Skip to main content

Art History 2850: Visual Culture Resources in Special Collections: Maps

An introduction to collections and resources of interest to students in Dr. James van Dyke's Art History 2850, Introduction to Visual Culture.

Maps Overview

Maps can be found throughout Special Collections.  Some are stand-alone sheets.  Others are bound as atlases, and still others are bound into books.

Major collections of maps include the Sanborn Collection, with over 1200 maps of Missouri towns and cities from 1883 to 1951.  These maps illustrate buildings at the block level and are color-coded to indicate building materials.  The Sanborn Maps are all digitized and can be accessed online.

U.S. Army Newsmaps produced during World War II illustrate military activity around the world in a given time period.  They were created to update troops on operations in other parts of the world.

The Libraries recently acquired a small collection of early maps of Russia, 1646-1772.

Some specific maps of interest

Camden, William.  Britannia, or, A chorographical description of the flourishing kingdoms of England, Scotland, and Ireland, and the islands adjacent.  London : Printed by John Nichols for T. Payne and son ... and G.G.J. and J. Robinson ..., 1789.
Rare Folio DA610 .C17 1789

Flamstéed, John.  Atlas céleste de Flamstéed, publié en 1776, par J. Fortin.  Paris, Lamarche, 1795.
Rare QB65 .F5 1795

Hawkesworth, John.  An account of the voyages undertaken by the order of His present Majesty for making discoveries in the Southern Hemisphere.  London : Printed for W. Strahan and T. Cadell, 1773.
Rare Folio G420.C65 H3 1773b

Mercator, Gerhard.  Taurica chersonesus nostra aetate Przecopsca et Gazara dicitur.  [Duysburgi] : Per Gerardum Mercatorem, [1595]
Rare Flat File G7102.C7 1595 .M47

Nichols, John.  The progresses and public processions of Queen Elizabeth.  London : Printed by and for the editor, Printer to the Society of Antiquaries of London, 1788.
Rare DA356 .N6 1788

Sanborn Map & Publishing Co.  Columbia, Mo. New York : Sanborn Map & Publ. Co., 1883.
Sanborn Collection MISSOURI MAP: COLUMBIA 1883

United States. Army Service Forces. Newsmap / distributed by Army Orientation Course. [Washington, D.C. : Army Service Forces, 1942]
Poster D743.25 .N49  v.1, no.5

The world as it is ; the world as the nervous patriot sees it. Washington, D.C. : Published by The American Union Against Militarism, [1917?] (New York : Redler Litho.)
Poster D522.25 .W675 1917

Searching for Maps

If you're having trouble finding a map, the following subject searches (narrowed to Special Collections) may help:

  • Atlases
  • Geography
  • Navigation
  • Travel