Includes messages, public papers, state of the union addresses, news conferences, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, presidential debates, administrative policy and more. Included in this collection are presidents Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson and Richard Nixon.
Presidential Papers on microfilm
Though not government documents, Special Collections has papers from some presidents on microfilm. The collections often include correspondence, diaries, memos, essay, speeches and more. Lyndon B. Johnson and John F. Kennedy.
Online documents in this collection cover the following topics: the 1919 transcontinental Motor Convoy, D-Day: the Invasion of Normandy, Holocaust: The Extermination of European Jews, Women's Air Force Service Polits (WASPs), the Korean Conflict, Aerial Intelligence during the Cold War, Alaskan Statehood, Atoms for Peace, Camp David, Civil Rights (Brown vs. Board of Education, Act of 1957, Little Rock School Integration, Eisenhower Administration, Emmett Till Case), Hawaiian Statehood, International Geophysical Year, Interstate Highway System, McCarthyism, NASA, People to People, Rosenbergs, Salk Polio Vaccine, St. Lawrence Seaway, Sputnik and the Space Race, U-2 Spy Plane Incident, USS Nautilus and Women in the 1950s.
The White House Diary, listing meetings and appointments for President Kennedy, is available online. A Chronology by the New York Times connects the President's diary with news stories. The Digital Archives provides access to a growing collection of searchable digitized historical documents, images and materials. These include 72 reels of film, 300 reels of audiotape, 1500 photographs and 200,000 pages of documentation. Also includes personal papers of cabinet members and other government officials.
Digital holdings include speeches and messages, oral histories, selected pages of his daily diary, and National Security Action Memorandum (NSAM) documents. Topics of the NSAM include international relations, trade, nuclear energy, nuclear weapons, Vietnam and NATO policies. Photographs include those of Lady Bird Johnson and President Johnson's swearing in on Air Force One, 11/22/1963.
Online documents include Exit Interviews of departing staff, White House Central Files, National Security Council files, Staff Member and Office files. Also available is the Daily Diary, National Security Memoranda, and the Public Papers of the President.
John F. Kennedy was killed on November 22, 1963. Almost 30 years later, Congress enacted the President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992. The Act mandated that all assassination-related material be housed in a single collection in the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Not all records have been digitized, some online highlights include the Califano Papers, the Warren Commission Report, the Assassination Records Review Board report, and photos of assassination artifacts.
A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents related to US foreign and military policy. Organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Collection of military publications, including manuals, regulations and pamphlets from the Civil War to the present. The collection also contains photographs, manuscripts, diaries, letters, and images of artifacts.
Obsolete military manuals are frequently used by researchers to understand the thought process and operating environment of the military during a certain time frame. This collection has an emphasis on Army doctrine.
A digital archive of the published notices judgment for products seized under authority of the 1906 Pure Food and Drug Act. The NJs are resources in themselves but also lead users to the over 2,000 linear foot collection of evidence files used to prosecute each case. The evidence files are a rich documentary resource filled with legal correspondence, lab reports and data, photographs, and product labeling and containers. This digital library, created using the SPER system, allows for browsing the collection as well as searching the collection's metadata and full-text.
Documents such as agency records, manuals, correspondence, email correspondence, electronic records, maps, videos, etc., are often classified because of national security reasons, privacy concerns, or other content such as trade secrets or privileged financial and/or commercial information. These documents have content that is considered “sensitive in nature.” Some documents have been declassified and are now available to the public. This guide will show you how to locate them.
The Pentagon Papers, officially titled "Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force", was commissioned by Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara in 1967. The complete Report is now available with no redactions compared to previous releases. The Report is presented as Leslie Gelb presented it to then Secretary of Defense Clark Clifford on January 15, 1969. All the supplemental back-documentation is included. In the Gravel Edition, 80% of the documents in Part V.B. were not included. This release includes the complete account of peace negotiations, significant portions of which were not previously available either in the House Armed Services Committee redacted copy of the Report or in the Gravel Edition.
In 1964, rioting erupted in Panama directly largely against the United States’ control of the Panama Canal. During the next four years, the United States and Panama renegotiated treaties concerning the Canal. In 1965, the United States feared the possibility of a communist insurgency in the Dominican Republic. This fear led to the military intervention of the United States in that country. This collection contains the documents in the files of the National Security Council that pertain to these events. Special Collections microfilm: FILM BOOK 0037.
This collection is a complete electronic record of the United States Commission on Civil Rights publications held in the Thurgood Marshall Library and the USCCR web site. Publications are searchable by keyword and accessible by date and title.
Papers written or solicited by the National Security Council staff summarize and appraise the objectives, commitments, and risks of the United States in relation to actual and potential military powers. Recommendations to the President on courses of action are sometimes given. These papers are dated between 1947 and 1961. The fifth reel contains National Security Council actions and memoranda between 1947 and 1976. Two presidential directives signed by President Carter initiate the reorganization of the National Security Council in 1977. Special Collections microfilm FILM BOOK 0096.
The National Security Electronics Surveillance Card File and Surreptitious Entries File contains card files of FBI surreptitious activity from 1942 to 1975 for organizations investigated by the FBI, including wire taps, bugs, and break-ins. Special collections FILM BOOK 0274.
President Kennedy’s appointment book records day-by-day and hour-by-hour of all of his official activities as president. It gives his detailed itinerary and lists the names of all persons he met in an official capacity from 1961 to 1963. This includes meetings of the Cabinet, of the National Security Council, with congressmen, and with foreign leaders like Nikita Khruschchev, Harrold Macmillan, Charles de Gaulle and Konrad Adenauer. Special Collections microfilm.
This collection contains material concerning the public relations of President Kennedy’s administration. This includes verbatim transcripts of the press conferences by Pierre Salinger, messages and press releases from the White House, and transcripts of press conferences held by President Kennedy. The subjects covered every possible political and private aspect of the presidency from the details of dress at cocktail parties to the relations with the Soviet Union and war in Southeast Asia. Special Collections microfilm.
The administration of Lyndon Johnson saw profoundly important changes in both foreign and domestic policy. This collection contains agendas, memos, and other documents generated from the Cabinet meetings, as well as Cabinet and Agency Reviews and Departmental Weekly Reports from late 1963 until 1969. The Cabinet meetings tackled such domestic issues as the War on Poverty, civil rights legislation, agricultural problems, and aid to education and cities. Foreign policy discussions came to be dominated by détente with the Soviets, aid to Third World countries, controls and nuclear testing and the growing involvement in Vietnam. Special Collections microfilm.
The histories of the federal agencies involved in the running of the American economy during the administration of President Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969) are the subjects of this collection. The agencies include the Bureau of the Budget, the Council of Economic Advisers, the Federal Reserve System, the Securities and Exchange Commission, and the Department of the Treasury. Apart from internal administrative histories of these agencies, the collection contains documents illustrating their activities such as memos and reports to the president and the Congress on subjects like the budget, the national debt, commodity prices, interest rules and monetary policy, balance of payments, international trade, the poverty problem, and unemployment. Special Collections microfilm FILM BOOK 0012.
This collection contains all the debates and discussion over issues facing the nation at the time of the national political convention. The conventions nominated such men as Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk, James Buchanan, Samuel Tilden, Grover Cleveland, William J. Bryan, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Adlai Stevenson, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Hubert Humphrey. They debated such issues as the veto of the Bank of the United States charter, the expansion into Oregon and Texas, slavery and states’ rights, Reconstruction, bimetalism, government regulation of trusts, entry into World War I, New Deal programs, post-war foreign policy under Truman, civil rights, the war on poverty, and the war in Vietnam. Special Collections Microfilm 14:3-4.
This collection contains the discussions and debates of the Republican National Conventions. The issues include the expansion of slavery into the territories, secession, mobilization of support for the Union in the Civil War, Reconstruction, civil rights for freedmen, policies for business, imperialism, regulation of trusts, involvement in World War I, depression, the opposition to the New Deal, foreign policy after World War II, national defense, civil rights, and the War in Vietnam. The conventions nominated such men as Abraham Lincoln, U. S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, Wendell Wilkie, Thomas Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, and Barry Goldwater. Special Collections microfilm MISC.
The administration of Lyndon Johnson saw profoundly important changes in both foreign and domestic policy. This collection contains agendas, memos, and other documents generated from the Cabinet meetings, as well as Cabinet and Agency Reviews and Departmental Weekly Reports from late 1963 until 1969. (17 microform reels)
The histories of the federal agencies involved in the running of the American economy during the administration of President Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969) are the subjects of this collection. The agencies include the Bureau of the Budget, the Council of Economic Advisers, the Federal Reserve System, the Securities and Exchange Commission, and the Department of the Treasury. (17 microform reels)
Millions of pages of material and tens of thousands of photographs, slides, maps, periodicals, audio, moving images, and books related to the Vietnam War, Indochina, and the impact of the war on the United States and Southeast Asia.