Library Guides: Community & Public Health Nursing: Articles & Guidelines

Articles - databases to find them

Need reports of what others have done, studied or surveyed? These are often written up as articles & published in journals. Search one or more of the following.

CINAHL (Ebsco)
Database of journal articles & book chapters w/focus on nursing
Included is CINAHL which covers both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such
as:Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology and Respiratory Therapy.

Date Coverage: 1982-present
MEDLINE (Ovid)
More articles w/focus on medical, nursing & dental
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1966-date.
Maximum Users: 44
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Tutorial: http://www.screencast.com/users/lottes/folders/Jing/media/a7a0252d-37e8-4b6e-8d59-29f60369ada3
Scopus
Check out the links to citing articles
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
CABI Digital Library
Database of journal articles that include human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure.
Includes access to CAB Archives.

Date Coverage: 1900-date

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Help: http://www.cabdirect.org/help/index.html?from=homePage

Help: https://www.cabidigitallibrary.org/faq

Intervention Recommendations & Guidelines

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps - What Works for Health
Provides access to evidence-based intervention information on factors that affect health.
DoPHER - Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews
systematic & non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
Guide to Community Preventive Services
Find programs that have worked
Health Evidence - Canada
Provides reviews of health promotion and public health interventions.
MMWR Recommendations and Reports
in-depth articles that relay policy statements for prevention and treatment on all areas in CDC's scope of responsibility
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Evidence based clinical practice guidelines
more...less...
Date Coverage: Current

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*

PDA URL: http://www.guideline.gov/resources/pda.aspxSelect NGC guidelines for PDAs.

Search Guide: http://www.guideline.gov/help/howtosearch.aspx
United States Preventive Services Task Force - Recommendations
Preventive measures - screening tests, counseling, immunizations, etc. - that have been evaluated & assessed for effectiveness

Accessing Articles

Remember to use the database links (e.g. CINAHL, MEDLINE, PubMed) on the library website or from this guide to see the FindIt@MU button.

You can also use the Journal/Article Finder to access specific articles.

FindIt@MU guide
This guide shows how to interpret FindIt@MU results.
Getting articles via CINAHL with FindIt@MU
4 minute video showing how to get access to fulltext from the CINAHL database.

Other places & database to check

Public Health Partners
One-stop-shopping for public health info from government, library & public health institutions
Free Public Health Databases
If you need something specific, you might find it here...