Skip to main content

Frank Stack Collection

Stack, Frank. b. 1937. Papers, 1957-

MU Ellis Special Collections Comic Collection 2

1/2 linear feet

Scope and Contents Note

The collection contains material published from Stack’s college days, through the early underground comic book period, and to the publication of our Cancer Year in 1995. An extensive collection of letters from Gilbert Shelton, William Helmer, the Rip Off Press and others is included. Continuities by Harvey Pekar for which Stack prepared art work are in the collection.

Provenance

The material in the collection was originally donated by Frank Stack, with several subsequent additions. Photocopies of articles about the artist and his work have been made for inclusion in the collection.

Access

Most of the collection is available to all researchers, however, permission to use Folders 32-34 must be obtained from Frank Stack. Permission to publish material in the collection must be obtained from the Head of Special Collections. Selected items may also require permission from Frank Stack. Inquire with Special Collections for details.

Consult MERLIN for other Frank Stack and Foolbert Sturgeon works in the Libraries’ collections.

Biographical Sketch

Frank Stack was born October 31, 1937 in Houston, Texas. He was educated at the University of Texas (B.F.A.), University of Wyoming (M.A.) and received additional training at the School of Art Institute of Chicago and Academie Grande Chaumiere of Paris.

Stack was editor of Texas Ranger magazine 1957-1959 while at the University of Texas.

Stack names his biggest creative influences as Gustave Dore, Roy Crane and V.T. Hamlin (for drawing comics); Edgar Allen Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle, Mark Twain, James Thurber and Al Capp (for writing); Laurel and Hardy, Superman, Phantom and Lone Ranger (for movies and radio).

His early work includes Adventures of JesusFeel Good FunniesAmazon ComicsFrank Crankcase Stories, and Dorman’s Doggie. He has contributed to Rip Off ComixNational LampoonSnarfDrawn and QuarterlyZero ZeroAmerican SplendorComics Journal and Blab! In 1995 he published a non-fiction graphic novel, Our Cancer Year, with Harvey Pekar. Stack was editor of Kitchen Sink’s Alley Oop reprints and serves on the editorial board of Inks, Ohio State University’s comics journal.

Stack has been on the faculty of the University of Missouri since 1963/1964: 1663/1964 to1967/1968, Instructor of Art; 1968/1969 to 1947/1974, Assistant Professor of Art; 1974/1975 to 1977/1978, Associate Professor of Art; and 1978/1979 to date, Professor of Art.

[Most of the above information was taken from Comic Book Superheroes (Krause Publications, 1993 pp. 200-201)]