Databases for Federal Government Publications: Development

AidData contains information about international economic development assistance, dating back to 1947. AidData provides a searchable database of nearly one million past and present aid activities around the world, aid information management services and tools, data visualization technologies, and research designed to increase understanding of development finance. AidData is searchable by topic such as disaster prevention, energy supply, water supply or reconstruction relief. You may also search by specific regions including Africa, Europe, America, Asia, or Oceania.

Federal assistance programs available to state and local governments; federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.

From the Central Intelligence Agency. It provides over 250 countries’ map and flag, geographic, population, government, economic, communication, transportation, military, and transnational issue information.

Current information on housing needs, market conditions, and existing programs, as well as conducting research on priority housing and community development issues. The Office provides reliable and objective data and analysis to help inform policy decisions.

This is the largest online resource for USAID-funded international development technical and programmatic documentation. The DEC includes the regularly updated Development Experience System (DEXS) database containing more than 153,100 USAID-related documents, 63,100 of which are available for free electronic download. It also maintains special collections for USAID strategic planning documents, oral histories, handbooks, and user guides.