Census Data: Other Reports
Missouri Census Data Center
The Missouri Census Data Center provides menu-driven access to 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 Census Demographic Profiles for all states, counties, tracts, cities, ZIP codes and other geographic entities.
Data Links by Area allows you to select a state, county or town and see which census data products contain information for that particular place. Includes data from the American Community Survey and the 2000 and 2010 decennial census.
MCDC holdings consist of public machine readable data archive and numerous reports and dynamic web applications. A state-wide network of lead, coordinating and affiliate agencies provides users with assistance in accessing the MCDC holdings and answering questions regarding their use and interpretation.
Statistical Abstract
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
ICPSR
ICPSR is the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Selected census data files are available. See the ICPSR guide for assistance in downloading data.
Other Reports
- Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1889-2012The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011
- Social ExplorerU.S. Demographic Maps from Census 1790 – 2010 includes over 15,000 demographic and socio-economic data maps of the United States between 1790 and 2010.
- Statistical BriefsCensus Briefs are short documents providing findings from Census 2000, current demographic surveys, and the 1997 Economic Census. They contain colorful charts to illustrate major points. Prior to November 1996, the Census Briefs were called the Statistical Briefs. Beginning in December, 1996, the Statistical Briefs series were redesigned and reissued as the Census Briefs. The Statistical Briefs are from 2 to 4 pages in length.
- Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)The main objective of SIPP is to provide accurate and comprehensive information about the income and program participation of individuals and households in the United States, and about the principal determinants of income and program participation. SIPP offers detailed information on cash and noncash income on a subannual basis. The survey also collects data on taxes, assets, liabilities, and participation in government transfer programs.
- Federal, State and Local governmentsData on employment and payroll include statistics on the number of federal, state, and local government civilian employees and their gross payrolls by functional category. Government finance statistics include the financial activity of governments including revenues, expenditures, debt and assets. Data are available online from 1992 forward.
- Consolidated Federal FundsData are obtained on the amount of virtually all Federal expenditures, including grants, loans, direct payments, insurance, procurement, salaries and wages and other awards (such as price supports and research awards) by state, county, and sub-county area.
- PovertyCensus Bureau uses a set of money income thresholds that vary by family size and composition to determine who is in poverty. If a family’s total income is less than the family’s threshold, then that family and every individual in it is considered in poverty. The poverty thresholds do not vary geographically, but they are updated for inflation using Consumer Price Index (CPI-U). The official definition uses money income before taxes and does not include capital gains or noncash benefits.
- Geographical mobility/migrationThere are five (unrelated) sources of migration data: Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, Population Estimates and Projections, the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey.
- Language UseLanguage Use, English Ability, and Linguistic Isolation data were collected in the 2000, 1990, and 1980 decennial censuses using a three-part series of questions. In earlier censuses the questions were about "mother tongue" (language spoken when the person was a child) or only for a select group (e.g., foreign born).
- Voting and RegistrationInformation on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of congressional and presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS). Detailed information from recent surveys and historical trends in selected areas is also available.
- National Survey of Fishing, Hunting and Wildlife-Associated Recreation (FHWAR)Presents microdata records (with any information that might identify a specific person or household removed) on individuals involved in fishing, hunting, and other wildlife-associated recreation, such as wildlife observation, photography, and feeding. Data include state in which these activities occurred; number of trips taken; duration of trips; and expenditures for food, lodging, transportation, and equipment. The survey was conducted by the Census Bureau for the Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior, which prepares printed reports in this field.
- Public Libraries Survey (PLS)A statistical survey that collects information on public libraries throughout the United States. A public library is established under state enabling laws or regulations to serve a community, district, or region, and provides at least the following: (1) an organized collection of printed or other library materials, or a combination thereof; (2) paid staff; (3) an established schedule in which services of the staff are available to the public; (4) the facilities necessary to support such a collection, staff, and schedule, and; (5) is supported in whole or in part with public funds The Public Libraries Survey dataset is comprised of three distinct components: the Public Library Data File, the Public Library Outlet Data File, and the Public Library State Summary/State Characteristics Data File.
- Small Area Health Insurance Estimates for Counties and States (SAHIE)This program produces estimates of health insurance coverage for states and all counties. In July 2005, SAHIE released the first nation-wide set of county-level estimates on the number of people without health insurance coverage for all ages and those under 18 years old. In October 2008, SAHIE released 2005 estimates of health insurance coverage by age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, and income categories at the state-level and by age, sex, and income categories at the county-level.
