Skip to main content

Classical Studies Resources

Special Collections Librarian

Timothy Perry
401 Ellis Library
(573) 882-3889

Location and Hours

Special Collections is located in 401 Ellis on the fourth floor of Ellis Library. To reach 401 Ellis, take the elevator to the third floor (not 3R), turn to your left, and take the stairs or the wheelchair lift up to the fourth floor. Special Collections will be on your right at the top of the stairs.

Collections are generally available Monday – Friday, 9:00 am – 5:00 pm.

Check hours

Welcome to the guide for Classical Studies resources in Special Collections!

Special Collections and Rare Books at Ellis Library has a range of materials related to the field of Classics, including:

  • medieval and Renaissance manuscripts of works by Ambrose, Augustine, Ovid, and Priscian
  • printed editions from the 15th century to the 20th century of works by all of the major Classical authors
  • secondary literature related to Classics from the Renaissance to the 20th century
  • extensive microform collections, including the whole of the Bibliotheca Palatina on microfiche

More general information related to the field of Classics can be found in the following LibGuides:

All original items can be used in the Special Collections reading room (401 Ellis). A selection of items, including the Fragmenta Manuscripta collection, is available online.

Come and visit us at 401 Ellis!

Know Before You Go

If at all possible, please register as a Special Collections user in advance.

Online registration form

Bring a photo ID! Your MU student ID or a driver's license will be fine.

Most materials can't be checked out, but you can put them on hold in the reading room.

Allowed at the reading tables: pencils, paper, laptop computers, mobile devices (silenced), and cameras. You'll be asked to store your backpack, coat, and other personal belongings elsewhere.

You can take pictures with your phone or a camera.  But remember – no flash!  Special Collections staff can make photos or scans for you for a fee.

More information on using Special Collections