Skip to main content

Art History 2850: Visual Culture Resources in Special Collections: Other Collections

An introduction to collections and resources of interest to students in Dr. James van Dyke's Art History 2850, Introduction to Visual Culture.

September 11, 2001 Terrorist Attack Collection

The collection consists of domestic and international magazines and newspapers that show how the September 11th terrorist attack was portrayed in the media. A number of Missouri newspapers are represented.  

Series 1: Domestic Newspapers

Series 2: International Newspapers

Series 3: Domestic Magazines

Twentieth-Century Political Pamphlet Collection

The collection consists of ephemeral political materials distributed by and for members of national organizations and political committees. The majority of the materials relate to New Left organizations from the 1960s, but examples from the 1940s to the early 1990s are also included. Many of the materials are concerned with civil rights, anti-war protest, feminism, and economic policy. Current events in China, Cuba, Europe and the Middle East are also discussed. Organizations represented include Students for a Democratic Society, Southern Student Organizing Committee, Radical Education Project, Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, and several others. The collection offers primary source material to researchers interested in the various social protest movements of the 1960s.

Link to finding aid

Theater Program Collection

The majority of the programs are for performances dated from 1945 to the present in New York, London, Washington D.C., and St. Louis. The programs are in the process of being cataloged in MERLIN, the University’s online catalog. The collection can be searched in MERLIN through the heading Theater Program Collection (University of Missouri–Columbia. Libraries)