Library Guides: Film Studies 3845: Modern Israeli Film: Film Resources

Finding Films

The MERLIN catalog shows the films in the MU Libraries. This page makes it easier to find them.
Some MOBIUS libraries are now lending their videos. Just click on the request link on each page.
WorldCat lists films held by many libraries. We can often get these through ILL@MU. (Note we can't request films through MOBIUS, but can often get the same films through WorldCat.)
9th Street Video has an excellent collection.
The Columbia Public Library has a collection of films, mainly TV documentaries and specials.
NetFlix.
blinkx is a video search engine, useful for finding clips and trailers.

Background Information

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Ref. PN1993.45 .S35 2007
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema
PN1993.5.M53 G56 2010
World Cinema: Israel
PN1993.5.I86 K76 1996

Scholarly Sources

Use these resources to find scholarly articles, or sometimes book chapters or conference papers. No one database has it all, so you may want to compare different perspectives by running your search in several databases.

Click on to locate a copy of the article online, in the library, or through ILL@MU.

Discover@MU
Discover@MU searches a wide selection of databases all at once. It's speedy and easy, but lacks the precision that some of the other databases have. Use the left sidebar to refine your search, including limiting to peer-reviewed sources.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
MLA International Bibliography Full Text
Indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1963-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Film Literature Index
FLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular.
more...less...
Date Coverage: 1973 to present

Maximum Users:

Truncation:

Art Full Text
An art research database containing full-text art journals, books, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. It covers art history, design, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Date Coverage: 1984-date

Maximum Users: 4 pooled users.

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/AFT
FIAF
Indexes film and television literature.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1972-date
Maximum Users: 4
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNPcotee-90&feature=youtu.be

Indexes of Film Reviews

Movie Review Query Engine
New York Times Movie Reviews
Archive of movie reviews from 1960 to the present, including a selection of earlier reviews back to 1929.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?