Skip to main content

Journalism - Film & Documentaries: Video Collections

Documentaries and filmmaking. Research on film. Funding for filmmakers, copyright information, interviewing and oral histories

MU Libraries' Video Databases

  • AdforumRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri(Requires MU ID) is an internationally focused database provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media, including audio and video. AdForum also provides access to advertising agency information, news, and other information related to the advertising industry.

Video Available on the Web

Creative Commons & Public Domain Video Resources
 
  • Creative Commons Video Creative Commons licensed video media compiled from the video blog at creativecommons.org/video.
  • Wikimedia Commons  "A database of 10,265,274 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute." Provides public domain and freely-licensed content -- also includes images and sound clips.
Some Videos May Have Creative Commons Licenses Attached
 
  • Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive  Internet Archive's library of free movies, films, animations, and videos. Look for the Creative Commons License to see if/how you can use the media.
  • Videvo offers free stock videos and motion graphics for use in any project.  You may use these video clips free of charge in both personal and commercial productions.  Video clips that carry the Creative Commons 3.0 license must attribute the original auto
Always look for "Terms of Use," "Legal," or copyright statement on any database to make sure that your use is acceptable.

Fee-Based Stock Video Collection

  • Footage.net is a fee-based collection of stock and news footage.
  • The Videvo Plus subscription gives you access to 20,000 additional stock footage clips, extended licensing on existing free content, and higher quality downloads. The Videvo Pro subscription gives you access to everything in the Plus account, and access to 100,000 sound effects and music tracks.

How Can I Use MU Restricted Videos?

Videos in MU licensed databases may be restricted to:

  • Student projects and presentations.
  • Faculty classroom presentations.
  • Online courses restricted to MU students only.

Videos cannot be used, without permission from the vendor, for:

  • Open websites or projects posted on the open web.
  • Commercial or for-profit projects or products.
  • Faculty publications.
  • Public distribution.

Always look for "Terms of Use," "Legal," or copyright statement on any database to make sure that your use is acceptable.