Includes messages, public papers, state of the union addresses, news conferences, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, presidential debates, administrative policy and more. This collection covers Harry S Truman and Dwight D. Eisenhower.
The online documents in this collection cover the following topics: Berlin Airlift, Cold War, Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb, Desegregation of the Armed Forces, Eleanor Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, Election Campaign of 1948, Korean War, Japanese-Americans during WWII, Marshall Plan, NATO, Nuremberg and Tokyo War Crimes Trials, Truman Doctrine, Truman's Farewell Address, Recognition of the State of Israel, United Nations, World War I and the Inter-War Years. There are also over twenty thousand photographs, audio files and a collection of political cartoons.
Online documents in this collection cover the following topics: the 1919 Transcontinental Motor Convoy, D-Day: the Invasion of Normandy, Holocaust: The Extermination of European Jews, Women's Air Force Service Pilots (WASPs), the Korean Conflict, Aerial Intelligence during the Cold War, Alaskan Statehood, Atoms for Peace, Camp David, Civil Rights (Brown vs. Board of Education, Act of 1957, Little Rock School Integration, Eisenhower Administration, Emmett Till Case), Hawaiian Statehood, International Geophysical Year, Interstate Highway System, McCarthyism, NASA, People to People, Rosenbergs, Salk Polio Vaccine, St. Lawrence Seaway, Sputnik and the Space Race, U-2 Spy Plane Incident, USS Nautilus and Women in the 1950s.
A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents related to US foreign and military policy. Organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Collection of military publications, including manuals, regulations and pamphlets from the Civil War to the present. The collection also contains photographs, manuscripts, diaries, letters, and images of artifacts.
Obsolete military manuals are frequently used by researchers to understand the thought process and operating environment of the military during a certain time frame. This collection has an emphasis on Army doctrine.
Papers written or solicited by the National Security Council staff summarize and appraise the objectives, commitments, and risks of the United States in relation to actual and potential military powers. Recommendations to the President on courses of action are sometimes given. These papers are dated between 1947 and 1961. The fifth reel contains National Security Council actions and memoranda between 1947 and 1976. Two presidential directives signed by President Carter initiate the reorganization of the National Security Council in 1977. Special Collections microfilm FILM BOOK 0096.
The National Security Electronics Surveillance Card File and Surreptitious Entries File contains card files of FBI surreptitious activity for organizations investigated by the FBI, including wire taps, bugs, and break-ins. Special collections FILM BOOK 0274.
This collection is a complete electronic record of the United States Commission on Civil Rights publications held in the Thurgood Marshall Library and the USCCR web site. Publications are searchable by keyword and accessible by date and title.
The Pentagon Papers, officially titled "Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force", was commissioned by Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara in 1967. The complete Report is now available with no redactions compared to previous releases. The Report is presented as Leslie Gelb presented it to then Secretary of Defense Clark Clifford on January 15, 1969. All the supplemental back-documentation is included. In the Gravel Edition, 80% of the documents in Part V.B. were not included. This release includes the complete account of peace negotiations, significant portions of which were not previously available either in the House Armed Services Committee redacted copy of the Report or in the Gravel Edition.
HEARING before the Subcommittee on Korean War Atrocities of the Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations of the Committee on Government Operations, United States Senate, Eighty-Third Congress, 1st Session, Pursuant to S. Res. 40 Parts 1, 2, and 3 Hearing held on December 2, 3, and 4, 1953 and REPORT (S. Rep. No. 848) January 11 (legislative day, January 7), 1954.