Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Civil War: Selected References

English 1000

Encyclopedias

Civil War Collector's Encyclopedia; Arms, Uniforms, and Equipment of the Union and Confederacy   State Historical Society-Columbia - Research Center

A Concise Encyclopedia of the Civil War   State Historical Society-Columbia - Research Center 

Historical Times Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Civil War     MU Ellis   E468 .H57 1986

 

Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy     MU Depository     E467 .W2   

Notable American women, 1607-1950 : a Biographical Dictionary    MU Ellis     CT3260 .N57

Dictionaries

The Civil War Dictionary     MU Ellis    E468 .B7

Historical Dictionary of the Civil War    MU Ellis Reference   E468 .J777 2011

Manuals

The Field Manual for the Use of the Officers on Ordnance Duty    State Historical Society-Columbia - Research Center

Manual of Laws Relating to Pensions and Other Claims of Soldiers Against the United States    State Historical Society-Columbia - Room 88    355.1151 K58

 

Bibliographies

Black Slavery in the Americas: an Interdisciplinary Bibliography, 1865-1980   MU Ellis    Z7164.S6 S63 1982

Civil War Newspaper Maps: a Carobibliography of the Northen Daily Press   MU Journalism Library    GA405.5 .B67 1993

A Collection of Abraham Lincoln Pamphlets & American Civil War    State Historical Society-Columbia - Room 88    921 L638to2

Almanacs

The Civil War Almanac     MU Ellis    E468 .F85 2007

The Civil War Day by Day; an Almanac, 1861-1865    MU Depository      E468.3 .L6

Atlases

 Atlas to Accompany the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies    MU Ellis Special Collections Closed Folio   G1201.S5 U62 1891

A Battlefield Atlas of the Civil War     MU Ellis    G1201.S5 S9 1983

Official Atlas of the Civl War    MU Depository   973.7 Un3o