Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bibliographies for Classics

Intro

Plautus

Online Critical Studies  
Roman Stage / Beare Roman Laughter: The Comedy of Plautus / Segal
Roman Drama / Dory   
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Plautus  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Plautus  

 

Terence

Online Critical Studies  
Art of Terence / Norwood  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Terence  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Terence   

 

Cicero

Online Critical Studies   
Cicero / Dorey Cicero: A Biography / Petersson 
This Was Cicero / Haskell  Cicero / Shackleton Bailey
The Humanism of Cicero / Hun Golden Latin Artistry / Wilkinson 
Luxuriance and Economy: Cicero and the Alien Style / Johnson  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Cicero  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Cicero   

 

Lucretius

Online Critical Studies  
Imagery and Poetry of Lucretius / West   
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Lucretius  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Sallust

Online Critical Studies  
Political Thought of Sallust / Earl  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Sallust   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Catullus

Online Critical Studies  
Catullus: An Interpretation  / Quinn Style and Tradition in Catullus / Ross
Catullus: The Poems / Quinn Catullus and the Traditions of Ancient Poetry / Wheeler
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Catullus  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Catullus  
   

 

Horace

Online Critical Studies  
Horace / Costa Horace / Reckford
Horace / Fraenkel  The Satires of Horace / Rudd 
Word, Sound, and Image in the Odes of Horace / Lee  Reading Horace / West
Studies on Horace's First Book of the Epistles / McGann Horace and His Lyric Poetry / Wilkinson
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Horace   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Horace  

 

 

 

 

Livy

Online Critical Studies  
Livy / Dorey  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Livy   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Tibullus / Propertius

Online Critical Studies  
Tibullus: A Hellenistic Poet at Rome / Cairns Propertius  /  Hubbard
Origins of Latin Love-Elegy / Day  Roman Poets of the Augustan Age  Horace and the Elegiac Poets / Sellar
Latin Love Elegy / Luck   
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Tibullus and Propertius  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Ovid

Online Critical Studies  
Ovid / Binns  Ovid and His Influence / Rand
Ovid's Metamorphoses : an introduction to the basic aspects  / Galinsky The Mystery of Ovid's Exile / Thibault
Ovid as an Epic Poet / Otis Ovid Recalled / Wilkinson 
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Ovid  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

 

Seneca the Younger

Online Critical Studies  
   
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Seneca  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Petronius

Online Critical Studies  
Date and Author of  the Satyricon / Rose The Satyricon of Petronius: A Literary Study / Sullivan
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Petronius  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Persius

Online Critical Studies  
Perseus and the Programmatic Satire / Bramble Iunctura Calidus acri: A Study of Persius' Satires / Dessen
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Persius  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  

 

Juvenal

Online Critical Studies  
Juvenal the Satirist: A Study / Highet  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Juvenal   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Juvenal the Satirist: A Sudy / Highet

Martial

Online Critical Studies  
Literary History of Rome in the Silver Age / Duff Martial the Epigrammatist and Other Essays / Smith
Matial and the Modern Epigram / Nixon Martial and the English Epigram / Whipple 
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Martial  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   
   

 

Lucan

Online Critical Studies  
Lucan: An Introduction / Ahl   
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Lucan and Statius   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Tacitus

Online Critical Studies  
An Introduction to Tacitus / Benario Tacitus Vol. 1 / Syme
World of Tacitus / Dudley  Tacitus Vol. 2 / Syme
Tacitus / Martin The Annals of Tacitus: A Study in the Writing of History / Walker
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Tacitus  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  

 

Caesar

Online Critical Studies  
Caesar as Man of Letters / Adcock  Caesar's Conquest of Gaul: An Historical Narrative / Holmes
Caesar Politician and Statesman / Gelzer The Roman Revolution / Syme
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Caesar  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries