Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases for Federal Government Publications: Law and Governance

Enter keywords, subjects, titles etc. into search interfaces to pull up articles and reports issued by government. These databases are freely available to the public.

Images

undefined

undefined

Law and Governance Databases

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.The collection covers  1976 to present.
 
Proquest Congressional
Proquest Congressional indexes to congressional publications (1789-date), an extensive bill tracking service (1989-date), legislative histories (1969-date), floor votes (1989-date), public laws (1989-date), treaties with Indian tribes (1778-1874), treaties with foreign countries (1776-1949). In addition, full-text is available for the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the Statutes at Large (1789-present), Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (1830-present). This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress.
 
Congressional Record
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
 
1994-current GovInfo.gov

1873-1997 (partial)
1985-current

ProQuest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1989-current Congress.gov
1873-current MU LAW LIBRARY FEDERAL  X 1.1/A:
 
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Commonly referred to as the Serial Set, it contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. In general, it includes: committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications. GovInfo provides access from 1995 to present. Readex Serial Set covers 1817-1980. We have print copies from 1817-present MERLIN.
 
Federal Communications Commission Record
The FCC Record is a comprehensive compilation of decisions, reports and public notices and other documents of the Federal Communications Commission from 1986 to the present.
 
GAO reports
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. GAO's primary products are reports, often called "blue books," and testimony before Congress. GAO also issues correspondence (letters), which are narrower in scope, of more limited interest, and do not contain recommendations. With virtually the entire federal government subject to its review, the agency issues a steady stream of products, usually over 900 separate products a year.