Bills and Resolutions are available for selected sessions of Congress, beginning with the 6th Congress in the House of Representatives, the 16th Congress in the Senate, and the 18th Congress for Senate Joint Resolutions.
Contains documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.
Contains documents relation to the American Revolution, such as Great Britain Parliamentary Acts, Resolutions of the Congress, draft Constitution, Ratification of Treaties and more. Covers from 1764 to 1783.
This online exhibit provides an overview of the work of and issues faced by this seminal Congress, which was a virtual second sitting of the Federal Convention, fleshing out the governmental structure outlined in the Constitution and addressing the difficult issues left unresolved by the Constitution.
This collection brings together the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
This collection contains over 55,000 documents on the War Department. These papers record far more than the era’s military history. Between 1784 and 1800, the War Department was responsible for Indian affairs, veteran affairs, naval affairs (until 1798), as well as militia and army matters. During the 1790s, the Secretary of War spent seven of every ten dollars of the federal budget (debt service excepted). The War Office did business with commercial firms and merchants all across the nation; it was the nation’s largest single consumer of fabric, clothing, shoes, food, medicine, building materials, and weapons of all kinds.
This multi-park exhibit showcases museum and archival collections at selected National Park Service sites. Featured sites and collections commemorate significant events and individuals of the American Revolutionary War [1775-1783].
This is the official National Park Service American Revolution website. Explore this truly revolutionary period that resulted in a new nation and new form of government. The events of 1775 through 1787 changed the course of history. The effects of the Revolution are still felt today around the world. This site contains timelines and chronologies, biographies and feature stories, links to national parks commemorating the Revolution, and resources for researchers, teachers and students.
This web site from the National Archives and Records Administration contains image files of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Bill of Rights. Fourteen online exhibits trace the formation of these founding documents of our country, and the impact they had on the nation throughout its history.