Includes messages, public papers, state of the union addresses, news conferences, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, presidential debates, administrative policy and more for Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and Jimmy Carter.
Online documents include Exit Interviews of departing staff, White House Central Files, National Security Council files, Staff Member and Office files. Also available is the Daily Diary, National Security Memoranda, and the Public Papers of the President.
Online documents include National Security Memoranda and Meeting Minutes, Cabinet Meeting Minutes, Daily Diary, speeches and writings, and selected documents on the swine flu immunization program, 1976 presidential campaign, the Vietnam War and intelligence reforms and investigations. Photographs are also available.
Digital documents include oral histories, lectures, Executive Orders, Presidential Directives, speeches, Camp David Accords, Key Legislation, Daily Diary and selected documents on the hostage crisis in Iran, Panama Canal treaties, human rights, Alaska lands, and other topics.
This series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian.
A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents related to US foreign and military policy. Organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Collection of military publications, including manuals, regulations and pamphlets from the Civil War to the present. The collection also contains photographs, manuscripts, diaries, letters, and images of artifacts.
Obsolete military manuals are frequently used by researchers to understand the thought process and operating environment of the military during a certain time frame. This collection has an emphasis on Army doctrine.
Documents such as agency records, manuals, correspondence, email correspondence, electronic records, maps, videos, etc., are often classified because of national security reasons, privacy concerns, or other content such as trade secrets or privileged financial and/or commercial information. These documents have content that is considered “sensitive in nature.” Some documents have been declassified and are now available to the public. This guide will show you how to locate them.
Documents are indexed by country, by event, and by broad subject terms. This collection contains declassified documents of the United States government from the files of the Central Intelligence Agency, the National Security Council, and other agencies. Some documents are from departmental archives and presidential libraries. The documents vary in length from a telegram to an extensive report on the Joint Chiefs of Staff in World War II. The documents tend to emphasize history and political science although there are some economic and scientific studies. It is important to note that documents which have been declassified following expiration of the thirty year rule and given wide dissemination are not included in this collection. Special Collections microfilm.
Papers written or solicited by the National Security Council staff summarize and appraise the objectives, commitments, and risks of the United States in relation to actual and potential military powers. Recommendations to the President on courses of action are sometimes given. These papers are dated between 1947 and 1961. The fifth reel contains National Security Council actions and memoranda between 1947 and 1976. Two presidential directives signed by President Carter initiate the reorganization of the National Security Council in 1977. Special Collections microfilm FILM BOOK 0096.
This volume presents those official documents which best express the goals and objectives of American foreign policy. Included are texts of major official messages, addresses, statements, reports and communication by the White House, the Department of State, and other federal agencies.
The National Security Electronics Surveillance Card File and Surreptitious Entries File contains card files of FBI surreptitious activity from 1942 to 1975 for organizations investigated by the FBI, including wire taps, bugs, and break-ins. Special collections FILM BOOK 0274.
This collection is a complete electronic record of the United States Commission on Civil Rights publications held in the Thurgood Marshall Library and the USCCR web site. Publications are searchable by keyword and accessible by date and title.
This collection contains 119 special studies commissioned by the federal government from extra-governmental think tanks such as the Hudson Institute, Inc., Army War College, and the Rand Corporation. The papers discuss politic-military matters regarding Europe with reference to the North American Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Warsaw Treaty Organization. (11 microform reels)