Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LexisNexis Texts & Treatises
These links are to information about the bound versions of these resources; however, theses sources are also available as Lexis Advance databases.
Guide to International Legal Research
The Guide to International Legal Research provides information on how to conduct research in various areas of international law (e.g., law relating to the various geographical regions of the world, animal law, intellectual property, space law, etc.). It has two introductory chapters providing an overview of the field of international law generally and 21 chapters that identify and describe the sources of law in specific areas of international law. Chapter 12 addresses the area of human rights. This chapter identifies and describes sources of international law relating to the UN, regional intergovernmental organizations, and non-governmental human rights organizations. Chapter 12 also identifies and describes sources of law relating both to traditional human rights areas (e.g., the rights of women) and to emerging human rights issues (e.g., the right to food).
Moore's Federal Practice -- Civil
15-104 Moore's Federal Practice -- Civil §§ 104.20 to 104.27. These subchapters provide information on various topics regarding litigation under the Alien Tort Statute.
WestlawNext Texts & Treatises
These links are to information about the bound versions of these resources; however, theses sources are also available as WestlawNext databases.
Litigating International Torts in U.S. Courts
This treatise provides broad coverage regarding international tort claims in U.S. courts generally (e.g., products liability actions against foreign product manufacturers), but it also addresses tort claims brought under the Alien Tort Statute and the Torture Victim Protection Act. Part IV of the treatise dedicates a chapter each to these statutes. This treatise also provides a few sample complaints filed under these statutes.
Litigation of International Disputes in U.S. Courts
Litigation of International Disputes in U.S. Courts consists of 22 chapters covering various topics relating to international litigation in U.S. courts (e.g., service of process abroad; immunity of officials, diplomats, and organizations; etc.), a chapter providing updated information for each of the other chapters, and several appendices providing the text of relevant documents (e.g., United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods). Chapter 9 of this treatise provides subchapters on the principles and sources of customary international law and a subchapter with about two dozen articles on various topics relating to litigation under the Alien Tort Statute and the Torture Victim Protection Act. Chapter 10 provides information on treaties: subchapters cover topics such as the types of treaties, how treaties are made under U.S. law, the relationship of treaties to U.S. law, treaties relevant to the U.S. (e.g., the Convention against Torture), etc.
Causes of Action, 2d
Cause of Action to Recover Civil Damages Pursuant to the Law of Nations and/or Customary International Law, 21 Causes of Action 2d 327. This article provides guidance and references to resources regarding claims brought under the Alien Tort Statute.
Federal Practice & Procedure (Wright & Miller)
14A Federal Practice & Procedure Supplemental Service §§ 3661.1, 3661.3, 3661.4. These subchapters provide information on jurisdictional issues related to claims under the Alien Tort Statute.
Oxford Public Law International
Oxford Public International Law is an online international law service providing three databases requiring either individual and/or institutional paid subscriptions, two of which are Oxford Reports on International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law.
Oxford Reports on International Law
Oxford Reports on International Law contains over 5,000 case reports, and it is updated over 200 times per year. These cases are divided into five modules, one of which is international human rights law. Case reports can be browsed by module, by one of 23 topics (including human rights), by jurisdiction, or by three other parameters. Browsing can be further refined by using the drop down menus. Jurisdiction includes both international bodies (e.g., decisions by the European Court of Human Rights) and national courts (e.g., cases by the U.S. Supreme Court). Alternatively, the database has basic and advanced keyword search functions permitting the use of connectors and a few other Boolean search functions. Each case report contains expert analysis as well as hyperlinks to documents cited within the text of the opinions. Some links go to other entries within the database, others simply provide more detailed citation information.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
This is the online version of this encyclopedia, which adds database functionality. Entries can be browsed by 23 topics, including human rights. Each topic can also be browsed by sub-topic using dropdown menus. Alternatively, the database has basic and advanced keyword search functions permitting the use of connectors and a few other Boolean search functions. The content is similar to the hardbound version, except the database is updated three times a year. Also, in the database, many of the documents cited within the entries are hyperlinked. Some links go to other entries within the database, others simply provide more detailed citation information.