William McKinley Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft Resource Guides
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with U. S. presidents. These resource guides compile links to digital materials such as photographs, manuscripts, political cartoons, and documents that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft Resource Guides
The Theodore Roosevelt Digital Library includes letters to and from Roosevelt, diary entries, notes, political cartoons, scrapbooks, and more. Also includes documents from six National Park Service sites connected to Roosevelt and his legacy.
Collection of military publications, including manuals, regulations and pamphlets from the Civil War to the present. The collection also contains photographs, manuscripts, diaries, letters, and images of artifacts.
This is a compilation of major Federal banking documents from the period 1780 to 1912. It includes founding documents for the Bank of North America (1781), ordinances for the First and Second Bank of the United States (1791, 1816) as well as reports and proceedings.
Obsolete military manuals are frequently used by researchers to understand the thought process and operating environment of the military during a certain time frame. This collection has an emphasis on Army doctrine.
The material is arranged chronologically. Each campaign book has either a table of contents or alphabetical index or both. The Democratic Campaign books consist largely of speeches and articles written by party leaders which reflect the party’s position on the issues of that particular campaign year. The purpose of the Campaign Book was to provide a unified national party front on issues that could then serve as the basis for local Democratic campaigns throughout the nation. The campaign books trace the evolution of the political thinking in the Democratic Party over 64 years. Special Collections Microfiche 329.3
This collection contains all the debates and discussion over issues facing the nation at the time of the national political convention. The conventions nominated such men as Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk, James Buchanan, Samuel Tilden, Grover Cleveland, William J. Bryan, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Adlai Stevenson, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Hubert Humphrey. They debated such issues as the veto of the Bank of the United States charter, the expansion into Oregon and Texas, slavery and states’ rights, Reconstruction, government regulation of trusts, entry into World War I, New Deal programs, post-war foreign policy under Truman, civil rights, the war on poverty, and the war in Vietnam. Special Collections Microfilm 14:3-4.
Republican National Committee, Republican Campaign Manual, 1880-1940
The Republican Campaign Book served as the basis for a unified political campaign on a national scale. It consists largely of the party platform along with position statements by presidential and vice-presidential nominees and other prominent members of the party. It also contains attacks on the performance and positions of the Democratic Party and its candidates. The Campaign Books taken individually reflect the Party's stance in a particular election campaign. Taken together, they reflect the evolution of the Party's approach to national issues as the country made the transition into the twentieth century. The material is arranged chronologically. There is a table of contents at the beginning of the volume for each campaign. Special Collections microfiche MICF 329.6.
This collection contains the discussions and debates of the Republican National Conventions. The issues include the expansion of slavery into the territories, secession, mobilization of support for the Union in the Civil War, Reconstruction, civil rights for freedmen, policies for business, imperialism, regulation of trusts, involvement in World War I, depression, the opposition to the New Deal, foreign policy after World War II, national defense, civil rights, and the War in Vietnam. The conventions nominated such men as Abraham Lincoln, U. S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, Wendell Wilkie, Thomas Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, and Barry Goldwater. Special Collections microfilm MISC.
Roosevelt is parading through San Francisco along Van Ness Avenue on May 12, 1903, during a western presidential tour. There are long shots of military escorts, Roosevelt's horse-drawn carriage, and preceding the carriage, the Ninth U. S. Cavalry Regiment, which according to newspaper accounts, was one of the first black companies to have had so prominent a position in a public procession.
On Mar. 4, 1905, TR is inaugurated in Washington, D.C. with much celebration and fanfare. TR rides in an open landau on Fifteenth St., NW, escorted by mounted Rough Riders; Secret Service men and detectives walk on either side of the carriage; TR tips his hat to the crowd. Sitting beside him is Sen. John C. Spooner of Wis., Chairman of the joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies.
Other films available include: T. R.'s Arrival in Panama, November 1906; King Edward's Funeral, 1910; T. R.'s Return from Africa, 1910; Colonel Roosevelt Is Invited to Fly in Arch Hoxsey's Plane at St. Louis, Mo, 1910; T. R. at Fargo, N.D., during Progressive Campaign, 1912; Hopi Indians Dance for T. R. at [Walpi, Ariz.] 1913; T. R. [Louisiana], 1915; and T. R.'s Funeral at Oyster Bay, 1919 .
This film records President McKinley taking the oath of office. The first camera position shows the seating arrangements prepared for the spectators and witnesses on the steps of the Capitol. At the time the film was taken, there were many empty seats. The second camera position shows the inaugural party during the swearing-in ceremonies. The film ends as the newly inaugurated president begins his speech.
Filmed during McKinley's inauguration. The film begins by showing military personnel on horseback. The camera was positioned on a side street and photographed representatives of several different companies of American cavalry. Just as the film ends, foot soldiers and West Point cadets preceding the two horse-drawn carriages, one containing President McKinley's party, come into view.