Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bibliographies for Classics

Intro

History of Greek Literature  / Lesky 

Ancient Writers Greece and Rome vol.1  Homer to Caesar / Luce

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome vol.2  Lucretius to Ammianus Marcellinus / Luce

 

Classical Examination Papers / Gantillon

Aeschylus

Online Critical Studies  
Æschylean drama   /  Gagarin Poetry of Greek Tragedy  / Lattimore
Aeschylus : a collection of critical essays /  McCall Dithyramb, Tragedy and Comedy  /  Pickard-Cambridge
Introduction to Greek Theatre  /   Arnott Greek Tragedy in Action  / Taplin
Greek Tragedy /  Kitto Greek theatre practice /   Walton
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Aeschylus  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Aeschylus  

 

Aristophanes

Aristotle

Online Critical Studies  
Cambridge Companion to Aristotle / Barnes Aristotle  / Randall                                                    
A portrait of Aristotle /  Grene Aristotle / Ross 
Aristotle: the growth and structure of his thought  /  Lloyd  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Aristotle   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Aristotle   

 

Demosthenes

Online Critical Studies  
The Art of Persuasion / Kennedy Demosthenes and the Last Days of Greek Freedom / Pickard-Cambridge
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Demosthenes  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Demosthenes  

 

Greek Lyric Poetry

 Online Critical Studies  
Greek Lyric Poetry  /   Bowra Meters of Greek and Latin poetry /  Halporn
Lyric Age of Greece  /  Burn Greek Metre: an Introduction  /  Raven
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Greek Lyric Poetry   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Greek Lyric Poetry   

 

Greek Tragedy

Herodotus

Homer

Menander

Online Critical Studies  
Studies in Menander  / Webster Studies on Later Greek Comedy / Webster
An Introduction to Menander / Webster  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Menander  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Menander  

 

Pindar

Online Critical Studies  
Studia Pindarica / Bundy   
   
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Pindar  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Pindar  

 

 

Plutarch

Online Critical Studies  
Plutarch / Russell   
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Plutarch  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
   

 

Thucydides

Online Critical Studies  
Thucydides Mythistoricus / Cornford The mind of Thucydides  / Romilly
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Thucydides  
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Thucydides  

 

Xenophon

Online Critical Studies  
Greek Historical Writing:  A Historigraphical Essay based on Xenophon's Hellenika / Henry  
Bibliography  
Ancient Writers: Xenophon   
Texts, Loebs, and Commentaries  
Xenophon   

 

Greek Authors

Aeschylus Homer Hesiod
Aristophanes Isocrates in Ancient Writers Sophocles
Aristotle  Menander Aristophanes 
Demosthenes Pindar Xenophon in Ancient Writers
Euripides Plato Theocritus
Greek Lyric Poets Polybius in Ancient Writers Josephus in Ancient Writers
Herodotus

Hellenistic Poetry at Alexandria  in Ancient Writers

Epigrammatist, Callimachus, Apollonius of Rhodes

Plutarch in Ancient Writers
Hesiod Epictetus in Ancient Writers Longinus in Ancient Writers

 

TEST

Online Critical Studies    
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss cccxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccccccccccccccc
       
       
Bibliography       
       
       
Texts, Loebs, Commentaries      
       

 

teee