Includes messages, public papers, state of the union addresses, news conferences, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, presidential debates, administrative policy and more. This collection includes Herbert Hoover and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Digitized documents come from the President's Secretary's File and consist of approximately 13,000 documents. The Safe Files date from 1933-1945 and consist of formerly National Security Classified materials, mainly from the World War II period. Also included are papers on US-Vatican relations, US-German relations and US-British relations in the 1940's. The collection also includes thousands of online, copyright-free photographs of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, the Great Depression and the New Deal and World War II.
Herbert Hoover and Franklin D. Roosevelt Resource Guides
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with U. S. presidents. These resource guides compile links to digital materials such as photographs, manuscripts, political cartoons, and documents that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. Herbert Hoover and Franklin D. Roosevelt Resource Guides
Collection of military publications, including manuals, regulations and pamphlets from the Civil War to the present. The collection also contains photographs, manuscripts, diaries, letters, and images of artifacts.
Obsolete military manuals are frequently used by researchers to understand the thought process and operating environment of the military during a certain time frame. This collection has an emphasis on Army doctrine.
This collection consists of 908 boldly colored and graphically diverse original posters produced from 1936 to 1943 as part of Franklin Delano Roosevelt's New Deal. These striking silkscreen, lithograph, and woodcut posters were designed to publicize health and safety programs; cultural programs including art exhibitions, theatrical, and musical performances; travel and tourism; educational programs; and community activities in seventeen states and the District of Columbia. The posters were made possible by one of the first U.S. Government programs to support the arts.
The material is arranged chronologically. Each campaign book has either a table of contents or alphabetical index or both. The Democratic Campaign books consist largely of speeches and articles written by party leaders which reflect the party’s position on the issues of that particular campaign year. The purpose of the Campaign Book was to provide a unified national party front on issues that could then serve as the basis for local Democratic campaigns throughout the nation. The campaign books trace the evolution of the political thinking in the Democratic Party over 64 years. Special Collections Microfiche 329.3
This collection contains all the debates and discussion over issues facing the nation at the time of the national political convention. The conventions nominated such men as Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk, James Buchanan, Samuel Tilden, Grover Cleveland, William J. Bryan, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Adlai Stevenson, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Hubert Humphrey. They debated such issues as the veto of the Bank of the United States charter, the expansion into Oregon and Texas, slavery and states’ rights, Reconstruction, bimetalism, government regulation of trusts, entry into World War I, New Deal programs, post-war foreign policy under Truman, civil rights, the war on poverty, and the war in Vietnam. Special Collections Microfilm 14:3-4.
Republican National Committee, Republican Campaign Manual, 1880-1940
The Republican Campaign Book served as the basis for a unified political campaign on a national scale. It consists largely of the party platform along with position statements by presidential and vice-presidential nominees and other prominent members of the party. It also contains attacks on the performance and positions of the Democratic Party and its candidates. The Campaign Books taken individually reflect the Party's stance in a particular election campaign. Taken together, they reflect the evolution of the Party's approach to national issues as the country made the transition into the twentieth century. The material is arranged chronologically. There is a table of contents at the beginning of the volume for each campaign. Special Collections microfiche MICF 329.6.
This collection contains the discussions and debates of the Republican National Conventions. The issues include the expansion of slavery into the territories, secession, mobilization of support for the Union in the Civil War, Reconstruction, civil rights for freedmen, policies for business, imperialism, regulation of trusts, involvement in World War I, depression, the opposition to the New Deal, foreign policy after World War II, national defense, civil rights, and the War in Vietnam. The conventions nominated such men as Abraham Lincoln, U. S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, Wendell Wilkie, Thomas Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, and Barry Goldwater. Special Collections microfilm MISC.