Skip to Main Content

University of Missouri - History of Health Sciences: School of Medicine

History of the School of Medicine

"The University of Missouri School of Medicine was the first publicly supported medical school west of the Mississippi River. It was organized as a two-year school in 1872. Joseph Norwood, M.D., professor of natural science and philosophy, was the first dean."

Monographs and Webpages

Articles

School of Medicine Authored Publications from 1963-1992. 

Journal of the Missouri State Medical Association 

  • Diehl, Harold S. "A Four- Year Medical School for the University of Missouri ." 48 (1951): 203-45.
  • Diehl, Harold S. "A Four Year Medical School for the University of Missouri ." (Editorial) 48 (1951): 247.

Missouri Medicine 

  • Anderson, Clay. "Ellis Fischel Cancer Center: cancer care at the crossroads." 106(1):14-8, 2009 Jan-Feb.
  • Delafontaine, Patrice. "MU School of Medicine: Understanding the Importance of Inclusion, Diversity, and Civility in Education." 113(1): 36-8, 2016 Jan-Feb.
  • Fraundelder, Frederick W. "MU Opthalmology Charts a Future of Growth" 113(1): 39, 2016 Jan-Feb. 
  • Hall, Leslie W. "Providing patient-centered care, education & research to benefit Missouri" 111(3) 166-168, May 2014. 
  • Lobeck, Charles. " UMC Four-Year Medical School Observes 25th Anniversary." 78 (1981): 293, 297
  • Mayer WD. University of Missouri-Columbia Medical Center "one century and we've just begun". 70(4):211-5, 1973 Apr.
  • Mayer WD. A review of 1973-1974. University of Missouri-Columbia Medical Center. 71(4):162-4, 1974 Apr.
    • Brief statistics on number of applicants and graduates in 1981.
  • ​Mayer, W. D. "1968-1969 at the University of Missouri-Columbia Medical Center. A review 67 (1970): 207-14.
  • ​Mayer, W. D. "The University of Missouri-Columbia Medical Center: a resource for all Missourians." 67 (1970): 207-14.
  • Mayer, William D. "Development of a New Curriculum at the University of Missouri School of Medicine ." 61 (1964): 279-81.
  • "Miscellany: University of Missouri " 53(1956) :1012-1017.
    • A brief item describing the opening of the new Medical Sciences Building , Medical Center , and University Hospital.
  • Wilson , Vernon E. "Annual Progress Report on the University of Missouri School of Medicine ." 60 (1963): 337-9, 343.
    • Statistics on students enrolled in the health professions, outpatient visits in 1963 and 1959-60, average hospital census and total available beds.
  • ​Wilson , Vernon E. "University of Missouri Medical Center : a Progress Report." 61 (1964): 273-8.
    • Statistics on patient admissions and clinic visits in 1963, applications for admission and class size in 1964.
  • ​Wilson , Vernon E. "The University of Missouri School of Medicine ." 57 (1960): 460-8.
    • Statistics on number of beds in the University Hospital in 1960, the number of students receiving instruction at the Medical Center by discipline, the number of medical faculty, the number of patient admissions and clinic visits in 1960.

Other Articles

Additional Resources

MUtation: Presented by the students of the University of Missouri Schools of Medicine & Nursing.

Checkout the MU archive's Homepage.

Learn more about William Osler and his connection to the University of Missouri.

The Columbia Missourian Newspaper Library 

  • Maintains article clips for the Health Sciences Center dating from the 1950's until 2000. The " Health Sciences Center " clip files include sub-categories, such as staff, ambulance service, and various clinics/departments. Newspaper articles are now filed under " University of Missouri Health Care ." 

J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library's Rare Books Room

  • Includes the medical school announcement catalogs, selected monographs and other miscellaneous materials. See picture below.

rarebookroom

Special Collections

  • Contains proceedings of medical school conferences, directories of medical alumni, bulletins and newsletters of various departments within the medical school and MUtations.

State Historical Society of Missouri

  • The University of Missouri catalogs and yearbooks, Savitar, are located here. The pictorial collection includes photographs of Parker Memorial Hospital and the Medical Center. 

University Archives

  • Files include general correspondence, reports, studies, surveys, photographs, official files of all University committees, councils, boards and task forces. Photographs held here include the interiors of Parker Memorial Hospital and the nurses' dormitories, construction of the Medical Center, and early medical students with cadavers.

Western Historical Manuscript Collection/ State Historical Society of Missouri Manuscripts

  • This collection holds the University of Missouri School of Medicine Records, ca. 1902-1959. Records include correspondences, minutes, annual reports and other materials arranged chronologically by the dean. Information on personnel, Student Health Service, Crippled Children's Service, controversy over location of clinical training, etc.  A search engine is available for the WHMC collections of all 4 University of Missouri campuses.