Zachary Taylor, Millard Filmore, Franklin Pierce, and James Buchanan Resource Guides
Though not government documents, Special Collections has papers from some presidents on microfilm. The collections often include correspondence, diaries, memos, essay, speeches and more. Zachary Taylor, Franklin Pierce, and James Buchanan.
To help us think, talk and teach about the rights and responsibilities of citizens in our democracy, we invite you to explore 100 milestone documents of American history. These documents reflect our diversity and our unity, our past and our future, and mostly our commitment as a nation to continue to strive to "form a more perfect union." Compromise of 1850 (1850), Kansas-Nebraska Act (1854), Dred Scott v. Sanford (1857).
The Bills and Resolutions are available for selected sessions of Congress, beginning with the 6th Congress in the House of Representatives, the 16th Congress in the Senate, and the 18th Congress for Senate Joint Resolutions.
This collection brings together the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
This is a compilation of major Federal banking documents from the period 1780 to 1912. It includes founding documents for the Bank of North America (1781), ordinances for the First and Second Bank of the United States (1791, 1816) as well as reports and proceedings.
This collection contains all the debates and discussion over issues facing the nation at the time of the national political convention. The conventions nominated such men as Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk, James Buchanan, Samuel Tilden, Grover Cleveland, William J. Bryan, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Adlai Stevenson, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Hubert Humphrey. They debated such issues as the veto of the Bank of the United States charter, the expansion into Oregon and Texas, slavery and states’ rights, Reconstruction, government regulation of trusts, entry into World War I, New Deal programs, post-war foreign policy under Truman, civil rights, the war on poverty, and the war in Vietnam. Special Collections Microfilm 14:3-4.
This collection contains the discussions and debates of the Republican National Conventions. The issues include the expansion of slavery into the territories, secession, mobilization of support for the Union in the Civil War, Reconstruction, civil rights for freedmen, policies for business, imperialism, regulation of trusts, involvement in World War I, depression, the opposition to the New Deal, foreign policy after World War II, national defense, civil rights, and the War in Vietnam. The conventions nominated such men as Abraham Lincoln, U. S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Herbert Hoover, Wendell Wilkie, Thomas Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, and Barry Goldwater. Special Collections microfilm MISC.