This is the "Books" page of the "English 1000: Subcultures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 1000: Subcultures  

For Meagan Ciesla's English 1000 class
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/subcultures Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cultures: General

Cover Art
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Call Number: Online. Also available in print at Reference Desk.
ISBN: 1558625291

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0787677272

Cover Art
American Countercultures
Call Number: HM647 .A44 2009 (3 volumes)
ISBN: 0765680602

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Call Number: Ask for this work at the Reference Desk
ISBN: 0684805618

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Call Number: Ask for this book at the Reference Desk.
ISBN: 0415161614

 

Finding Books About a Culture/Subculture

For groups with a well-known name, try a SUBJECT search in the MERLIN catalog first:

  • Rastafarians
  • Baptists
  • Native Americans

For groups unlikely to have a subject heading, try a KEYWORD search in the MERLIN catalog:

  • nascar and (cultur* or subcultur*)
  • tattoo* and (cultur* or subcultur*)
  • dungeons and dragons and (cultur* or subcultur*)
  • "christian rock" and (cultur* or subcultur*)

Video showing how to locate books by call number in Ellis Library

 

Google Books: Finding books that MENTION something

Useful for finding books that MENTION some narrow subject, particular person, particular event, etc.  Sample searches:

  • "Society for Creative Anachronism"
  • "Torger Johnson"
  • "Jehri curl"
  • "church supper" Missouri



 

Religious Subcultures

Cover Art
Jewish-American history and culture : an encyclopedia
Call Number: Ask for this book at the Reference Desk.
ISBN: 0824066227

Cover Art
Religion and American Cultures
Call Number: BL2525 .R448 2003 (3 volumes)
ISBN: 157607238X

Cover Art
Blackwell Companion to Religion in America
Call Number: BL2525 .B58 2010
ISBN: 1405169362

 

Other Subcultures

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
Call Number: Ask for this book at the Reference Desk.
ISBN: 0807818232

Cover Art
Guns in American Society : an Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law
Call Number: HV7436 .G8783 2002 (2 vols.)
ISBN: 1576072681

Cover Art
Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural and Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ask for this book at the Reference Desk.
ISBN: 1576077748

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip