Library Guides: Parks, Recreation, Sport &amp; Tourism 3210W: Personnel Management &amp; Leadership: Find Articles

Databases

Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education and sports medicine.
Coverage: 1985-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Hospitality and Tourism Index
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1960-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
CAB Digital Library
Covers an array of scientific disciplines such as forestry, human health & nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, recreation, and leisure.
Includes access to CAB Archives.

Date Coverage: 1900-date

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Help: http://www.cabdirect.org/help/index.html?from=homePage

Help: https://www.cabidigitallibrary.org/faq

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported

Finding the TEXT of Articles

Some databases have direct links to articles or downloadable PDFs. However, for many databases, you will need to look for the FindIt@MU button to connect to our catalog.

You will then have a few options:

If we have online access, search for the icon to view the full-text or PDF.
If it is in print at a library on campus, you can borrow it from the library.
If it is not online, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
1. If a UM library has a print copy of the article in a bound journal, you can still request a scan of the article via Interlibrary loan. This is faster than requesting the book from another campus.

Interlibrary Loan is a free service. Typically, you will receive your article online via your MU e-mail account within 1-2 business days. As long as you plan ahead and don't wait until the last minute, you should get your article in plenty of time for your research project!