Handbook of Cross-Cultural Psychology by
Part of a set containing the contributions of authors from a variety of nations, cultures, traditions and perspectives, this volume offers an up-to-date assessment of theoretical developments and methodological issues in the rapidly-evolving area of cross-cultural psychology.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by
Examining cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa, these four volumes provide information on history, politics, customs, religion, education, and human rights issues.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Highly influential among her peers, Gaskell was the author of more than six novels#151;including the critically acclaimed North and South and Cranford#151;and was a regular contributor for Dickens’ periodicals. She forged friendships with many contemporary authors#151;most famously, perhaps, with Charlotte Brontë. Brontë’s biography, written by Gaskell, is regarded as one of the finest examples of life-writing to this day. Famed for her adeptness at capturing local dialect and the voices of middle-class characters, Gaskell skillfully imbued all her writing with a sense of the intimate and everyday. Due to her prolific letter writing, impeccable records remain of her own daily experiences and thoughts. In this new biography, a brilliant light is shed on the life of the woman behind the writing#151;including her writing themes, her literary successes, her marriage, and her humanitarian work.
Handbook of World Families by
The Handbook of World Families provides a cross-cultural perspective on the family by examining family life in 25 countries worldwide. The countries included in this volume are organized by six world regions including Africa, Asia/South Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and North America - offering readers the most thorough and balanced cross-cultural examination of world families available. Editors Bert N. Adams and Jan Trost, along with contributions by top family studies experts from around the world, ensure reliable, cutting-edge research and perspectives.
The Handbook of Social Psychology by
The classic Handbook of Social Psychology has been the standard professional reference for the field of social psychology for the past 50 years. Now available in a new edition, this internationally acclaimed resource maintains the high standards of previous editions by recruiting leading experts from all areas of social psychology to bring readers up to date on new scientific methods and analytic techniques and to take stock of research advances in their respective specialties. In addition to a new and diverse group of authors, this edition is filled with new topics, such as emotions, self, automaticity, stigma, memory, and evolution, among others. The editors, who are three of social psychology's most noted researchers, have structured the volume to highlight the many levels of analysis used by contemporary psychologists, while maintaining a focus on social psychology's core concern: how do people think about, feel, and act toward one another? Social Psychology's central questions have changed throughout the past 50 years, and the scientific approaches to them have changed even more. This expanded focus has led to many exciting developments that are detailed in this new edition. All academics, graduate students, and professional social psychologists will want to own a copy of this essential resource.
Marriage Family and Relationships by
The human family is ever-evolving, changing with time and adapting to place. This work explores how and to what degree do world cultures differ in their sexual, familial, and social habits, and what are the common features.
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
This four-volume set features over 2000 alphabetized entries by over 500 contributors. It provides coverage of every major area of psychology including applied, clinical, cognitive, developmental, educational, forensic, industrial, measurement, personality, physiological, social and theoretical. The edition provides descriptions of every major psychological test; cross-references at the end of every entry; full subject and person indexes; and a unified bibliography of 15,000 reference entries.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by
The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior is a comprehensive four-volume reference source on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 250 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts. Written by leading scientists in these disciplines, every article has been peer-reviewed to establish clarity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness. The first reference source to provide both depth and breadth to the study of human behavior, the encyclopedia promises to be a much used reference source. This set appeals to public, corporate, university and college libraries, libraries in two-year colleges and some secondary schools. Key Features * Comprehensive250 signed articles across disciplines in education, psychology, gerontology, physiology, and anthropology * 2500 pages * 15000 index entries * 275 figures and 50 Tables * 2000 glossary entries * 2000 bibliographic entries * Accurate * Written by established experts, every article has been peer-reviewed * Truly international collection of contributors from U.S.A., Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Sweden, and the United Kingdom * User-Friendly * More than 1200 cross-references to other entries, each article notes related articles for additional reading * Each article contains a table of contents, glossary, definition of topic, and bibliography
Many programs and organizations focused on social change are geared toward action. Taking the time to learn about the community, the resources available, and how to facilitate discussions, programs, trainings, and interventions is a crucial step. Use these resources to get a feel for how to become an effective facilitator.
