William Howard Taft and Woodrow Wilson Resource Guides
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with U. S. presidents. These resource guides compile links to digital materials such as photographs, manuscripts, political cartoons, and documents that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. William Howard Taft and Woodrow Wilson Resource Guides
Collection of military publications, including manuals, regulations and pamphlets from the Civil War to the present. The collection also contains photographs, manuscripts, diaries, letters, and images of artifacts.
This is a compilation of major Federal banking documents from the period 1780 to 1912. It includes founding documents for the Bank of North America (1781), ordinances for the First and Second Bank of the United States (1791, 1816) as well as reports and proceedings.
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to World War I, including photographs, documents, government documents, newspapers, films, sheet music, and sound recordings. This guide compiles links to World War I resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site.
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. Includes conventions and treaties, official papers from the United States and other countries, diaries, memorials, personal reminiscences, biographies, books and other commentaries.
This section of the website contains a collection of primary documents that document the course of the war via source - often official government - material. Included here are archive documents signed in the late 1830s which bore relevance to the outbreak of war some 75 years later, as well as memos, letters, treaties and the text of speeches throughout the war and beyond.
Obsolete military manuals are frequently used by researchers to understand the thought process and operating environment of the military during a certain time frame. This collection has an emphasis on Army doctrine.
The Nation's Forum Collection consists of fifty-nine sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. The speeches focus on issues and events surrounding the First World War and the subsequent presidential election of 1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes.
The collection consists of materials gathered by the Justice Department’s Bureau of Investigation (renamed the Federal Bureau of Investigation in 1935), military and naval intelligence, the Department of State, and the Post Office Department on the activities of black radicals from 1917 to 1925. The information concerns black communists and socialists, Marcus Garvey’s Universal Negro Improvement Association, radical black publications (such as The Crusader, The Defender and The Messenger), the Pan African movement, the race riots of 1919, the draft evasions during the First World War, the attitudes and morale of the black military units, the African Blood Brotherhood, and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Special Collections microfilm FILM BOOK 0042.
The material is arranged chronologically. Each campaign book has either a table of contents or alphabetical index or both. The Democratic Campaign books consist largely of speeches and articles written by party leaders which reflect the party’s position on the issues of that particular campaign year. The purpose of the Campaign Book was to provide a unified national party front on issues that could then serve as the basis for local Democratic campaigns throughout the nation. The campaign books trace the evolution of the political thinking in the Democratic Party over 64 years. Special Collections Microfiche 329.3
This collection contains all the debates and discussion over issues facing the nation at the time of the national political convention. The conventions nominated such men as Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk, James Buchanan, Samuel Tilden, Grover Cleveland, William J. Bryan, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Adlai Stevenson, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Hubert Humphrey. They debated such issues as the veto of the Bank of the United States charter, the expansion into Oregon and Texas, slavery and states’ rights, Reconstruction, government regulation of trusts, entry into World War I, New Deal programs, post-war foreign policy under Truman, civil rights, the war on poverty, and the war in Vietnam. Special Collections Microfilm 14:3-4.
Republican National Committee, Republican Campaign Manual, 1880-1940
The Republican Campaign Book served as the basis for a unified political campaign on a national scale. It consists largely of the party platform along with position statements by presidential and vice-presidential nominees and other prominent members of the party. It also contains attacks on the performance and positions of the Democratic Party and its candidates. The Campaign Books taken individually reflect the Party's stance in a particular election campaign. Taken together, they reflect the evolution of the Party's approach to national issues as the country made the transition into the twentieth century. The material is arranged chronologically. There is a table of contents at the beginning of the volume for each campaign. Special Collections microfiche MICF 329.6.
This collection contains the discussions and debates of the Republican National Conventions. The issues include the expansion of slavery into the territories, secession, mobilization of support for the Union in the Civil War, Reconstruction, civil rights for freedmen, policies for business, imperialism, regulation of trusts, involvement in World War I, depression, the opposition to the New Deal, foreign policy after World War II, national defense, civil rights, and the War in Vietnam. The conventions nominated such men as Abraham Lincoln, U. S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, Wendell Wilkie, Thomas Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, and Barry Goldwater. Special Collections microfilm MISC.
Established by Congress in 1923, the American Battle Monuments Commission (ABMC) commemorates the service, achievements, and sacrifice of U.S. armed forces. ABMC manages 24 overseas military cemeteries, and 25 memorials, monuments, and markers. Search death records by name or view casualties by state and cemetery.
Created by law and through unanimous support from the United States Congress in 2000, the Veterans History Project (VHP) collects, preserves and makes accessible the first-hand remembrances of America’s war veterans from WWI through the current conflicts, so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.