Skip to main content

Zotero

Moving files between EndNote and Zotero

Zotero's page for importing items from EndNote into Zotero

To export references from Zotero to EndNote:

  1. Select references.
  2. Right-click and choose Export Selected Items. Choose RIS.
  3. Choose a location for the file.
  4. In EndNote go to the File menu and choose Import.
  5. Choose the file. Data option: RIS RefMan. Click Import.

EndNote vs Zotero Comparison Chart

 
latest update: March, 2010
Endnote X3 Zotero
Cost Free to current MU students; others pay Free to all
Who Produces/Support

EndNote is produced by Thompson-Reuters, the publishers of the Web of Science database.

George Mason U., with grant funding from Mellon and IMLS; open source; support is mainly through online forums (slower)
Where To Download Faculty: http://doit.missouri.edu/software/sales/endnote.html
Students: https://elms05.e-academy.com/missouri
http://www.zotero.org
Type of Program Stand-alone program Firefox browser add-in
Word Processing Compatibility Compatible with Word (part of EndNote installation) and with Pages 09, but cannot automatically create footnotes. Compatible with Word (separate add-in program at http://tinyurl.com/klnbn8) & some open source programs but not with Pages 09; can create footnotes.
Compatibility with Article Databases Ease of compatibility varies. WilsonWeb requires downloading older filter; at present (3/10) does not work with Lexis-Nexis Academic . Generally far easier to use than EN. Can often use http://scholar.google.com or RIS-formatted exports as workaround.  At present (3/10) does not work with Lexis-Nexis.
Current list: http://www.zotero.org/translators
How to Get Database Records Into the Program Some databases, especially free ones like library catalogs and PubMed, can be searched from within EndNote.   For most article databases, use “export,” “download” or “save” commands from within the database. Click a small icon that appears to the right of the page’s URL (folder or other icon) or export in RIS format.
How to Get Attached Full Text Into the Program Download full text file separately, save to disk, and add as attachment (like email) or drag and drop into EndNote record Varies.  Full text of free Web sites is added automatically; full text of articles must sometimes be downloaded & attached separately.
How to Get Book Records Into the Program Best to use Worldcat or use EndNote’s Online search option.  In order to use online search option, you must download a connection file from the EndNote Support Web site.
One-click download of bibliographic info from MERLIN, amazon.com, Worldcat and others
How It Works With Free Web Some compatibility with Google Scholar (adjust Scholar Preferences) but other free sites must be entered by hand One-click download of bibliographic info from many free sites; can add other sites as snapshots or links
Portability You can store compressed EndNote bibliographies on a USB drive but you can only open EndNote on computers with EndNote installed. If you download Portable Firefox, you can add Zotero to it and put the whole thing on your USB drive.  Or create a free Zotero account online and use Zotero 2.0's syncing capability.
Output Styles A few dozen by default, hundreds more (2600+) available for download from the EndNote Support Web site
A couple dozen by default, hundreds more (1100+) available for download from Zotero's Styles page.
Sharing You can compress a bibliography and mail it to someone else who has EndNote as an attachment, or export in RIS format for users of other programs. You can export a bibliography into either a Zotero-readable format or RIS format for users of other programs. Zotero 2.0 allows online sharing "in the cloud."