Though not government documents, Special Collections has papers from some presidents on microfilm. The collections often include correspondence, diaries, memos, essay, speeches and more. Chester A. Arthur, Benjamin Harrison.
Rutherford B. Hayes, James A. Garfield, Chester A. Arthur, Grover Cleveland, and Benjamin Harrison Resource Guides
Bills, as documents that detail proposals for new laws, reflect the national and regional concerns of a period in history. They consider questions of government policy and claims against the government. All bills proposed are reproduced in this collection regardless of the action taken on them. The text of the documents, the initial actions taken, and the amendments made are included. They are arranged by congressional session and house, and then in chronological order by bill number. Available on microfilm in Special Collections.
Collection of military publications, including manuals, regulations and pamphlets from the Civil War to the present. The collection also contains photographs, manuscripts, diaries, letters, and images of artifacts.
This is a compilation of major Federal banking documents from the period 1780 to 1912. It includes founding documents for the Bank of North America (1781), ordinances for the First and Second Bank of the United States (1791, 1816) as well as reports and proceedings.
The material is arranged chronologically. Each campaign book has either a table of contents or alphabetical index or both. The Democratic Campaign books consist largely of speeches and articles written by party leaders which reflect the party’s position on the issues of that particular campaign year. The purpose of the Campaign Book was to provide a unified national party front on issues that could then serve as the basis for local Democratic campaigns throughout the nation. The campaign books trace the evolution of the political thinking in the Democratic Party over 64 years. Special Collections Microfiche 329.3
This collection contains all the debates and discussion over issues facing the nation at the time of the national political convention. The conventions nominated such men as Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk, James Buchanan, Samuel Tilden, Grover Cleveland, William J. Bryan, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Adlai Stevenson, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Hubert Humphrey. They debated such issues as the veto of the Bank of the United States charter, the expansion into Oregon and Texas, slavery and states’ rights, Reconstruction, government regulation of trusts, entry into World War I, New Deal programs, post-war foreign policy under Truman, civil rights, the war on poverty, and the war in Vietnam. Special Collections Microfilm 14:3-4.