The Data Services unit at MU Libraries offers reference assistance to MU faculty, staff and students in the acquisition of datasets for use in teaching and original research. Through our affiliation with the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) MU faculty, staff and students may download any of thousands of datasets on a wide variety of topics. We also help researchers access the growing collection of public use datasets on the Internet.
Announcements:
See our MU Libraries' guide to Data Management Plans.
Have you produced a dataset during the course of your research that you want to make available to others? OpenICPSR is a low-cost data archive that offers high visibility.
Users of American Community Survey data may find this book useful: Using the American Community Survey: Benefits and Challenges, available as a free download. Or, check out the library copy.
See our most recent data purchases:
Center for Applied Statistics and Data Analysis
Provides support for faculty and students working with statistical data, including:
MU Division of IT (DoIT) Research Computing Services
The Research Support Computing (RSC) group provides computing support, training, and consulting to the MU research community. The staff works closely with researchers to help evaluate their technology needs and recommend solutions that allow them to take full advantage of the resources available. RSC also works to ensure that the campus’ computing and networking infrastructure meets the growing needs of the research community for performance and functionality.
Missouri Spatial Data Information Service (MSDIS)
The geospatial element serves as a strong integrating force in many human and natural environmental processes. Time and space, or when and where things happen (geospatial), are often a common factor in processes which are seemingly disconnected. MSIDS is a spatial data clearing house for data related to Missouri. Missouri’s geospatial data is disseminated free of charge.
The Geographic Resources Center (GRC) in the University of Missouri Department of Geography is a multidisciplinary applied research and teaching facility for geographic and remote sensing data analysis. It also serves as a resource center for information concerning applications of geographic information systems (GIS), remote sensing and cartography.
Census Research Data Center at the University of Missouri
The University of Missouri Research Data Center (MU RDC) is a joint project between the US Census Bureau and the University of Missouri. The facility, located in Ellis Library at the University of Missouri, provides a secure environment where researchers with approved projects can access restricted-use datasets in the fields of economics, sociology, and public health.
MU Center for Applied Research and Environmental Systems (CARES)
Works to integrate the use of technology and information in decision making processes. Works with rural policy and rural health issues. Partners with foundations, non-profits, government agencies, and researchers on a variety of topics involving health and community.
Office of Social and Economic Data Analysis
MCDC holdings include public machine readable data archive and numerous reports and dynamic web applications. A state-wide network of lead, coordinating and affiliate agencies provides users with assistance in accessing the MCDC holdings and answering questions regarding their use and interpretation. Data includes all states, not just Missouri.
Missouri Resource Assessment Partnership (MoRAP)
Develops, analyzes, and delivers the highest quality, lowest cost geospatial data for natural and cultural resource management. The partnership fosters innovation and cooperation among participants in order to improve our quality of life.
Reference service is available
Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Government Documents Department
106B Ellis Library (1st Floor East)
University of Missouri
Marie Concannon (573) 882-0748
concannonm@missouri.edu
Data Literacy by 
