Prices and Wages by Decade: 1970-1979
Links to government documents and primary sources listing retail prices for products and services, as well as wages for common occupations.
Wages in the United States, 1970-1979
- Average annual wages and salaries across all industries - 1960-1974Source: Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1976 edition.
- Minimum wage set by federal law, 1938-2009Source: US Dept of Labor. Get downloadable data from FRED.
- Minimum wage set by state laws, 1968-2016Source: U.S. Department of Labor.
- Student jobs - Pay, 1977Shows what college students might earn for jobs in food service, child care, or as lifeguard, tutor, gardener, and more. Source: Kiplinger Magazine's Changing Times, May 1977.
- College grads - Starting salaries by major, 1972Shows salaries offered to new grads of Northwestern University, broken out by sex and major. Source: Kiplinger Magazine's Changing Times, June 1972..
- Profiles of occupational pay: a chartbookMany charts and graphs depicting job pay in the 1970s.
INCOME STATISTICS for the 1970s
- Consumer income reports, 1970-1979For income from all sources (not just wages or salary), see Census Bureau's Current Population Reports P-60 series, "Consumer Income". Click "more..." for links to selected reports.
- Weekly earnings of families, 1979-1980Data by number of earners in this source, p. 11.
Earnings by race and sex, 1970-1979
EARNINGS by RACE AND SEX, 1970s
- Earnings by race and sex -1978 and 1988Table shows mean earnings for white, black, and Hispanic workers by sex for the years 1978 and 1988 (in this source, bottom of p. 6).
- Earnings by race and sex, 1979Shows median and mean for each race/sex combination. Further breaks out earnings data by the number of weeks worked in 1979. Source: 1980 Census.
- Earnings by race, sex and occupation - 1979Shows mean and median earnings.
- Black college graduates - Earnings, 1979This article investigates the earnings of college-educated black men and women in 1979 and 1989. Table 6 on page 19 shows median weekly earnings of black workers by age, sex, and educational attainment.
- Family earnings by race, 1959-1970Shows the mean earnings of husbands and wives of different races. Source: Current population report P-23 no. 39, table 5
EARNINGS by SEX, 1970s
- Women's and men's annual earnings, 1951-1991Covers year-round, full time workers only. "Current dollars" are unadjusted figures. Source: 1993 Handbook on women workers.
- Median earnings by sex and occupation, 1970-1976Tables 35-39 compare median earnings of women and men. Source: U.S. Dept of Labor Working Women: a Databook.
- Women's income and earnings, 1970-1974The 1975 Handbook on Women Workers includes an entire chapter (p.123-179) with statistics and analysis on women's income and earnings for the early 1970s.
- Women’s income compared with men’s (p.125-132)
- Income reports for women by experience, age, education, occupation, union membership, and race (p.132-137)
- Earnings by occupation (p.144-173) including clerical workers, school teachers, nurses, allied nursing personnel, scientists, engineers, technical workers, Federal employees, armed Services personnel, manufacturing (textile mills, apparel, and furniture), banking, life insurance, communications, cleaning services, grocery stores
- Benefits received (p.174-179)
- Annual earnings of women in select occupations, 1975This article discusses earnings differences by sex and contains a table showing median annual earnings of women in select occupations for 1975 (p.51) (source).
- Self-employed women - Earnings, 1975Shows earnings data for self-employed versus wage-and-salary women and men in 1990 and 1975 (source).
- Part time vs. full time wages of women, May 1977During 1977, one in five employed adult women worked part time by choice. See "Usual earnings" on page 10 (source).
- Earnings of women workers by industry, 1978This table from an article on earnings inequality shows mean earnings of full-time women workers by industry for the years 1978 and 1987. Scroll back one page for men's (source).
- Family incomes - Working vs. nonworking mothers, 1979This article on working mothers discusses family incomes in 1979 on pages 51-52 (source).
Wages by occupation and industry (A to Z), 1970-1979
- Airline wages in 1970 and 1975
- Tells salary and wages for pilots, copilots, flight engineers, flight attendants, aircraft inspectors and mechanics, maintenance crew occupations, dispatchers, airline customer service attendants, office clerical workers, and electronic data processing occupations. Source: BLS Industry Wage Surveys
- Appliance repair shop wages - 1972, 1975, and 1978
- Wages for those who repaired televisions, radios and electrical appliances. Source: BLS Industry Wage Surveys
- Auto assembly plant wages
- 1973 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Nov 1974)
- Auto dealer repair shop wages - 1973
- Tells wages, incentive pay and earnings for employees of automobile dealership repair shops, including automotive mechanics, car painters, body repairmen, lubrication men, parts men, service salesmen and more. Source: BLS Industry Wage Surveys
- Banking and life insurance job wages
- 1971 [Life insurance jobs] - provides earnings data for secretaries, clerks, claims approvers, underwriters, and computer programmers working in this industry.
- 1973 [Banking jobs] - wages paid to bank tellers, bookkeepers, secretaries, clerks, computer programmers, etc.
- 1976 [Both banking and life insurance jobs]
- Baseball players' salaries
- This article investigates the history of major league baseball players' salaries; table 1 (page 5) shows average and median annual salaries for 1970-1996, table 2 (page 6) shows the average salaries for the highest and lowest playing teams for select years 1980-1995, and table 4 (page 7) shows minimum baseball salaries for 1967-1997 (source).
- Building trades - union wages by occupation and by city
1970-1971, 1971-1972, 1973-1974, 1975, 1976, 1977- Includes asbestos workers, bricklayers, carpenters, electricians, painters, plasterers, plumbers, roofers, sheet metal workers, stonemasons, tile layers, and many more building occupations. Source: BLS Union wages and hours: Building trades.
- Bus driver wages by city
1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1978-1979
Source: BLS Union wages and hours: Local-transit operating employees.
Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.
- Carpenters - 1977-1978
- Cleaning services wages (contract) - 1971, 1974, 1977
- Those employed in this industry typically worked at night sweeping floors, emptying wastebaskets and dusting furniture, sometimes mopping, waxing floors or washing windows. Be sure to look at hours as well, because many people with these jobs worked less than 20 hours per week (see summary for more overview.) Breakouts for 33 metro areas. Data broken out by sex.
- Communications industry wages -
1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979.- Tells average hourly wages for employees working at telephone companies and for Western Union. Wage data by occupation such as accountants, clerical staff, salespeople, telephone operators, construction/installers, repairmen, and more.
- Congressional salaries
- Construction wages (contract) by metro area - 1972 and 1973
- Shows average wages for carpenters, bricklayers, bulldozer operators, back-hoe operators, truck drivers, cement masons, electricians, pipe fitters, plumbers, roofers, sheet metal workers, etc. Breaks out wages by residential or commercial construction.
- Dairy industry wages - 1973
- The dairy industry employed route drivers (AKA "milkmen"), stationary engineers, mechanics to maintain company trucks, garage attendants, sanitization workers and more. Ten years before this report came out, almost all milk was delivered in glass bottles directly to homes. The introduction of paper cartons brought about changes in the industry that are reflected in this report.
- Dental hygienists and dental assistants - 1978
- Salaries of employees in state health departments, reported by state, pp. 17-21 of source.
- Dentists - 1978
- Salaries of public health dentists employed by state health departments, reported by state, pp. 9-13 of source.
- Department store job wages - 1973
- Doctors, medical - Income, 1971
- Shows median net income for all medical doctors and for particular specialties: surgeons, obstetricians/gynecologists, internists, general practitioners and pediatricians. Source: U.S. Dept of HEW, Medical care expenditures, prices, and costs: background book.
- Education, higher - Salaries
- Report from the U.S. National Center for Education Statistics shows salaries of professors, instructors, lecturers, academic deans, and others for 1971-1973.
- The Illnois Data Book for Higher Education shows average salaries for professors, lecturers, instructors and other faculty for 1974. Find data for additional years in other editions of this source.
- Electric and gas utilities job wages - 1972 and 1978
- Wages for workers in plants that generated electricity by burning fossil fuel, or in nuclear power plants, hydroelectric power plants, etc. and workers at utilities that distributed natural gas. Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
- Electricians - 1977-1978
- Farm labor wages - 1930-present
- The USDA periodical Farm Labor has been in publication for nearly 90 years. Wages are listed in each issue. Use the "Filter by date" feature to help navigate.
- Farm wage rates, 1970-1979
Shows figures with and without board. Source: USDA Agricultural Statistics. 1970 (Includes geographical divisions), 1971 (Includes geographical divisions), 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979
- Fertilizer plant wages
- 1971 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, Aug 1972)
- Flour and grain mill products industry wages - 1972
- Occupations in the flour and grain mill industry included millwrights, mechanics, oilers, packers, bolters, forklift operators and more. Other parts of this report tell about job benefits, etc. Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
- Foundries, iron and steel job wages - 1973 and 1979
- Foundries, nonferrous metals job wages 1970 and 1975
- Government, city - Employee salaries and wages - 1970s
- This source lists pay for firefighters, police, sanitation workers, building inspectors, surveyors, carpenters, painters, plumbers, groundskeepers, computer technicians, typists, librarians, library clerks and assistants, etc. in Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Columbus, Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Phoenix, San Francisco, St. Paul, Wichita, and more. Additional cities (such as St. Louis) are available in the library's print collection. Source: Municipal Government Wage Survey.
- Salaries for city government leadership positions (City Manager, Fire Chief, etc.) are in the Municipal Yearbook. See sample page and contact us for a lookup for any particular city.
- Government employee compensation at the state level - 1972
- Grain mill product industry wages - 1977
- Grocery stores - Union wages and hours by city - 1971, 1973, 1975
- Wage rates for cashiers, bakers, dairy workers, baggers, meat men, produce stockers, porters, and more. 68 cities included. Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
- Hotel and motel job wages - 1973 and 1978
- Shows wages for food service workers, bartenders, waiters and waitresses, porters, elevator operators, room clerks, hotel maids, cooks, dishwashers, pantry workers, security guards, and maintenance crew mechanics. Hourly wage averages are broken out for 24 major American cities. Source: BLS Industry Wage Survey.
- 1970 (BLS Monthly Labor Review, July 1970)
Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.
- Iron and steel foundry job wages - 1972, 1973 and 1979
- Iron and steel job wages - 1972 and 1978-1979
- Leather tanning and finishing job wages - 1973
- Librarian salaries at research institutions - 1974-75, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1977-78, 1978-79
Source: Association of Research Libraries salary survey. - Local-transit employees - Hours and wages by city -
1970-1971, 1971-1972, 1972-1973, 1973-1974, 1974-1975, 1975-1976- Gives wage data for city bus drivers, trolley car operators, subway and elevated train personnel, including conductors, platform men, etc.
Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.
- Manufacturing job wages- see box below for manufacturing wages by industry.
- Meat products industry job wages - 1974 and 1979
- Reports average wages in meatpacking and slaughtering plants, mainly hogs and cattle.
- Metal industry (fabricated structural) job wages - 1974 and 1979
- Mining industry job wages - 1972 and 1977
- Military pay charts (U.S.)
- 1790s-present - This website does a good job of organizing a complex topic.
- July 1976 - This chart breaks down pay for various levels of enlisted members and commissioned officers.
- Millwork job wages - 1979
- Musician - 1979
- Source: "Making a living making music," Kiplinger's Personal Finance magazine, July 1979, pp. 13-15.
Medical and health industries
- Physicians, dentists and other health workers' median incomes, 1970-1976
- Physicians fees (includes median earnings by specialty) - 1970s
- Nurses (registered) in physician offices - Average salary - 1973 (source, p. 40)
- Health services industry - All wage and salary workers - 1970-1978 (source)
- Hospital job wages in 21 major cities - 1972 and 1975-1976
- Shows average hourly wages for nurse supervisors, head nurses and general duty nurses, LPNs (licensed practical nurses), nursing aides, ward clerks, radiologic (x-ray) technicians, surgical technicians, kitchen helpers, switchboard operators, maids and porters.
- Hospital and nursing home job wages - 1978
- Shows average hourly wage for nurse supervisors, head nurses and general duty nurses, LPNs, nursing aides, ward clerks, laboratory technicians, medical technologists, physical therapists, radiologic technicians, respiratory therapists, surgical technicians, food service helpers and cleaning crews. Data is reported for 22 major cities in the United States.
- Nursing home job wages - 1973 and 1976
- Veterans Administration hospital personnel - Salaries and wages - 1974
Covers physicians, LPN and nursing assistants' wages by city and more. Source: "Salaries of physicians in the V.A. hospital system" congressional hearing. - Dental personnel salaries in state health departments - 1978
Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.
- Oil and gas extraction job wages - 1977
- Petroleum engineering - 1977-1978
- Petroleum refining job wages - 1971 and 1976
- Petroleum (crude) and natural gas production job wages - 1972
- Shows wages for gasmen, derrickmen, oil field welders, roustabouts, drillers, pumpers, and more.
- Philanthropic sector earnings - 1972 (source)
- Plastics industry job wages - 1974 and 1979
- Plumbers - 1977-1978
- Police
- The Municipal Yearbook lists salaries of patrolmen and police chiefs. It is not available online. See this sample page, and contact us for a lookup by city and year.
- Printing trades - Union wages and hours - 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1977
- Private nonagricultural employment - Annual earnings - 1970, 1971-1972, 1973-1975
- This multi-volume source tells worker earnings in what seems every industry except agriculture. It provides data for jobs not found elsewhere on this page, such as jobs in religious organizations, deep sea transportation, mail order houses, gasoline service stations, shoe stores, savings and loan associations, photography studios, hair salons and barber shops, motion picture theaters, museums and zoos, charitable organizations and more. Reports nationwide figures by race and sex of employee.
-
Private nonfarm economy - Employee compensation - 1970, 1972, 1974
- Pulp, paper, and paperboard mill job wages - 1972 and 1977
Source: Industry Wage Surveys in the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletin series.
- Restaurant and hotel wages and tips - 1970
- Wages for bartenders, waiters and waitresses, bus boys and bus girls, bellmen, and chambermaids.
- Shipbuilding and repair wages - 1976
- Student jobs - 1977
- Telephone & telegraph industry wages - 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979.
- Wage data by occupation such as accountants, clerical staff, salespeople, telephone operators, construction/installers, repairmen, and more.
- Textile dyeing and finishing job wages - 1970 and 1976
-
Truck drivers and helpers - Union wages and hours - 1970s
- Hundreds of occupations - Expected earnings, 1970sThe 1978-1979 Occupational Outlook Handbook discusses each occupation in a short chapter. Many of these include a section titled "Earnings and Working Conditions."
- State government salaries by state and occupation, 1970sIncludes accountants, auditors, buyer, purchasing agents, computer programmers, corrections officers, civil engineers, conservation officers, economists, environmental quality specialists, hospital administrators, laboratory technologists, physicians, nurses, psychiatrists, librarians, personnel specialists, social workers, statisticians, and more. Additional volumes covering 1971-1972 are available. See this example of a table for librarian salaries in 1975.
- Earnings by industry, 1970sMostly covers jobs in manufacturing, industry and production. Check the lists for entries describing EARNINGS expressed in "current dollars." Note that earnings data for states and major cities are also available in these reports.
- Wages and salaries by industry, 1976-1979Locate data for an individual industry in the table, or see the average across all domestic industries or all private industries. Some industries breakouts include legal services, government employees, motion picture industry, health services, banking, hotel industry, educational services, real estate, social services and more.
- White-collar salaries, 1972Shows the average monthly salary for white-collar jobs in 9 different professions. Source: BLS Monthly labor review, Dec 1972.
- Wage trends at selected major corporations and companiesWage rates at selected large U.S. companies from the late 1930s-1970s. Source: Wage Chronologies series from the U.S. BLS.
Manufacturing wages, 1970-1979
- Motor vehicle production - Compensation, 1975-1983Compares average hourly compensation of U.S. and Japanese workers. Source: U.S. Dept of Commerce, U.S. automobile industry, 1983, p. 48.
- Chemical (industrial) manufacturing job wages - 1971 and 1976
- Drug manufacturing - 1978
- Occupations in this industry include production workers and professionals such as biologists, chemists, engineers, and science technicians.
- Fertilizer industry job wages by state - 1971
- Occupations in the fertilizer industry included baggers, truckers, forklift operators, mixers, weighers, watchmen, etc. This report tells the average wages for each of these occupations by state.
Clothing, apparel and footwear manufacturing wages
- Footwear manufacturing wages - 1971 and 1975
- Hosiery manufacturing wages - 1970, 1973, 1976
- Men’s and boys’ trouser manufacturing wages - 1971, 1974
- Men’s and boys’ shirts and nightwear manufacturing wages - 1971, 1974
- Men’s and boys’ suits and coats manufacturing wages - 1970, 1973, 1976, 1979
- Men's shirts and trousers manufacturing wages - 1978
- Women’s and misses’ coats and suits manufacturing wages - 1970
- Women’s and misses’ dress manufacturing wages - 1971, 1974, 1977
-
Work clothing manufacturing industry - Wages and demographic characteristics - 1972
WAGES in MANUFACTURING, 1970s
Unless otherwise noted, the following are Industry Wage Surveys from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Bulletin series.
- Box manufacturing - 1970 and 1976
- Tells wages of those who worked in factories making boxes
- Tells wages of those who worked in factories making boxes
- Candy making and confectionery industry job wages - 1970 and 1975
- Cigar manufacturing job wages - 1972
- Cigarette manufacturing job wages - 1971 and 1976
- Furniture manufacture, (wooden household) wages - 1971, 1974, 1979
- Glass and glassware manufacturing job wages 1970, 1975
- Machinery manufacturing job wages - 1970-1971, 1973, 1974-1975, 1978
- Motor vehicles and parts manufacturing wages - 1973 and 1974
- Paints and varnish manufacturing job wages - 1970 and 1976
- Semiconductor manufacturing wages - 1977
- Structural clay products industry job wages - 1975
- Synthetic fiber industry job wages - 1970 and 1976
- Textile manufacturing job wages - 1971 and 1975
Wages by state, 1970-1979
Click on a state tab above to see cities and metro areas. These are U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys that show pay for occupations such as secretary, stenographer, typist, messenger, file clerk, bookkeeper, payroll clerk, keypunch operator, computer systems analyst, computer programmer, registered nurse, carpenter, electrician, painter, machinist, mechanic, pipefitter, toot and die maker, janitor, porter, cleaner, and laborer and more.
Alaska
- Inupiat wages at Prudhoe Bay, Alaska - 1977This article on Native Americans in the work force describes the North Slope Borough, an Inupiat government, of Prudhoe Bay, Alaska and wages it paid adult workers, see page 49 (source).
Alabama
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Birmingham, Alabama, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-57)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-63)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-58)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-65)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-11)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-8)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-15)
- Huntsville, Alabama, Metropolitan Area
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-50)
- February 1974 (Bulletin 1795-13)
- February 1976 (Bulletin 1900-17)
- February 1977 (Bulletin 1950-4)
- February 1978 (Bulletin 2025-4)
- February 1979 (Bulletin 2050-3)
Arizona
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Phoenix, Arizona, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-70)
- June 1971 (Bulletin 1685-86)
- June 1972 (Bulletin 1725-94)
- June 1973 (Bulletin 1775-96)
- Tucson, Arizona
Arkansas
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Little Rock-North Little Rock, Arkansas, Metropolitan Area
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-30)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-40)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-30)
- November 1973 (Bulletin 1795-11)
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas-Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-85)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-75)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-63)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-62)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-56)
California
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Anaheim-Santa Ann-Garden Grove, California, Metropolitan Area
- October 1974 (Bulletin 1850-9)
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-75)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-67)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-60)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-65)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-48)
- Fresno, California, Metropolitan Area
- Los Angeles-Long Beach and Anaheim-Santa Ana-Garden Grove, California, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-64)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-66)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-75)
- October 1972 (Bulletin 1775-38)
- Los Angeles-Long Beach, California, Metropolitan Area
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-86)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-77)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-61)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-61)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-59)
- Sacramento, California, Metropolitan Area
- December 1973
- December 1975 (Bulletin 1850-87)
- December 1976 (Bulletin 1900-71)
- December 1977 (Bulletin 1950-72)
- December 1978 (Bulletin 2025-75)
- December 1979 (Bulletin 2050-70)
- San Bernardino-Riverside-Ontario, California, Metropolitan Area
- December 1970 (Bulletin 1685-42)
- December 1971 (Bulletin 1725-43)
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-60)
- December 1973 (Bulletin 1775-60, supp)
- San Diego, California, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-20)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-32)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-40)
- November 1974 (Bulletin 1850-13)
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-77)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-79)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-73)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-73)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-69)
- San Francisco-Oakland, California, Metropolitan Area
- October 1970 (Bulletin 1685-23)
- October 1971 (Bulletin 1725-33)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-81)
- March 1975 (Bulletin 1850-35)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-9)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-29)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-10)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-24)
- San Jose, California, Metropolitan Area
- August 1970 (Bulletin 1685-13)
- August 1971 (Bulletin 1725-15)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-65)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-66)
- March 1975 (Bulletin 1850-36)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-13)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-19)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-9)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-19)
California Labor Market Bulletin - Statistical Supplements
Shows earnings and hours of labor by industry and by city or metro area.
- State employee salaries in California, 1970sSee 1972-73, 1974-75, 1975-76, and 1976-77. Arranged by the state agency or institution, this source includes just about every conceivable job title for people employed by state government. Here you will find the salaries of chemists, veterinarians, librarians, attorneys, college professors, janitors, laundry workers and everything in between. Recommended: use the "search in this text" box to quickly find job titles.
Colorado
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Denver, Colorado, Metropolitan Area
- December 1970 (Bulletin 1685-41)
- December 1971 (Bulletin 1725-44)
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-35)
- December 1973 (Bulletin 1775-35, supp)
- Denver-Boulder, Colorado, Metropolitan Area
- December 1974 (Bulletin 1850-15)
- December 1975 (Bulletin 1850-82)
- December 1976 (Bulletin 1900-73)
- December 1977 (Bulletin 1950-74)
- December 1978 (Bulletin 2025-68)
- December 1979 (Bulletin 2050-71)
Connecticut
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Hartford, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- March 1975 (Bulletin 1850-28)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-14)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-9)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-14)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-12)
- New Haven, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-40)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-35)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-41)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-46)
- Stamford, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- May 1976 (Bulletin 1900-40)
- Waterbury, Connecticut, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-54)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-55)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-53)
- March 1974 (Bulletin 1775-58, supp)
District of Columbia
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- April 1971 (Bulletin 1685-56)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-93)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-75)
- March 1975 (Bulletin 1850-31)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-12)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-11)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-12)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-4)
Delaware
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Area Wage Surveys
- Lower Eastern Shore, Maryland - Virginia - Delaware, August 1975
- Employment and Earnings
Delaware State Planning Office, Social and Economic Analysis Section:
- Quality of life in Delaware: an overview (1975), tables 17 and 18
Florida
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Daytona Beach, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- August 1974 (Bulletin 1850-1)
- August 1975 (Bulletin 1850-47)
- August 1976 (Bulletin 1900-45)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-43)
- August 1978 (Bulletin 2025-48)
- August 1979 (Bulletin 2050-41)
- Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood and West Palm Beach-Boca Raton, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- April 1972 (Bulletin 1725-74)
- April 1973 (Bulletin 1775-64)
- April 1975 (Bulletin 1850-26)
- April 1976 (Bulletin 1900-20)
- Gainesville, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-57)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-54)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-46)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-45)
- Jacksonville, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- December 1970 (Bulletin 1685-37)
- December 1971 (Bulletin 1725-39)
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-31)
- December 1973 (Bulletin 1795-8)
- December 1975 (Bulletin 1850-81)
- December 1976 (Bulletin 1900-80)
- December 1977 (Bulletin 1950-67)
- December 1978 (Bulletin 2025-67)
- December 1979 (Bulletin 2050-68)
- Melbourne-Titusville-Cocoa, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- August 1973 (Bulletin 1795-2)
- August 1974 (Bulletin 1850-5)
- August 1975 (Bulletin 1850-54)
- Miami, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-29)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-28)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-29)
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-76)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-66)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-57)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-60)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-55)
- Tampa-St. Petersburg, Florida, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-17)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-31)
- August 1972 (Bulletin 1775-9)
Georgia
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Atlanta, Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- Chattanooga, Tennessee-Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-10)
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-14)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-14)
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-67)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-57)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-44)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-51)
- September 1979 (Bulletin 2050-39)
- Savannah, Georgia, Metropolitan Area
Idaho
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Boise City, Idaho, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-21)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-27)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-32)
Illinois
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Chicago, Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- Davenport-Rock Island-Moline, Iowa-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- February 1971 (Bulletin 1685-51)
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-55)
- February 1973 (Bulletin 1775-57)
- February 1974 (Bulletin 1795-14)
- February 1976 (Bulletin 1900-25)
- May 1977 (Bulletin 1950-26)
- February 1978 (Bulletin 2025-6)
- February 1979 (Bulletin 2050-10)
- Rockford, Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- St. Louis, Missouri-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-66)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-65)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-61)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-69)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-19)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-10)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-13)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-13)
Indiana
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-49)
- February 1971 (Bulletin 1685-53)
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-56)
- February 1973 (Bulletin 1775-53)
- February 1974 (Bulletin 1795-16)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-7)
- July 1977 (Bulletin 1950-45)
- July 1978 (Bulletin 2025-39)
- July 1979 (Bulletin 2050-28)
- Gary-Hammond-East Chicago, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-60)
- Indianapolis, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- October 1970 (Bulletin 1685-31)
- October 1971 (Bulletin 1725-23)
- October 1972 (Bulletin 1775-27)
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-66)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-58)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-56)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-57)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-54)
- Louisville, Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-29)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-37)
- November 1974 (Bulletin 1850-12)
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-79)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-69)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-66)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-69)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-65)
- South Bend, Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-62)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-61)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-60)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-54)
- March 1974 (Bulletin 1795-18)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-5)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-51)
- August 1978 (Bulletin 2025-44)
- August 1979 (Bulletin 2050-44)
Iowa
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Davenport-Rock Island-Moline, Iowa-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- February 1971 (Bulletin 1685-51)
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-55)
- February 1973 (Bulletin 1775-57)
- February 1974 (Bulletin 1795-14)
- February 1976 (Bulletin 1900-25)
- May 1977 (Bulletin 1950-26)
- February 1978 (Bulletin 2025-6)
- February 1979 (Bulletin 2050-10)
- Des Moines, Iowa, Metropolitan Area
- Omaha, Nebraska-Iowa, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-14)
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-13)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-16)
- October 1974 (Bulletin 1850-10)
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-56)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-61)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-55)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-56)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-51)
- Waterloo, Iowa, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-45)
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-32)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-20)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-26)
- November 1973 (Bulletin 1795-5)
Kansas
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Kansas City, Missouri-Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-16)
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-18)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-17)
- September 1973 (Bulletin 1795-4)
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-55)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-60)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-54)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-53)
- September 1979 (Bulletin 2050-58)
- Wichita, Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- April 1970 (Bulletin 1660-69)
- April 1971 (Bulletin 1685-64)
- April 1972 (Bulletin 1725-82)
- April 1973 (Bulletin 1775-70)
- April 1974 (Bulletin 1795-20)
- April 1976 (Bulletin 1900-21)
- April 1977 (Bulletin 1950-16)
- April 1978 (Bulletin 2025-16)
- April 1979 (Bulletin 2050-18)
Wichita Municipal Government Wage Survey
- 1973 edition shows mean and median monthly earnings for a wide variety of occupations, such as police, fire fighters, computer programmers, refuse collectors, librarians, accountants, engineers, social workers and more.
Kentucky
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-49)
- February 1971 (Bulletin 1685-53)
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-56)
- February 1973 (Bulletin 1775-53)
- February 1974 (Bulletin 1795-16)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-7)
- July 1977 (Bulletin 1950-45)
- July 1978 (Bulletin 2025-39)
- July 1979 (Bulletin 2050-28)
- Lexington, Kentucky Area, Metropolitan Area
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-22)
- Lexington-Fayette, Kentucky, Metropolitan Area
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-84)
- Louisville, Kentucky, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-27)
- Louisville, Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-29)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-37)
- November 1974 (Bulletin 1850-12)
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-79)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-69)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-66)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-69)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-65)
Louisiana
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- New Orleans, Louisiana, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-42)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-36)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-35)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-47)
- January 1974 (Bulletin 1795-15)
- January 1976 (Bulletin 1900-2)
- January 1977 (Bulletin 1950-5)
- January 1978 (Bulletin 2025-5)
- January 1979 (Bulletin 2050-2)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-53)
Maine
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Portland, Maine, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-19)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-22)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-21)
- November 1973 (Bulletin 1795-6)
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-72)
- December 1976 (Bulletin 1900-72)
- December 1977 (Bulletin 1950-69)
- December 1978 (Bulletin 2025-70)
- December 1979 (Bulletin 2050-63)
Maryland
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Baltimore, Maryland, Metropolitan Area
- August 1970 (Bulletin 1685-18)
- August 1971 (Bulletin 1725-16)
- August 1972 (Bulletin 1775-20)
- August 1975 (Bulletin 1850-62)
- August 1976 (Bulletin 1900-52)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-39)
- August 1978 (Bulletin 2025-50)
- August 1979 (Bulletin 2050-42)
- Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- April 1971 (Bulletin 1685-56)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-93)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-75)
- March 1975 (Bulletin 1850-31)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-12)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-11)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-12)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-4)
- Lower Eastern Shore, Maryland - Virginia - Delaware
Massachusetts
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Boston, Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- August 1970 (Bulletin 1685-11)
- August 1971 (Bulletin 1725-11)
- August 1972 (Bulletin 1775-13)
- August 1975 (Bulletin 1850-58)
- August 1976 (Bulletin 1900-53)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-50)
- August 1978 (Bulletin 2025-43)
- August 1979 (Bulletin 2050-50)
- Lawrence-Haverhill, Massachusetts-New Hampshire, Metropolitan Area
- Providence-Pawtucket-Warwick, Rhode Island-Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- Worcester, Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
- May 1970 (Bulletin 1660-78)
- May 1971 (Bulletin 1685-73)
- May 1972 (Bulletin 1725-71)
- May 1973 (Bulletin 1775-76)
- May 1975 (Bulletin 1850-24)
- April 1976 (Bulletin 1900-16)
- April 1977 (Bulletin 1950-15)
- April 1978 (Bulletin 2025-19)
- April 1979 (Bulletin 2050-23)
Michigan
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Detroit, Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-58)
- February 1971 (Bulletin 1685-77)
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-68)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-89)
- March 1975 (Bulletin 1850-62)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-15)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-13)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-11)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-7)
- NOTE: additional salary data is available from a Municipal Government Wage Survey for Detroit, Michigan. Contact us for help locating a particular job salary in this volume.
- Muskegon-Muskegon Heights, Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- Saginaw, Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- November 1974 (Bulletin 1850-16)
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-71)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-74)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-59)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-64)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-52)
- Toledo, Ohio-Michigan, Metropolitan Area
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-56)
- April 1971 (Bulletin 1685-74)
- April 1972 (Bulletin 1725-78)
- April 1973 (Bulletin 1775-63)
- May 1975 (Bulletin 1850-34)
- May 1976 (Bulletin 1900-24)
- May 1977 (Bulletin 1950-18)
- May 1978 (Bulletin 2025-24)
- May 1979 (Bulletin 2050-16)
Minnesota
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-46)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-44)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-45)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-49)
- Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota-Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- January 1975 (Bulletin 1850-20)
- January 1976 (Bulletin 1900-3)
- January 1977 (Bulletin 1950-3)
- January 1978 (Bulletin 2025-2)
- January 1979 (Bulletin 2050-1)
Mississippi
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Jackson, Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-39)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-39)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-44)
- January 1974 (Bulletin 1795-12)
- February 1976 (Bulletin 1900-8)
- January 1977 (Bulletin 1950-2)
- January 1977 Corrections [Errata]
- January 1978 (Bulletin 2025-1)
- January 1979 (Bulletin 2050-9)
- January 1979 Corrections [Errata]
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas-Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-85)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-75)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-63)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-62)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-56)
Missouri
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Kansas City, Missouri-Kansas, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-16)
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-18)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-17)
- September 1973 (Bulletin 1795-4)
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-55)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-60)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-54)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-53)
- September 1979 (Bulletin 2050-58)
- St. Louis, Missouri-Illinois, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-66)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-65)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-61)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-69)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-19)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-10)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-13)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-13)
Nebraska
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Omaha, Nebraska-Iowa, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-14)
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-13)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-16)
- October 1974 (Bulletin 1850-10)
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-56)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-61)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-55)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-56)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-51)
New Hampshire
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Lawrence-Haverhill, Massachusetts-New Hampshire, Metropolitan Area
- Manchester, New Hampshire, Metropolitan Area
New Jersey
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, Pennsylvania-New Jersey Metropolitan Area
- New York, New York-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- Newark and Jersey City, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-47)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-47)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-52)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-50)
- Newark, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- January 1975 (Bulletin 1850-18)
- January 1976 (Bulletin 1900-10)
- January 1977 (Bulletin 1950-7)
- January 1978 (Bulletin 2025-7)
- January 1979 (Bulletin 2050-5)
- Paterson-Clifton-Passaic, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-34)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-62)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-45)
- November 1973 (Bulletin 1795-19)
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-65)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-64)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-62)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-54)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-57)
- Trenton, New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-15)
- Sept. 1970 Corrections [Errata]
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-12)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-12)
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-60)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-56)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-47)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-55)
- September 1979 (Bulletin 2050-40)
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-15)
New Mexico
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Albuquerque, New Mexico, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-55)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-58)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-59)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-52)
New York
These bulletins are part of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys unless otherwise noted.
- Albany-Schenectady-Troy, New York, Metropolitan Area
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-51)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-54)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-49)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-62)
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-63)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-59)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-52)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-58)
- Binghamton, New York
- Binghamton, New York-Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- Buffalo, New York, Metropolitan Area
- October 1970 (Bulletin 1685-43)
- October 1971 (Bulletin 1725-34)
- October 1972 (Bulletin 1775-18)
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-69)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-70)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-58)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-71)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-64)
- Nassau-Suffolk, New York, Metropolitan Area
- New York, New York, Metropolitan Area
- April 1970 (Bulletin 1660-89)
- May 1971 (Bulletin 1685-89)
- May 1971 Corrections [Errata]
- April 1972 (Bulletin 1725-90)
- April 1973 (Bulletin 1775-94)
- Median earnings of Puerto Ricans in New York, 1970, with breakouts by sex and occupational group. Source: U.S. Census, 1970
- New York, New York-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- Poughkeepsie, New York, Metropolitan Area
- Poughkeepsie-Kingston-Newburgh, New York, Metropolitan Area
- Poughkeepsie-Kingston-Newburgh, New York Area
- Rochester, New York, Metropolitan Area
- August 1970 (Bulletin 1685-7)
- July 1971 (Bulletin 1725-7)
- July 1972 (Bulletin 1775-4)
- Syracuse, New York, Metropolitan Area
- Utica-Rome, New York, Metropolitan Area
- Westchester County, New York
North Carolina
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Charlotte, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-61)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-48)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-48)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-39)
- Durham, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- April 1973 (Bulletin 1775-61)
- December 1973 (Bulletin 1795-9)
- Greensboro—Winston-Salem—High Point, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- August 1974 (Bulletin 1850-2)
- August 1975 (Bulletin 1850-49)
- August 1976 (Bulletin 1900-47)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-42)
- August 1978 (Bulletin 2025-46)
- August 1979 (Bulletin 2050-49)
- Norfolk-Virginia Beach-Portsmouth, Virginia-North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- Norfolk-Virginia Beach-Portsmouth and Newport News-Hampton, Virginia-North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-51)
- May 1975 (Bulletin 1850-30)
- May 1976 (Bulletin 1900-33)
- May 1977 (Bulletin 1950-21)
- May 1978 (Bulletin 2025-21)
- Raleigh, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- August 1970 (Bulletin 1685-12)
- August 1971 (Bulletin 1725-5)
- August 1972 (Bulletin 1775-7)
- December 1973 (Bulletin 1795-7)
- Raleigh-Durham, North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- February 1976 (Bulletin 1900-18)
Ohio
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Akron, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- July 1970 (Bulletin 1660-88)
- July 1971 (Bulletin 1685-87)
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-36)
- December 1973 (Bulletin 1795-10)
- December 1975 (Bulletin 1850-80)
- December 1976 (Bulletin 1900-76)
- December 1977 (Bulletin 1950-70)
- December 1978 (Bulletin 2025-63)
- Canton, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- Cincinnati, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana, Metropolitan Area
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-49)
- February 1971 (Bulletin 1685-53)
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-56)
- February 1973 (Bulletin 1775-53)
- February 1974 (Bulletin 1795-16)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-7)
- July 1977 (Bulletin 1950-45)
- July 1978 (Bulletin 2025-39)
- July 1979 (Bulletin 2050-28)
- Cleveland, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-28)
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-17)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-15)
- September 1974 (Bulletin 1850-17)
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-64)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-62)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-53)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-49)
- September 1979 (Bulletin 2050-47)
- Columbus, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- October 1970 (Bulletin 1685-33)
- October 1971 (Bulletin 1725-19)
- October 1972 (Bulletin 1775-23)
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-78)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-68)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-64)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-59)
- October 1979 (Bulletin 2050-61)
- Dayton, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- December 1970 (Bulletin 1685-45)
- December 1971 (Bulletin 1725-36)
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-34)
- December 1974 (Bulletin 1850-14)
- December 1975 (Bulletin 1850-73)
- December 1976 (Bulletin 1900-78)
- December 1977 (Bulletin 1950-71)
- December 1978 (Bulletin 2025-66)
- December 1978 Corrections [Errata]
- December 1979 (Bulletin 2050-64)
- Toledo, Ohio-Michigan, Metropolitan Are
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-56)
- April 1971 (Bulletin 1685-74)
- April 1972 (Bulletin 1725-78)
- April 1973 (Bulletin 1775-63)
- May 1975 (Bulletin 1850-34)
- May 1976 (Bulletin 1900-24)
- May 1977 (Bulletin 1950-18)
- May 1978 (Bulletin 2025-24)
- May 1979 (Bulletin 2050-16)
- Youngstown-Warren, Ohio, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-24)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-51)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-19)
Oklahoma
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Metropolitan Area
- July 1970 (Bulletin 1685-5)
- July 1971 (Bulletin 1725-8)
- July 1972 (Bulletin 1775-6)
- August 1974 (Bulletin 1850-7)
- August 1975 (Bulletin 1850-51)
- August 1976 (Bulletin 1900-42)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-49)
- August 1978 (Bulletin 2025-40)
- August 1979 (Bulletin 2050-37)
Oregon
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Portland, Oregon-Washington, Metropolitan Area
Pennsylvania
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, Pennsylvania-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- Binghamton, New York-Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- Northeast Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- August 1974 (Bulletin 1850-8)
- August 1975 (Bulletin 1850-52)
- August 1976 (Bulletin 1900-43)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-38)
- August 1978 (Bulletin 2025-47)
- August 1979 (Bulletin 2050-32)
- Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-New Jersey, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-34)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-62)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-45)
- November 1973 (Bulletin 1795-19)
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-65)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-64)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-62)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-54)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-57)
- Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-60)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-49)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-46)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-67)
- January 1976 (Bulletin 1900-1)
- January 1977 (Bulletin 1950-1)
- January 1978 (Bulletin 2025-3)
- January 1979 (Bulletin 2050-11)
- Scranton, Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- York, Pennsylvania, Metropolitan Area
- February 1970 (Bulletin 1660-63)
- February 1971 (Bulletin 1685-50)
- February 1972 (Bulletin 1725-54)
- February 1973 (Bulletin 1775-59)
- February 1975 (Bulletin 1850-32)
- February 1976 (Bulletin 1900-4)
- February 1977 (Bulletin 1950-6)
- February 1978 (Bulletin 2025-8)
- February 1979 (Bulletin 2050-6)
Rhode Island
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Providence-Pawtucket-Warwick, Rhode Island-Massachusetts, Metropolitan Area
South Carolina
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Greenville, South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- Greenville-Spartanburg, South Carolina, Metropolitan Area
South Dakota
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Sioux Falls, South Dakota, Metropolitan Area
- December 1970 (Bulletin 1685-38)
- December 1971 (Bulletin 1725-30)
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-43)
Tennessee
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Chattanooga, Tennessee-Georgia, Metropolitan Area
- September 1970 (Bulletin 1685-10)
- September 1971 (Bulletin 1725-14)
- September 1972 (Bulletin 1775-14)
- September 1975 (Bulletin 1850-67)
- September 1976 (Bulletin 1900-57)
- September 1977 (Bulletin 1950-44)
- September 1978 (Bulletin 2025-51)
- September 1979 (Bulletin 2050-39)
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-30)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-40)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-30)
- November 1973 (Bulletin 1795-11)
- Memphis, Tennessee-Arkansas-Mississippi, Metropolitan Area
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-85)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-75)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-63)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-62)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-56)
Texas
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Austin, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-42)
- December 1975 (Bulletin 1850-83)
- Beaumont-Port Arthur-Orange, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- Corpus Christi, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- Dallas, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- October 1970 (Bulletin 1685-22)
- October 1971 (Bulletin 1725-26)
- October 1972 (Bulletin 1775-25)
- Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- October 1975 (Bulletin 1850-59)
- October 1976 (Bulletin 1900-63)
- October 1977 (Bulletin 1950-65)
- October 1978 (Bulletin 2025-52)
- December 1979 (Bulletin 2050-66)
- Fort Worth, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- October 1970 (Bulletin 1685-25)
- October 1971 (Bulletin 1725-21)
- October 1972 (Bulletin 1775-24)
- Houston, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- April 1970 (Bulletin 1660-67)
- April 1971 (Bulletin 1685-67)
- April 1972 (Bulletin 1725-79)
- April 1974 (Bulletin 1795-22)
- April 1976 (Bulletin 1900-26)
- August 1977 (Bulletin 1950-48)
- April 1978 (Bulletin 2025-23)
- April 1979 (Bulletin 2050-15)
- Lubbock, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-50)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-60)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-57)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-55)
- Midland and Odessa, Texas, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-44)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-40)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-37)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-41)
- January 1973 Corrections [Errata]
- San Antonio, Texas, Metropolitan Area
Utah
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Salt Lake City, Utah, Metropolitan Area
- November 1970 (Bulletin 1685-26)
- November 1971 (Bulletin 1725-24)
- November 1972 (Bulletin 1775-33)
- Salt Lake City-Ogden, Utah, Metropolitan Area
- November 1975 (Bulletin 1850-74)
- November 1976 (Bulletin 1900-65)
- November 1977 (Bulletin 1950-68)
- November 1978 (Bulletin 2025-72)
- November 1979 (Bulletin 2050-62)
Vermont
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Burlington, Vermont, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-53)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-59)
- December 1971 (Bulletin 1725-25)
- December 1972 (Bulletin 1775-28)
Virginia
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Norfolk-Portsmouth and Newport News-Hampton, Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-59)
- January 1971 (Bulletin 1685-46)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-42)
- Norfolk-Virginia Beach-Portsmouth, Virginia-North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- Norfolk-Virginia Beach-Portsmouth and Newport News-Hampton, Virginia-North Carolina, Metropolitan Area
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-51)
- May 1975 (Bulletin 1850-30)
- May 1976 (Bulletin 1900-33)
- May 1977 (Bulletin 1950-21)
- May 1978 (Bulletin 2025-21)
- Richmond, Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- March 1970 (Bulletin 1660-65)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-62)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-72)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-68)
- March 1974 (Bulletin 1795-25)
- June 1975 (Bulletin 1850-41)
- June 1976 (Bulletin 1900-34)
- June 1977 (Bulletin 1950-23)
- June 1978 (Bulletin 2025-26)
- June 1979 (Bulletin 2050-24)
- Washington, D.C.-Maryland-Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- April 1971 (Bulletin 1685-56)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-93)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-75)
- March 1975 (Bulletin 1850-31)
- March 1976 (Bulletin 1900-12)
- March 1977 (Bulletin 1950-11)
- March 1978 (Bulletin 2025-12)
- March 1979 (Bulletin 2050-4)
- Lower Eastern Shore, Maryland - Virginia - Delaware
Washington
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Portland, Oregon-Washington, Metropolitan Area
- Seattle-Everett, Washington, Metropolitan Area
- January 1970 (Bulletin 1660-52)
- January 1972 (Bulletin 1725-47)
- January 1973 (Bulletin 1775-56)
- January 1974 (Bulletin 1795-17)
- January 1976 (Bulletin 1900-6)
- January 1977 (Bulletin 1950-12)
- December 1977 (Bulletin 1950-75)
- December 1978 (Bulletin 2025-74)
- December 1979 (Bulletin 2050-67)
- Spokane, Washington, Metropolitan Area
West Virginia
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Charleston, West Virginia, Metropolitan Area
- April 1970 (Bulletin 1660-68)
- March 1971 (Bulletin 1685-57)
- March 1972 (Bulletin 1725-63)
- March 1973 (Bulletin 1775-74)
In addition to the above, there is also a Hospital Wage Survey for Selected Occupations covering West Virginia only. It was published in 1973.
Wisconsin
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Area Wage Surveys:
- Green Bay, Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- May 1970 (Bulletin 1660-74)
- May 1971 (Bulletin 1685-76)
- May 1972 (Bulletin 1725-83)
- May 1973 (Bulletin 1775-83)
- April 1975 (Bulletin 1850-61)
- April 1976 (Bulletin 1900-22)
- April 1977 (Bulletin 1950-14)
- April 1978 (Bulletin 2025-18)
- April 1979 (Bulletin 2050-8)
- Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota-Wisconsin, Metropolitan Area
- January 1975 (Bulletin 1850-20)
- January 1976 (Bulletin 1900-3)
- January 1977 (Bulletin 1950-3)
- January 1978 (Bulletin 2025-2)
- January 1979 (Bulletin 2050-1)
- Earnings in the South, 1973-1978This article discusses the relatively low average earnings in the South, with tables showing hourly earnings in 1973 and 1973 on pages 28, 30, and 31 (source).
Non-wage sources of income, 1970-1979
- Consumer Income Reports, 1944-2018The Census Bureau's Current Population Reports P-60 series, "Consumer Income" presents data on families, individuals, and households at various income levels.
Click 'more...' below for a listing of 1970s reports:
Foreign wages by country, 1970-1979
- Motor vehicle production - Compensation, 1975-1983Compares average hourly compensation of U.S. and Japanese workers. Source: U.S. Dept of Commerce, U.S. automobile industry, 1983, p. 48.
- Soviet Union - Purchasing power of workers' pay, 1970This article includes tables that show actual worker earnings and as well as the approximate work time required to pay for typical items. Compares to prices and wages in the United States.
- Soviet Union - Average wages and income, 1971Includes average cash earnings, value of government benefits, per capita real income, and more. Source: BLS Monthly Labor Review, October 1972.
Prices in the United States, 1970-1979
- Average retail prices of selected foods, 1965-1978Table shows average retail prices for various fruits and vegetables, corn flakes, canned peas, frozen broccoli, chicken soup, baby food, eggs, margarine, grape jelly and more.
- Retail food prices by city, 1963-1978Detailed food prices with breakouts for 20 American cities.
- Food price averages - Annual data, 1890-1970One-page table shows 80 years of average retail prices for bread, milk, eggs and other common food items. See p. 193 of this source for explanation.
- Beer, whiskey and wine prices by city - 1971Shows average retail price with specifications for beer, whiskey, bourbon and wine.
- Food, alcohol and tobacco prices in rural areas, 1975Lists prices of foods and beer and cigarettes by state on pp. 54-66. Other years are available here. Source: USDA
PRICES for CLOTHING, 1970s
See tabs above for additional price categories
The source Average Retail Prices of Selected Commodities and Services, Fall 1971 provides prices for various articles of clothing in each of the 56 American urban areas that constituted the Consumer Price Index "city sample," and included nationwide averages. Direct links to the latter are below.
- Men's clothing - Average retail prices, 1971Prices by garment type. Specifications on each clothing type is included.
- Women's clothing retail prices, 1971Average prices for blouses, gloves, hats, coats, carcoats, sweaters, slacks, pajamas, pantyhose, etc.. Specifications on each clothing type are provided.
- Boys' clothing retail prices, 1971Average retail prices for boys' slacks, undershorts, sweaters, dungarees, sport shirts, all-purpose coats, socks and sport coats. Specifications on clothing types are provided.
- Girls' clothing retail prices, 1971Average prices for girls' dresses of varying quality, blouses, slips, panties, coats, knee socks, skirts, sweaters, skirts and robes. Specifications on each clothing type are provided.
- Footwear retail prices, 1971Average prices for men's, women's and children's shoes, boots, slippers, etc. Also tells the price of shoe repair. Specifications for each shoe type are provided. Shows average price of shoe repair as well.
- Clothing prices in mail order catalogs at Christmas, 1970sWishbookWeb.com displays complete, historic mail order catalogs in color and offers keyword searching in the full text. Retailers include Sears, JCPenney, Eaton's, Spiegel and Wards. Spiegel's 1972 catalog is also in the Internet Archive.
- Mail order catalogs for Christmas, 1970sWishbookWeb.com displays complete historic mail order catalogs in color and offers a search feature. Retailers include Sears, JCPenney, Eaton's, Spiegel and Wards. Spiegel's 1972 catalog is also in the Internet Archive.
21 hours at minimum wage would buy this AM/FM radio / cassette player in 1976 - Household goods prices in 56 cities and U.S. average, 1971Average prices for a refrigerator, range, vacuum cleaner, washing machine and dryer, toaster, iron. Also shows price of bed sheets, pillows, blankets, curtains, towels, furniture, dinnerware, light bulbs, paper napkins, toilet paper, household cleaners such as floor wax, scouring pads, laundry soap, liquid bleach, etc. Source also shows the average price for a television, radio, phonograph record player and phonograph records.
- Personal care product prices, 1971Includes soap, toothpaste, shampoo, shaving cream, tissue and other health/hygiene products.
- Kay Jewelers Christmas catalog, 1971The catalog shows the prices for various accessories including engagement rings, watches, wedding bands, rings with various stones, jewelry for teens, and silver housewares.
COST of a COLLEGE EDUCATION, 1970s
In 1970, 34% of people aged 18-21 were enrolled in college and 11% of people aged 25 years or older had completed 4 years (source: U.S. Census, Table A-2).
See tabs above for additional price categories
- Undergraduate college tuition, fees, room and board, 1963-2021
Shows average undergraduate tuition/fees and room/board rates charged for full-time students, with breakouts for public, private, non-profit and for-profit institutions.
COLLEGE COST DETAIL BY YEAR:
- 1970-1971 -- Tuition and expenses in health fields
Shows average school expenses, room and board reported by students of osteopathy, dentistry, optometry, pharmacy, podiatry and veterinary medicine (source, p. 19). - 1971-1972 -- Average college costs
Simple chart shows nationwide average for tuition, fees, room and board (all combined) to attend college in 1971-1972. - 1972-1973 -- Higher education: Basic student charges (source)
- Table shows average cost of college tuition plus required fees for in-state and out-of-state students, as well as average charges for room and board. Figures broken out by state. On the next page in the same volume, find breakout figures for graduate school tuition. On pages 30-72 in the volume, find tuition, fees, room and board broken out by in-state/out-of-state, undergraduate and graduate, for each individual college and university, listed alphabetically under states.
- 1974-1975
- Higher education: Basic student charges, 1974-75
- Lists tuition, fees, room and board for in-state and out-of-state students, breaking out by graduate and undergraduate students . Reports national average and rates charged at individual institutions. Scroll forward in the volume to browse all available tables.
-
Illinois college tuition and expenses, 1974-75
College grads, 1970s- Lists costs for tuition, fees, room & board for each public and private college and university. Source: Data Book on Illinois Higher Education.
- Higher education: Basic student charges, 1974-75
- 1978-1979 -- Higher education: Basic student charges (source)
- Lists tuition, fees, room and board for each institution of higher education in the United States. Breaks out tuition by graduate and undergraduate rates.
ENTERTAINMENT PRICES, 1970s
- Movie ticket price in 56 cities, 1971Average admission prices for adults seeing shows at night, and for children under 12 seeing weekend matinees. Further detail is provided on p. 114. Scroll forward to see city breakouts.
- Theme park admission, 1973Admission at Disneyland, Disney World, Six Flags and other major theme parks ranged from $6 to $8 for adults and $3 to $5 for children. Source: U.S. EPA report, p. 27.
- Average ticket price for popular concerts, 1976The right side of this page shows the average high and low prices for tickets to some of the decade's most popular musicians including Yes, Aerosmith, Beach Boys, Santana, Elton John, and Fleetwood Mac. Many of these acts could be seen for $10. This article shows the efforts the Rolling Stones took to limit price gouging by placing a $6.50 price ceiling on tickets for their 1972 tour. Source: Billboard Magazine, October 2, 1976.
- Walt Disney World admission prices, 1971-1979Shows detailed ticket prices to the Magic Kingdom and more. Source: AllEars.net
- Residential telephone service - Average monthly charge, 1950-1980Source: Federal Communications Commission.
- Cost to mail a letter or postcard, 1863-presentSource: the Historian of the U.S. Postal Service.
GASOLINE PRICES, 1970s
- 1973-1974 and 1976-1979 gasoline prices. Source: U.S. EPA.
- 1949-2011 nominal price for gasoline (amount paid by customer at time of transaction) for leaded regular gasoline from 1949-1990 and unleaded regular gas from 1976-2011. Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration.
- Gasoline prices worldwide (link jumps down on this same page)
GAS MILEAGE PER GALLON
- Guides for 1976, 1977 and 1979, show average annual fuel cost estimates. 1977 guide also lists the miles per gallon (MPG) for each make and model of car as well as groups of cars including subcompact, compact, mid-size cars, large cars, two seaters, station wagons of various sizes, pickup trucks, vans and special purpose vehicles. Source: EPA.
ENERGY PRICES, 1970s
- Electric bills, residential 1959-1988
Shows average electric bills for residential as well as commercial and industrial customers.
- Energy prices throughout the US, 1978-1979
Table 1 shows the price per million BTU's produced in various regions across the country and by urbanization. Table 2 shows the average yearly expenditure for energy over the recorded period for families by region and urbanization. Source: Family Economics Review Summer 1981, pg. 27
- Haircut price in 56 cities, 1971Shows the average price of a men's, women's or boys' haircut. Also shows the price of a women's permanent or shampoo and set. These terms are defined on p. 113. Scroll forward in the source to see city breakouts.
- Laundromat prices, 1970Lists typical prices to use coin operated washers and dryers (source), p. 41.
- Hotel and motel rates, 1970Source: Hotel and motel red book. Arranged by state, this source shows room rates.
- Price for a cigar and pipe tobacco, 1971Average price in each of 56 cities and the U.S. average.
- Price of gold per ounce, 1968-1998Annual data for 1968-1998 plus narrative information on historical gold prices back to the 1700s. Tells the eras in which "a man could buy a fine suit of clothes" with one ounce of gold. Source: U.S. Geological Survey publication, Metal prices in the United States through 1998
For HOUSING, TRANSPORTATION and HEALTH, see boxes below.
Housing & real estate, 1970-1979
- Median home values by state, 1940-2000
Source: U.S. Census of Housing, choose unadjusted figures.
-
Washington state - Average monthly cost of home ownership, 1970-1980
Source: Washington State Planning and Community Affairs report (see title page) - New home sale prices by characteristic - 1970s-1990s
The U.S. Census Bureau's Characteristics of New Housing series tells average and median sale prices of new homes by number of bedrooms, square feet, and also by region of the country. First choose a report by date, then use the "Search in this Text" feature for the phrase "SALES PRICE," or just "price." Here is an example of a table from 1979 showing average sales price and median sales price of houses according to the number of bedrooms, bathrooms, fireplaces, etc.
- Median gross rent by state, 1940-2000
Gross rent is defined as "the monthly amount of rent plus the estimated average monthly cost of utilities (electricity, gas, water and sewer) and fuels (oil, coal, kerosene, wood, etc.). This source shows data by state and for the U.S. as a whole. Source: U.S. Census of Housing, choose unadjusted figures.
- Farm real estate - Average value by state and county, 1974 and 1978
Shows average value for farm land and buildings from 1850-1982. Use the following hyperlinks to see values for AL, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY. See data considerations for explanation. Source: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture report.
- Farm real estate values in Midwestern states, 1912-2019
Includes both land and buildings. Compares to national averages. Source: USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service.
- Home maintenance costs in 56 cities and U.S. average, 1971
Average cost to reshingle a roof in 1971. Average cost for exterior house paint by the gallon, and cost to paint a room. Scroll forward in the source to see the city breakouts. - Building material prices paid by farmers, 1975
Details the price of various building materials on pp. 101-114. Other years are available here. Source: USDA
Transportation prices, 1970-1979
- New car average price, 1970-2020This data is also downloadable as an Excel file. Source: Transportation energy data book edition 40 (2022), Table 11.13. See more downloadable data from this source.
- Car prices by manufacturer, 1965-1981Shows high and low manufacturer suggested retail prices (MSRP) for new cars, both domestic and imported. Source: U.S. International Trade Commission report, pp. 64-73.
- Car prices by make and model, 1970sManufacturer suggested retail prices (MSRP) for 1970s cars and trucks are available on the J.D. Power website. Choose a make, year, and body type. Select a car then enter any zip code. Click "Get Base Values."
- New car loans - Average amount financed, 1971-2011Downloadable data from the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.
- Used car values, 1970-1979The NADA used car guides show average car values by make, model and age of vehicle.
- Car repair prices, 1971Cost for a tune up, battery, new tire, lube, front end suspension, etc.
- Gasoline prices, 1949-2011"Nominal price" was the price paid by the customer at the time of the transaction. This table shows the nominal price of leaded gasoline from 1949-1990 and unleaded gas from 1976-2011. Source: U.S. EIA.
- Gas Mileage GuidesClick on a guide for 1976, 1977 or 1979.
Shows average annual fuel cost estimates. 1977 guide also lists the miles per gallon (MPG) for each make and model of car as well as groups of cars including subcompact, compact, mid-size cars, large cars, two seaters, station wagons of various sizes, pickup trucks, vans and special purpose vehicles. Source: EPA.
- Bus fares, intercity - 1970
Tells how much a one-way bus ticket might have cost from New York, Miami, Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles or Montreal to any of 30 other major American cities.
- Air travel - Average fare per passenger mile on domestic flights, 1972-1981
With breakouts for first class and coach, expressed in cents. Source: U.S. GAO.
- Air and rail ticket prices from New York, 1969-1981
Shows fares between New York City and Boston and Washington DC. Source: U.S. Dept of Transportation staff papers, Table 5.
Health and medicine prices, 1970-1979
- Cost of having a baby, 1978 (Source: Health Insurance Institute)
- Semi-private hospital room rates (Source: Health Insurance Institute)
- Hospitalization, total average cost per day - 1950 to 1976
Note: This shows the average cost to the hospital per each day of a patient stay (see further explanation). "Current dollars" refers to the actual dollar cost during the year indicated. See the percentage paid by insurance, p. 31.
- Physician office visit fees, 1977-1979
Shows average rates by type of practitioner. - Cost to see a doctor in 56 cities, 1971
Scroll forward to see prices broken out by city. Specifications are included. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. - Physicians' fees for selected surgical procedures, 1976
Prices ranges for mastectomy, tonsillectomy, appendectomy, hernia, vasectomy, hysterectomy, obstetrical services and more. - Physicians' fees for surgical procedures, 1979
Source: Health Insurance Institute. - Cost to treat selected medical conditions, 1964 and 1971
Shows average cost of maternity care, treatment for appendicitis, breast cancer, heart attack, pneumonia, and ulcer. Also shows the average cost for a child to be treated for a forearm fracture or an ear infection (otitis media). Also shows average length of hospital stay for relevant conditions. - Medical service fees for a North Carolina practice, 1977
Source: Skyrocketing health care costs, a 1978 congressional investigation.
- Dentistry prices, 1979Average prices for dental exams, amalgam or resin fillings, porcelain crowns with gold, and dentures. Source: Health Insurance Institute.
- Dentistry prices in 56 cities, 1971Lists average prices for fillings, extractions and teeth cleaning. Scroll forward to see prices in additional cities. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Average prescription price, 1970-1974The average price for a prescription in 1970 was around $3.67 to $4.06. Source: Prescription drug data summary, 1974.
- Prescription drug prices from MediMart, 1974Shows retail price along with quantity in the container.
- Prices for prescription drugs (retail and wholesale), 1971-1972A congressional hearing listed consumer prices for a variety of prescription drugs and antibiotics, including tetracycline, ampicillin, chlorpheniramine, polycillin, and chlortrimeton. In addition, a representative of the AARP submitted retail price data on name brand drugs such as Librium, Seconal, Premarin and Orosone, along with their generic equivalents. Wholesale prices are listed in the same volume for hundreds more drugs, for example in Appendix 6 and Appendix 12, and in Table IV and page 205. Wholesale drug prices for foreign countries are listed on page 141 and page 204.
- Out-of-pocket expenditures on health care, 1970 and 1975Shows average personal expenditure for those who had medical expenses. Also shows expenditures by income, education, sex, etc. Source: Health Insurance Institute.
Inflation and buying power, 1970s
- Consumer Price Index (CPI) Inflation CalculatorCalculates buying power of money at different points in history. For example, $1 earned in November 1975 had the same buying power as $5 in October 2021.
- Calculator: Present-day worth of a past amount of moneyThe MeasuringWorth.com website provides online calculators, guides and tutorials to help researchers understand the current-day value of historic money in the United States, Australia, Spain and the United Kingdom.
- Currency converter, 1270–2017This calculator can be used to determine the historical purchasing power of currency in the United Kingdom from 1270 to 2017. Purchasing power is represented in its equivalence in horses, wheat, the yearly wages of a skilled tradesperson, and others.
What is the Consumer Price Index (CPI)?
"The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of consumer goods and services" with respect to a given base year with value 100. Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics
What is inflation?
As measured with CPI, it is the percent change in the CPI between two different years, showing the "annual percentage change in the cost to the average consumer of acquiring a basket of goods and services". Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
CPI Inflation Formula: CPIx-1-CPIx ⁄CPIx*100
- CPI & inflation rate, 1800-2021Shows both average annual CPI and the yearly inflation rate in the US. The base year for CPI is 1967. Note that all CPI before 1913 is a rough estimate. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
- Consumer price index, 1970-1979Shows the average CPI for all items and urban consumers. The base year is 1982-1984. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- Inflation rate, 1970-1979Shows the yearly inflation rate for all consumer prices in the US. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
What is the Consumer Price Index (CPI)?
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of consumer goods and services, with respect to a given base year with value 100. Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer expenditures and analysis, 1970-1979
- Budget for family of four, 1977Itemizes average expenditures for urban families at low, medium and high standards of living.
- Cost to raise a foster child by US region, 1970Shows estimated costs for supporting a foster child with breakouts for food, clothing, medical care, education, transportation, etc. Further breakouts show data by the age of the child. Source: US Dept of HEW report, 1976.
- Cost of food for families, 1970This table shows the average cost of food for both 1 week and 1 month for families of 2 and 4 as well as at an individual level over various age ranges. Costs are divided into three different plans, low-cost, moderate-cost, and liberal. Source: Family Economics Review June 1970, pg. 13
- Weekly food cost by size of family, 1975Shows average food expenditures for old or younger couples with two children of various ages. Source: Statistical Abstract of the U.S., 1992 edition, p. 483.
Foreign prices by country, 1970-1979
- Gasoline prices in 56 countries, 1970-1979Retail prices for gasoline, kerosene and fuel oil by country. Gas prices are all expressed in American cents per gallon. Source: International petroleum annual, U.S. Energy Information Administration
- By country
- 1970-1971: Countries -- Argentina-Chile, Colombia-Germany, Ghana-Jamaica, Japan-Pakistan, Panama-Spain, Sweden-U.S., Uruguay-Yugoslavia
- 1971-1972: pp. 26-32
- 1972-1973: pp. 24-30
- 1973-1974: pp. 24-30
- 1974-1975: pp. 24-31
- 1975-1976: pp. 30-36
- 1976-1977: pp. 26-32
- 1977-1978: pp. 28-34
- By continent, then country
- By country
- Tourist expenses in Europe, late 1970sShows prices for local transportation, hotel stays, meals at restaurants, etc. and also tells the rates of exchange. Prices can appear anywhere in these texts; use the tables of contents to find chapters and page numbers. Source: U.S. Navy.
- France -- Cote d'Azure (French Riviera) in 1977
- Italy -- Bari, Brindisi, Taranto in 1979
- Norway in 1978
- Spain: Barcelona, Malaga and Palma in 1977
- Prices and purchasing power in the Soviet Union, 1970Shows prices for food, various consumer items, and durable goods such as automobiles. Indicates approximate work time required to pay for these items. Some comparisons with U.S. prices are also listed.
Quotable facts for the 1970s
In the United States...
- Minimum wage was $1.60 per hour in 1970. Source: U.S. Dept of Labor
- Homes had a median value of $17,000 in 1970. Source: Census Bureau
- In 1978, "the typical new home buyer is 33 years old, buying at least his second home, and has a combined income of $21,600." Source: U.S. GAO report, p. 8.
- Cigarettes averaged 47.9¢ per pack (including tax) in 1975. Source: Congress.
- Milk cost 66¢ per half gallon in 1970. Source: U.S. BLS
- Coffee cost 91¢ per lb. in 1970. Source: U.S. BLS
- New cars cost an average of $3,706 in 1970. Source: U.S. BEA
- The Ford LTD was the top-selling car in 1973, priced at $4,001 new. Source: Ward's 1973 Automotive Yearbook.
- Gasoline cost 35¢ per gallon in 1970. It increased to 86¢ by 1979. Source: U.S. EIA
- In 1970, 82.5% of households owned a car. Among these, households having 3 or more vehicles was 5.5% compared to 21.9% in 2018.
- Education at 4-year, public universities cost an average of $1,542 for tuition, fees, room & board in 1971-72. Source: U.S. Dept of Education.
- Health care costs averaged $297 per person in 1970. Consumer out-of-pocket payments covered 38.8%. Source: U.S. NCHS
- Hospital care cost $124.82 per capita in fiscal year 1969-70. Source: SSA
- Prescriptions in 1970 averaged $3.67 to $4.06. Source: U.S. HEW.
Ask a Question
Marie Concannon, Government Information Librarian
Government Documents Department, Ellis Library
University of Missouri, Columbia
Email: concannonm@missouri.edu
Phone (573) 882-0748
