Skip to main content

Religious Studies 2610: Medieval Christianity: Home

Manuscripts

The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections maintains a number of manuscript materials. The earliest manuscript dates from about 1150 A.D.

The department's holdings fall into three categories:

Using the manuscripts online

Some of the manuscripts and fragments are available online through the Digital Scriptorium.  Use the Advanced Search feature to limit results to MU Libraries.

Using the manuscripts in person

These materials are available to researchers during the Department's regular service hours. Please see Book Use Rules and Guidelines for more information about accessing this material.

Incunabula

Incunabula are books printed before 1501.  The incunabula are listed in chronological order; each record includes Goff number, the number assigned in Fredrick Goff's bibliography, Incunabula in American Libraries. Links to the British Library's Incunabula Short-Title Catalogue (ISTC) for each volume have also been included.

List of Incunabula in Ellis Library

The majority of materials listed here are codices, however the library's single leaf from the Gutenberg Bible is also included because of the interest shown in it and of its importance for the history of printed books. The Library has a number of other incunabula leaves (see Pages from the Past and Early Printed Book Leaves).

Using the incunabula

The incunabula have not been digitized.  These materials are available to researchers during the Department's regular service hours. Please see Policies for Use of Book Collections for more information about accessing this material.

Finding Materials

Special Collections Web site

Some materials in Special Collections are not in the MERLIN catalog.  The Special Collections Web site is the best place to start.

MERLIN catalog

Limit your search to Special Collections using the "Specific Library Location" option under Advanced Search.  See the "How to Search MERLIN" tab above.

Can't find it?

Contact your librarian!  We're here to help.

Visiting Special Collections

Special Collections materials can be used in the Reading Room on 4 West, Ellis Library.  You'll be asked to fill out a small form for each item you'd like to see.

You can have a pencil, paper, a computer and a camera with you at the reading tables.  You'll be asked to store your backpack and coat elsewhere.

Bring a photo ID!  Your MU student ID or a driver's license will be fine.

Most materials cannot be checked out, but you can put them on hold in the Reading Room.

You can take pictures with your phone or a camera.  But remember - no flash!  If you have Special Collections staff make photos or scans for you, the cost is 50 cents per image.

More information on using Special Collections

Contact Us

Alla Barabtarlo
Head of Rare Books and Special Collections
(573) 884-2376
BarabtarloA@missouri.edu

Kelli Hansen
Print Collections Librarian
(573) 882-3755
HansenKB@missouri.edu