Skip to main content

Art History 2850: Visual Culture Resources in Special Collections: Getting Started

An introduction to collections and resources of interest to students in Dr. James van Dyke's Art History 2850, Introduction to Visual Culture.

Visiting Special Collections

Special Collections materials can be used in the Reading Room on 4 West, Ellis Library.  You'll be asked to fill out a small form for each item you'd like to see.

You can have a pencil, paper, a computer and a camera with you at the reading tables.  You'll be asked to store your backpack and coat elsewhere.

Bring a photo ID!  Your MU student ID or a driver's license will be fine.

Most materials cannot be checked out, but you can put them on hold in the Reading Room.

You can take pictures with your phone or a camera.  But remember - no flash!  If you have Special Collections staff make photos or scans for you, the cost is 50 cents per image.

More information on using Special Collections

Finding Materials

Special Collections Web site

Some materials in Special Collections are not in the MERLIN catalog.  The Special Collections Web site is the best place to start.

MERLIN catalog

Limit your search to Special Collections using the "Specific Library Location" option under Advanced Search.  See the "How to Search MERLIN" tab above.

Can't find it?

Contact your librarian!  We're here to help.

Know Before You Go

If at all possible, please register as a Special Collections user in advance.  Online registration form

Bring a photo ID!  Your MU student ID or a driver's license will be fine.

Most materials can't be checked out, but you can put them on hold in the reading room.

Allowed at the reading tables: pencils, paper, laptop computers, mobile devices (silenced), and cameras.  You'll be asked to store your backpack, coat, and other personal belongings elsewhere.

You can take pictures with your phone or a camera.  But remember - no flash!  Special Collections staff can make photos or scans for you for a fee.

More information on using Special Collections