The Illustrated London News does not appear to be well indexed in any of the sources available at MU. Some volumes are available and can be searched via the Hathi Trust Digital Library. Some volumes are available here and others here. There is also very partial indexing here.
The MU Libraries collections include many 19th century periodicals in print format. We list here some of the major examples. If you need to request volumes from the Depository, click on the title below to open the MERLIN catalog record, then click on "Request" at the top of the screen and follow the directions.
Most of these have also been digitized and are searchable in full text as part of the Hathi Trust Digital Library or may be available online in the British Periodicals database. To search within a specific journal in the Hathi Trust Digital Library, use the Advanced Catalog Search to locate the specific journal record, then view the catalog record to see the individual years. Click on a year to open the full text and search within that volume. Note that different catalog records come from different libraries and may contain different years. A volume that is not available in one place, may well be in another.
- The Academy and Literature
050 Ac1, 1878-1912 in the Depository.
- All the Year Round
AP4 .A4, 1859-1865 in the Depository.
- The Annual Register, or A View of the History, Politics, and Literature for the Year
D2.A72, 1792-99, 1801-1803 in Special Collections, Rare; 1758-1837 in the Depository; 1838-1903 in the stacks 3 East.
- Bentley's Miscellany
AP4.B43, 1837-1842 in Special Collections, Rare; 1843-1868 in the Depository.
- Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine
050 B51, 1817-1905 in the stacks, 3 West.
- Chambers's Journal
050 C35, 1832-1887 in the Depository.
- Cornhill Magazine
050 C81, 1860-1975 in the Depository; 1891-1941 microfilm in Special Collections.
050 C82, 1896 in the Depository.
- The Edinburgh Review
050 Ed4, 1802-1929 in the stacks, 3 West.
- The Fortnightly
050 F778, 1865-1954 in the stacks, 3 West.
- Fraser's Magazine
050 F864, 1831-1882 in the Depository.
- Gentleman's Magazine
AP4 .G35, 1737-1820 in Special Collections, Rare; 1821-1850 in the Depository; 1868-1892 (incomplete) in the Depository.
- Gentleman's Magazine and Historical Review
050 G289, 1850-1868 in the Depository.
- Household Words
050 H817, 1850-1859 in the Depository
- Illustrated London News
AP4 .I3, 1842-1993 in the stacks, 4 East.
AP101 .J83, 1867-1869 in Special Collections, Rare.
- Macmillan's Magazine
050 M22, vol. 1-14 in the Depository.
- The New Monthly Magazine and Literary Journal
050 N434, 1821-1833 in the Depository.
AP101 .P8, 1848-1928 (incomplete) in Special Collections, Closed.
- The Savoy
AP4 .S37, 1896 in the Depository.
- The Yellow Book
820.5 Y38, 1894-1897 in Special Collections, Closed.
And some American examples:
- American Magazine
AP2 .A346, 1876-1956, in the stacks, 3 East
- Godey's magazine
050 G54, 1842-1896 in Special Collections, Rare
- Harper's new monthly magazine.
AP2 .H3, 1850-present, in the stacks, 3 East
- Harper's bazaar.
TT500 .H3, 1867-present, in the stacks, 1A West
050 L625, 1883-1936, in the stacks, 3 West