerned with civil rights, anti-war protest, feminism, and economic policy. Current events in China, Cuba, Europe and the Middle East are also discussed. Organizations represented include Students for a Democratic Society, Southern Student Organizing Committee, Radical Education Project, Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, and several others. The collection offers primary source material to researchers interested in the various social protest movements of the 1960s.

View the Political Pamphlet Collection finding aid on the Special Collections website